§
you're reading...
H50

The Day the Five-0s were Just Like Us (blame that other chick edition)

The Day the Five-0s were Just Like Us started on H50 Sardonic as Maha noted in her recap of “Tidal Wave” (Season 1 Episode 15), “I really need that episode to happen where McG makes promises but then can’t fulfill them. That episode we will call That day The 5-0s Were Just Like Us.” This is the first time I can find it mentioned. If you can find it in an earlier recap, let me know, I will revise this post & credit you.

Maha further expounded on her desire for the Five-0s to deal with some reality in her recap of “The Long Goodbye” (Season 1 Episode 18).

Chin is detectiving and within seven seconds, discovers a set of tire tracks. No wonder The 5-0s have full means and immunity. Do any of you wish they don’t solve a case? Just once? I do. We could call the episode That day when The 5-0s were just like everyone else.

Kono is with Judge Clyde, asking him about the call he received before his daughter dropped to hear death with her shoulder pads. The same shoulder pads which I wish had helped her fly to safety. Again, why aren’t these people — whose loved ones just perished — distraught? I wish to see one character on 5-0 wail and cry and tell The 5-0s to fk off and come back at a later time when their child / mother / father / sister hasn’t just been killered. We could call the episode That day when The 5-0s were just like everyone else.

Lainie picked right up on it and the phrase quickly became sardonic short-hand for something that falls short of the Five-0’s typical perfection. For example, it could be an alternate outcome of events — Danno stomps on the governor’s antique clock, which instead of revealing Poppa McG’s hidden camera, destroys it & McG goes to prison for life. Or it could be one of McG’s super-human stunts (like using a cardboard box as a shield to tackle a guy with a flame-thrower) which if attempted by anyone in the real world would result in 3rd degree burns and the bad guy laughing as he rolls off on his getaway segway.

But being “Just Like Everyone Else” can also be everyday things — McG dancing like a goof at Chin & Malia’s wedding, or Danno having a bad hair day. In fact, we came up with a whole long list of funny, boring, everyday things for the Five-0s to do — and we’ve done it on multiple occasions. The Five-0s having a “case of the Mondays,” a run of bad dumb luck, or real difficulties putting away the average, everyday bad guys is just something we’d like to see. Maybe once.

Enter this series, “The Day the Five-0s were Just Like Us.”

So let’s do a soft start to analyzing the potential weaknesses & misfortunes of our favorite Five-0s… and not actually analyze any of our favorite Five-0s. We’ll play the “blame the secondary character” game — and our targets for this inaugural round are 1) the super chatty Jenna, Agent Special K herself, and 2) Lt. Cath Rollins, a very busy woman with a very important job.

The inspiration for my first entry, “Danny Dies,” specifically came from Mary Jane. Though this concept had been bandied about before — the way she phrased it, I really could visualize what I wanted to do.

Also – If any of you are thinking, “why are the girls wearing bow ties?” Well… it’s an experiment in stick figure b00bs bikini tops. #justsayin

Danny Dies

Dead Danny is Judging You, Jenna

Thanks to Momo & LaHagela for being so gracious & thoughtful, talking me down off my ART LEDGE the other night when I just couldn’t make any headway on this piece as well as LaurieB, who helped with the details of Special K’s look. I still think the whole thing is too “busy” but that’s just the way it turned out. Case in point — yeah, ok, I couldn’t decide if I wanted Danny’s head front or side view, so I kept them both!

And yes, those words, in Special K’s word bubble: her actual lines from Show. I didn’t even need to make anything up there.

My second piece here, I’m not sure what the title should be. ((I’m also not sure what the other Five-0s are even doing in this pic, besides waiting around for Smooth Dog to get off the phone. They really should just go shoot whoever it is they pulled those guns on!))

Anyway, the basic concept (which I received in an email from the hilarious & lovely Alicia) was: Ever wonder what would happen if McG called Cath for help on a case and she couldn’t, you know, help out?

She works hard for the money.

Didn’t mean to turn the inaugural entry into a “blame the minor female character” fest (probably should have done up a LoHo one for the hat trick and been done with it) but there we are. Only had to kill Danno, horrify McG & make Cath a touch passive-agressive, but today I say: the Five-0s are Just Like Us.

About SJ2

I am good with: Details, Bad Ideas, Hilarity, Sarcasm and Overthinking! I kid because I care!

Discussion

22 thoughts on “The Day the Five-0s were Just Like Us (blame that other chick edition)

  1. What a start to a Friday! Just so much to love here, I could be all day making a list.

    Steve’s FAAAAAAACE!
    Danny’s crossed arms!
    Kono’s uniform skirt!
    Cath’s inbox!
    Cath’s ‘grrrrr! NOT NOW!’ expession!
    Porthole!

    *happy sigh* Today is going to be a good day.

    Posted by aliciad71 | February 24, 2012, 2:43 am
    • HA ha! Steve’s face. I just imagine AOL doing the Macaulay Culkin face for real & lose my sh/t every time, so funny.
      Thanks for your suggestion on Cath’s Real Important Full Time Job interfering with her part-time 5-0 duties. I mean, I can’t answer my cell every time it rings, not sure how she does it!

      Posted by stephaniejane2 (The Junk Kicker) | February 24, 2012, 2:48 pm
  2. LOVELOVELOVELOVELOVE both scenarios.

    ‘The Day Cath Declined McG’s Call’

    Posted by westy | February 24, 2012, 6:36 am
  3. ❤ ❤ ❤ !!!!!
    I keep looking at McG wearing the thighholsters, thinking, "HE'S NAKED!!!!"

    Posted by Andr3a | February 24, 2012, 8:00 am
  4. How YOU doin?
    ha ha ha ha!!
    Love this! Especially Stick!McG’s smirk and Stick!Cath’s grumbled expression!
    And the in tray! And the nighttime outside the porthole window!
    And the stick bikini tops! LOL!
    Kono’s hair is perfect, btw.
    🙂

    Posted by heymomo | February 24, 2012, 8:21 am
  5. So much fun Steph ! I love it all and what everyone above said !

    Posted by lb | February 24, 2012, 8:54 pm
  6. Steph I loved this. 😀 Although if Steve’s goofy looking face came up on my not an iphone I’d have a tought time pressing decline. 😉

    Oh and Special K’s lines are ridiculous!

    LOVE IT.

    Posted by Infant_Sardonic | February 25, 2012, 4:18 am
  7. Awwwwwwwwww…..how did I miss this yesterday??
    I luver it….all of it!!! Stick figures are great!! Lets have the day the entire gang got sick from the shrimp off Big K’s Truck…..can you draw a loo??

    Posted by LaHagela (The Tinkler) | February 25, 2012, 9:49 am
  8. OMG. How did I miss this?! I would pay cash to see Cath tell McG that she’s too busy to help him. And the eyerolling while Jenna K gives her monologue. And the clothes. This is all gold!

    Posted by spurschick | February 26, 2012, 4:30 pm
  9. OMG Have only just discovered this! My name’s a link, how exciting is that? Love what you’ve done. Jenna’s so oblivious and the others turn to us and are like WTF? Love Chin’s f/ck off big gun and Steve’s thigh holsters!!
    The second one, love the idea of Cath being too busy to offer Steve help, washing her hair or something.

    Posted by Mary Jane | March 1, 2012, 1:29 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Day the Five-0s were Just Like Us (Oh Curses! Edition) « Junk Kicker's #H50 Junk Drawer - July 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 303 other followers

