§
you're reading...
H50, Moonlight, Real Life, The Back Up Plan, The Oyster Farmer, Three Rivers

Forever United Here (Somehow… Yeah)

Earlier this year when Ess announced she’d be going in for some fairly major surgery I have to admit that mixed in with all my thoughts of concern & worry for her health & state of mind were some rather self-pitying feelings that can best be summed up as, “BUT WHAT AM I GONNA DO WITHOUT HER?”

Because Ess is a most interesting, most insightful & most inspirational person. And sometimes, without even realizing it, you come to rely on those people who just appear in your life and “fit” so well it’s like they’ve always been there. So I threw my nervousness & anxiety into … well, into this. I sent Ess a hard copy in the mail the week of her surgery — she’s had it in hand for a few days — and when I asked her if I could post it on the blog, she agreed! So please, if there’s anything at all you like about this, in the comments you should THANK ESS. She’s still recovering from her surgery, having up days & down days and I appreciate all the love you all have shown her & continue to show her. Because she rocks!

So! You’ve met Stick!McG, Stick!Mick & Stick!Jack before, but they’ve got some new friends joining them so now Here Together for The First Time Ever may I introduce: Stick!Stan & Stick!Andy….

I usually TRY to resist telling the entire backstory of how my drawings came to be (my thought processes & inspirational flashes can’t be that interesting) but I do have to make a few comments here.

  • Having each of the “guys” saying something wasn’t planned, just started as something I did to amuse myself, having McG taunting the ninja horde.
  • The ninja horde wasn’t necessarily planned either but it is MY FAVORITE part of the whole deal, based on how it turned out.
  • The tractor & bathtub were ridiculously fun to draw and oddly enough, easier to draw than Dr. Andy’s stethoscope, which was incredibly difficult & even now I look at it and go…. Why is he holding a set of ovaries? I mean, I know Dr. Andy *does things* to some of y’alls ovaries, so maybe it works but… *sigh* It’s supposed to be a stethoscope.

So again, thanks to Ess & best wishes for a speedy recovery (please don’t hesitate to turn the comments into a Ess-love-fest, I’d really like that)!! And Welcome to Stick!Stan & Stick!Andy – I’m sure we’ll see them again someday soon (poor guys).

About SJ2

I am good with: Details, Bad Ideas, Hilarity, Sarcasm and Overthinking! I kid because I care!

Discussion

19 thoughts on “Forever United Here (Somehow… Yeah)

  1. Love it! Love the conversation bubbles! Love the ovaries but mostly I love ESS!!!!!

    I had the same surgery-related angst that you had, Steph. Imagine my surprise when I got back from Jamaica to find that she had already gone in. I thanked her for reducing my stress level, LOL. With all of the well wishes and virtual hugs going her way- we should get her healed in record time.

    I’ve said it many times before, but I’ll say it again – this whole cyber-friend thing is somewhat foreign to me, blows my mind all of the time, but I am v v happy to have made this connection with you all.

    Posted by KimmerNY | March 9, 2012, 5:27 pm
  2. Again, such a brilliant artistic tribute by you, JK. I do like how the stethoscope closely resembles a sketch of the pelvic area, but I totes know what it is supposed to be. Any avid fan of your artwork will get it. (Unless, of course, Dr Andy *is* walking around brandishing the innards of some poor lady. *hey Dr Andy, over here…take my ovaries. Please.)

    I think I shall retire from sketching AOL because I seriously cannot do him justice like you.

    I am going to shamelessly promote my own blog here 🙂 It’s still new and not nearly as interesting, exciting or fun as the Junk Drawer, but it is a work in progress. And I’m still toiling away on that little FUCUP project which you are assisting me with (thank you again!) I ❤ you!

    http://westy5oh.wordpress.com/

    Posted by westy | March 9, 2012, 5:28 pm
  3. This page will become a mutual admiration society in no time!!
    So many things that I love!!

    I love Steph’s Stick!Men. Love them all! Although I am especially partial to Stick!Mick with his adorable fangs. I love the Stick!Thigh!Holsters. I love Stick!Jack’s lonely expression in his money tub. I love the ninja hoarde. I love Dr. Stick!Andy’s ovary stethoscope. I even love Stick!Stan although I still haven’t seen that movie…

    Beyond that though, I love all the crazy FUCUPs. I’ve only been in this little online world for like 4 months or something, and I feel so happily connected to you all, like I’ve known you all so much longer, even though we haven’t actually met (yet).

    And I love Ess!! I look forward to her BAMF posts, her tweets, her messages, her way of knowing what everyone’s got going on. I also had surgery-related angst, worried while she was in DrNotAndy’s care, and cheered when she got home. And she puts up with (and even says she appreciates) my post surgery spam tweets.

    ❤ ESS! ❤ the FUCUPs! *kisses*

    Posted by heymomo | March 9, 2012, 6:13 pm
    • Oh the Back Up Plan! I have such mixed feelings about TBUP…! But that’s the subject of another blog post & long comment over on Sardonic. 😉

      Yes how does Ess always seem to know what everyone has going on?? She is the cool girl who knows everyone’s secrets & can keep them. Pretty darn amazing, I think.

      I am so glad we appeared on the sardonic scene together Momo! But completely non-sardonically, I have really enjoyed getting to know you through twitter & your pictures in addition to all that fun we have on the blogs, too.

      Posted by stephaniejane2 (The Junk Kicker) | March 10, 2012, 11:08 am
      • I forced NotMcG to watch BUP last night…which I had purchased for $15 last year and had not yet watched (though I had seen it previously). Such excitement as I tore the wrapper off the DVD! I could barely contain my shaking hands and hoping NotMcG did not see.
        I do think the fact that my son refers to AOL as ‘your boyfriend’ means that they have discovered my love for him.
        As I’ve said before, it’s a rom-com and I’ve seen worse. NotMcG thought it was not too bad either. Although I suspect we were not watching for the same
        reason 🙂

        Posted by westy | March 10, 2012, 7:26 pm
      • “Yes how does Ess always seem to know what everyone has going on??” – I have secret ninjas everywhere…. or else i’m just nosey.

        Posted by Princess Buttercup (ESS) @H50BAMF | March 12, 2012, 5:57 pm
  4. Whoa. Wow. Ok, didn’t expect this little love fest! Thanks JK!

    There is so much I love about this drawing! So. Much. I think my fave is Stick!Stan’s @ss up in the air as he reaches for his “lucky Penny”. *hee* (I see what you did there) Stick!Mick was the orig and will always be a fave…and I love the quote. You remember well. 🙂 Stick!McG, the ninjas are awesome! Finally some real as.mashing for McG! Stick!Jack…I love how his legs are too long for the tub! And he does look lonely. I shall join him! And Stick!Andy…he can stick me any time, anywhere…Truest.Story.Ever.Told.

    Kimmer & Westy I’ve ‘known’ for about a yr and JK & Momo only a few months but seems like yrs! non-sardonically, I am humbled at the outpouring of support and well wishes that I’ve received from my little online group of friends. I’ve received cards, e-cards, emails, tweets & DM’s from so many ppl saying such sweet things that I am often at a loss for words. I hope that if you knew me in person you would all still like me just as much. LMAO!

    You have all enriched my life greatly. Thank you.

    ❤ you all so much!

    Posted by Princess Buttercup (ESS) @H50BAMF | March 10, 2012, 10:05 am
    • #akwardchichflickmoment 😛

      Posted by Infant_Sardonic | March 10, 2012, 1:46 pm
    • Ess, I didn’t know you were going for surgery until you’d already gone, because I am dense, and not on Twitter. I didn’t realise how bad it was until you posted your story on your blog, and then it seemed really lame to say anything because ‘well, duh, where have you been?’.

      But now that we’re having an #awkwardchickflickmoment, I can say that I really missed you while you were away, and I’m so glad you’re back, and I think you’re amazing. I hope you get better soon. Sardonic would not be the same without you (although this is true of everyone who posts there regularly. ❤ you all!).

      Posted by aliciad71 | March 12, 2012, 12:15 am
      • Awww thanks Alicia! it’s no biggie. I didn’t make a big announcement about it because really…outside of a few of you, who would care? At last minute I just decided to put a post about it on tumblr because the girls get riled up if their daily theme doesn’t come out. I didn’t want to be responsible for no Thigh Holster Thursdays… Figured I’d better warn the troops.

        PS…excited you’re on twitter now! It’s a huge time suck but no reason you shouldn’t waste time like the rest of us…

        Posted by Princess Buttercup (ESS) @H50BAMF | March 12, 2012, 6:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 303 other followers

