§
you're reading...
Moonlight

I Just Found Out (There’s No Such Thing As Vampires)

Moonlight tells the story of Mick St. John, a 90-year old vampire living in modern-day Los Angeles and working as a private investigator. In “No Such Thing as Vampires,” we learn Mick isn’t a typical vampire. By his own definition, he has “rules and boundaries” which other vampires do not share. He states he does not hurt women, children or any innocent person, instead using his vampire abilities to “deal with” predatory individuals that hurt others.

Mick St. John, circa 1985

When a college co-ed is murdered, showing puncture wounds to her neck, Mick takes up the case. At the crime scene, he meets Beth Turner, an investigative journalist for an online tabloid. Seeing Beth brings old and painful memories to Mick’s mind. Beth is smart, snarky and ambitious, enjoying the thrill of researching her news stories.

Beth Turner

Mick consults with his long-time friend and fellow vampire, Josef Konstantin, who is upset this murder may lead to public exposure of the secretive vampire community. Josef is incredibly wealthy, living in an opulent mansion and maintaining a harem of “freshies,” young women on which he feeds (but does not kill). Mick no longer feeds on live humans, opting instead to drink donated pints or inject vials of blood obtained from his friend Guillermo, a vampire who works at the morgue.

Josef Konstantin

While investigating the case, Mick and Beth’s paths continue to cross. They start working together and share information. Beth’s investigation results in increased public discussion of the “possibility” of vampires living among the human population – Josef’s worst fear made real. Josef reveals himself to be somewhat cavalier and ruthless – he does not share Mick’s sensibility towards the preservation of innocent human life.

Kill them all! That’s what I would do.

Beth continues to work on the case, seemingly drawn to Mick. She repeatedly states his face seems familiar to her, as if they had known each other prior to meeting the previous night, but she can’t place when or where. Mick deflects her questions and concerns, attempting to set her mind at ease.

You look so familiar. Are you sure we haven’t met before?

As Mick & Beth close in on the killer, they find themselves in extreme danger. They make a narrow escape, and Mick’s recollections of a case he worked over twenty years ago come back full force, overwhelming him with emotion.

Sixty years is a long time to deny yourself the touch of another. But you do it.
Because you just can’t bear the thought of seeing yourself as a monster in someone else’s eyes.

So…. what do you all think? Since this is our first post for “Moonlight Mondays” I’d love to hear any suggestions that you have — and I can’t wait to hear all your thoughts on “No Such Thing as Vampires.” Please remember our only rule: please refrain from discussing the plot points of future episodes so as not to “spoil” first time viewers! Thanks & Happy Moonlight Monday everybody!

About SJ2

I am good with: Details, Bad Ideas, Hilarity, Sarcasm and Overthinking! I kid because I care!

Discussion

150 thoughts on “I Just Found Out (There’s No Such Thing As Vampires)

  1. I’m so excited! I’m a MOONEY! Oh. Wrong board 😉

    Posted by westy | May 28, 2012, 4:25 am
  2. (Damnit! I was so sure I was going to be first! I’ll beat you next time, Westy!)

    It’s amazing the difference it makes watching it the second time around – last time, it wasn’t until episode 8 (ah, episode 8. Looking forward to seeing you again…) that I really got into it. I suppose I was so much more invested in the character of Mick this time around, and because I’ve seen it before, I didn’t keep thinking “McG!! What’s up with your HAIR?!!!” (I am still not loving the hair. I don’t see this ever happening, to be honest).

    Random notes:

    1. I don’t like this morgue guy. He’s being rude about my blood type.

    2. Hellooooooo scruff!

    3. The bit when she asks to see his credentials – still just.as.funny.

    4. I love love love Mick’s face when he says that some people find vampires attractive and she just says “really?”. Ouch!

    5. Good God, the tan shirt was this early on? No wonder it didn’t get such great reviews to begin with. It’s obviously entirely the fault of the tan shirt.

    6. At the end, is Mick just imagining seeing Coraline at the window? Guilty conscience maybe?

    7. Stop it with this song. It makes me CRY.

    8. The hug. *sigh* That is all.

    Roll on next week!

    Posted by Alicia | May 28, 2012, 7:08 am
    • I still don’t love the hair either…but I don’t hate it anymore. I guess that’s progress. 😉

      2. Scruffy Mick was adlkfja;sdkja;sdkfjas;dfkjas;dfkjas;dfkjasd;fkjdfkj ….pauses to breath…..ajd;fkajsd;fjasd;lfkjad

      4. LOVE THAT FACE!! OMG so funny!!! Maybe there is a reason Alex’s characters rarely gets the best lines. Could it be because he’s so amazing at reactions? I mean, seriously…his facial expressions are incomparable.

      5. Still hate the moobies and the tan shirt. Forever. And. Ever.

      6. Would Mick have had a guilty conscience over killing Coraline? Maybe a little becuase underneath it all, he did still love her but he spent many years as a regular vampire not having the moral compass that he had in the later years. Prior to the Beth thing, he did a lot of things he’s not very proud of. I would bet killing people would be included in that.

      8. That mother fkng hug. The best. Hug. In. The. History. of. Hugs.

      Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | May 28, 2012, 7:32 am
    • His shirt was tan? I couldn’t get past the view of his neck and that triangle of chest – I want to stick my face in there.

      Posted by annieoakley | May 29, 2012, 8:14 am
    • I’ve apparently been getting desensitized to the hair, because I don’t find it nearly as distracting as in previous viewings (as in – didn’t like it distracting)

      But, I still wish they had done away with the tan shirt.

      And – Bad moobies! Bad!

      Posted by KimmerNY | May 30, 2012, 5:55 am
    • Alicia
      1) the morgue guy might be rude to our blood type……but Mick loves it – I think it makes us instant choices as freshies for him….:lol:
      4) LOL
      6) I think the flashback where Mick look’s back, is suppose to be Beth’s dream and that she really saw Coraline getting up.
      (my new theory is that the wooden stake burned to ash and no longer incapacitated Coraline)

      Posted by FOYeur | June 3, 2012, 1:15 pm
  3. I was psyched for this show when it was still being touted as “Twilight” in the original commercials. A vampire show on network TV? And W. T. F. is that absolutely gorgeous guy standing on the roof? In that COAT?? (I think I fell in love with Mick’s coat before I fell for Mick himself).

    The interview…clever way to start out a series, and I’m LOVING the suit, the hair and eyelashes. But…O.M.G. – REALLY? Vampires can go outside in the SUN? They sleep in freezers? Show, what have you done to my vampire lore? *weeps* After the hour of sometimes eyebrow-raising dialogue and cheesy driving scenes had crawled by, we got to the end. And the hug. And that FACE. *melts*

    But it wasn’t love. Not yet. It was more like a bad first date where the food was cold, the waiter was rude, but the dessert was better than sex…so you agree to try it again next week and hope it will be better.

    Loved the chutzpah of the blond reporter (and where have I seen her before? I ask my long-suffering husband. Underworld? Remember? he says. Oh YEAHHHHHHH! I say, with a healthy dose of facepalm,) She’s got a pair, this one – doesn’t flinch when the guy she smacks upside the head with a glass vase doesn’t move or blink…or bleed.

    The VO’s? Could have watched a decade of Mick/Alex just talking. *more melting*

    Jason sold me on Josef about two seconds after seeing him (and gave me a whole new appreciation for suspenders). As many complaints as I had about dialogue, any time Mick and Josef are together, their interactions are snappy and believable.

    Two minutes of ending make up for what I kinda felt was a questionable start. But – it was enough to bring me back. And make me fall in LOVE.

    Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | May 28, 2012, 8:22 am
    • “but the dessert was better than sex…so you agree to try it again next week and hope it will be better.” – PNWGAL FTW!!! That hug made up for so much. In 16 hrs of show, it really is a standout moment among the whole series IMO.

      Jason – I was opposite. Did NOT like Josef at first. I thought he was badly acted. (sorry Jason!!) But as they alloweed the char to grow, I fell deeply in love with him. Deeply.

      I didn’t have a problem with the voice overs either. That voice?? Even with the American accent? Total unnffff… That’s a voice that can make the phone book sexy. #justsayin

      Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | May 28, 2012, 8:29 am
  4. 1. I have no idea why but my notes start out: Bite ME, bite ME!! (I wrote these last week btw)
    2. When he sits up in the freezer as the voice over says something about “being/sleeping alone”, he gives this awesome “sigh”. LMAO! <<those random things you catch on repeated viewings
    3. I'm glad they did away with the injecting of the blood and the red eye thing. Though I have to admit he seemed to enjoy it…You’re welcome
    4. Beth wants the “Money shot” at the fountain…um, turn around babe…it’s right there… PS..shouldn’t Beth have been arrested for contaminating a crime scene?
    5. Who are those nekkid chicks in the background and why aren’t they throwing themselves at this

    PS…Steph I hope it’s ok if i use screencaps in my notes…I capped epi as I watched so I have to do something with them..

    6. “You’re only 90..you’ve never been chased by a torch bearing mob!” – Josef FTW!!
    7. Beth: “How do I know you’re not the killer?” Mick: “Because I’m not killing you..” – that faaaaaace!!! Also, Mick FTW!!!
    8. I need to learn to make gifs because there are at least 4 scenes in this epi that make my panties flail.
    9. Hello chest hair!! FU H50
    10. Mick: “you don’t have to be a vampire to get a taste for blood” – profound statement….and true.
    11. Best line of epi goes to copper: “threesomes never end well!” (I’m inviting Mick and josef over to test this theory…stay tuned)
    12. While it took awhile for Josef to grow on me, I think these first convos they had were very important. They laid the groundwork for Josef being the no nonsense vampire leader that he was, and Mick having the humanity. Also, how they respect and tolerate each other’s roles in the vamp community.

    **Josef: ” I know you have morals and scruples and all, that’s fine but you’re not the man on occasion I pretend to respect if you don’t get this under control.”

    **Josef: “So why haven’t you killed him?”
    Mick: “There’s more than one suspect”
    Josef: “So kill them all”

    13. When Mick drops an octave and says, “I said I’m on this”….adfja;dkja;dfkjadf
    14. THIS face. FLR.
    15. Ironically I don’t mind the tan shirt here. Mooney jeans FTW!!

    Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | May 28, 2012, 8:59 am
    • Looks like you and I were commenting at the same time… and mind melding on quotes and chest hair! 😘

      Posted by spurschick | May 28, 2012, 9:57 am
    • 3. I can’t open the pic! and I have a feeling it’s really really good!! 😦

      11. I got all ‘hmmm, interesting…’ at this, but then I remembered that Show is all Talk and no Show.

      13. I was glad to be sitting down for that. Love authoritative Mick.

      Posted by Alicia | May 28, 2012, 9:58 am
    • Oh, and the screengrab for #5… yikes. Panties just melted to my vajj.

      Posted by spurschick | May 28, 2012, 10:13 am
    • #6. They always give Josef the best lines.
      #9. “Hello chest hair! FU H50″….Amen Sister!

      I think the interview was a clever way to get some of the vampire specifics out to the audience quickly. And with that face and voice, well, really, how could they go wrong with him just being on screen and talking?

      OMG…that hug!

      I only checked out ML last summer after watching AOL in H50. I wonder if I would’ve been as charmed by this show if I had watched it back when it was originally on CBS. I think I probably wouldn’t have but I find it totally addicting now.

      Posted by JDD | May 28, 2012, 5:58 pm
      • “Addicting” is the perfect word for this show!! And I agree, I wasn’t interested in ML when it first came out but I’m glad I’ve watched it now!

        Josef does have the best lines, I didn’t get his humor at all the first time I watched but now I’m glad he’s so funny. Two broody emo vamps sitting around feeling self-piteous might have been a little much…

        Posted by stephaniejane2 (The Junk Kicker) | May 28, 2012, 8:29 pm
        • “Addicting” IS the perfect word. I mean, we all know the outcome. Its not good, it get cancelled way too early when there are so many interesting plot lines lying in the wings. (FU CBS) Yet here we are. Watching,…AGAIN!! As a group. Seriously. How amazing is this??

          Somewhere down the road, I see us having H50 rewatches….and Moonlight for the 830th time.

          Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | May 30, 2012, 6:20 am
      • I didn’t watch ML til last summer either – I was gushing about H50 to a friend and she said “that’s the guy from Moonlight”. I’m not usually a vampire-goth-chick type. I read the Twilight books but pretty much just to see what the hubbub was all about, thought they were literary junk food (tastes good, but after you eat it you wish you hadn’t). But Moonlight — OMG. Fkn life ruiner indeed!

        Posted by annieoakley | May 29, 2012, 8:28 am
        • LOL. I’m not at all into vampire stuff either which made me nervous when I sat down to watch this last summer. I thought I’d hate it. I tried watching the first of the Twilight movies, got 30 minutes into it and had to turn it off. Thankfully ML was a completely different experience.

          Posted by JDD | May 29, 2012, 9:36 am
          • Oh, those twilight movies are only good for hysterical laughing – and the twilight vamps are ice cold (my daughter refers to edward as “ice-d/ck”. It’s at least implied that Mick is hot, steamy hot – why else would he sleep in a freezer. Naked. I’m sorry, what was I saying?

            Posted by annieoakley | May 29, 2012, 11:34 am
            • Love that your daughter calls Edward that. To me it looked like that movie was shot with a blue filter, at least the 20-30 minutes I saw. I always felt that while Mick’s home was modern, it didn’t read as ‘cold’. Nothing in the show read as overly dark or ‘cold’, not even the freezers, although maybe it was b/c of the hottie sleeping in the freezer. 😉

              Posted by JDD | May 29, 2012, 6:45 pm
        • “thought they were literary junk food”
          I still want the hours of my life back spent reading the last book. The others were ok but the last book was a complete waste of time and them making it into two movies is a really d/ck move and just an obvious attempt at getting more money out of fans.

          Posted by Infant_Sardonic | June 20, 2012, 2:37 am
  5. My random thoughts on episode numero uno:

    – First thing we see is Mick naked in a freezer. Good start.
    – Considering this interview never actually happened and we’re seeing his imagined version of said interview, it’s interesting that he imagines himself bringing the snark and wiseassedness.
    – “So you never bite anybody?” – Beth
    “No… no. Unless they really ask for it.” – Mick
    “Where do I sign up?” – Me
    – Fcking chin dimple.
    – Garlic on pizza repels dates? He doesn’t eat food! Wassup there, script writer?
    – The hair was good in the interview scene.
    – Look at the fur! I just want to run my fingers through the fur! Moobies or not, that’s a nice chest.
    – Shoutout to Christiane Amanpour, who totally owns Anderson Cooper.
    – “Maybe I’ve just got one of those faces.” Yes. You do. Fckn life ruiner.
    – Beth’s iphone volume is very loud during the picture taking.
    – Josef!! Mick’s face! Josef!! Mick’s face!
    – I really H8 those contacts. Yes H8. Love the fangs.
    – Oh God. The “let me look up and to the left so that the audience knows I’m recalling the past” look. I think I see Velveeta coming out of his nose.
    – I’m watching this in the morning, but I think I need to the remainder if the ML rewatch in the evening so that I can start the sniffing drinking game.
    – Is that the lamest Private Eye ID ever?!
    – The diner gave me a craving for a thick, real ice cream, chocolate shake.
    – The professor’s wife is drinking tap water? In LA?!
    – Sunglasses in the prof’s office is so weird considering he was sitting in full sunlight on Josef’s couch. Making his eyes super blue. Slurp.
    – I want a donut. (Super random thought.)
    – I think I need to write a thesis paper on the weird art in and around Mick’s apartment.
    – Josef!!
    – Congrats to H50 wardrobe the realizing that blues and greens are AOL’s colors. #beigeshirtwardrobeFAIL
    – Coraline!!
    – Do we know why the dead chicks are wrapped in pink?
    – Still don’t understand the vamp on vamp biting. Do they enjoy that? What does vamp blood taste like to another vamp?
    – Hugsies ❤❤❤!

    Posted by spurschick | May 28, 2012, 9:12 am
    • He doesn’t go on dates either. He’s also imagining himself being a bit of a Casanova. Bless him.

      ACA on the contacts.

      Velveeta! DY.ING!!

      I want a donut now too. Curse you.

      Posted by Alicia | May 28, 2012, 10:06 am
      • Yes this second time around the pizza & dating comments really struck me as odd — until I realized the interview was a dream/fantasy. I didn’t pick up on that the first time around.

        It is funny how Mick imagines himself to be much more jokey/suave than he is “in reality.”

        Posted by stephaniejane2 (The Junk Kicker) | May 28, 2012, 11:23 am
        • I love this – it’s such a human thing to do (I would imagine that Josef, for example, thinks he’s the most impressive person in the world as it is), like it’s something that he’s held on to from his life before, as you said somewhere further down the page, and he doesn’t realise how much of that person still exists.

          Posted by Alicia | May 28, 2012, 12:30 pm
    • – The hair was good in the interview scene.
      – Look at the fur! I just want to run my fingers through the fur! Moobies or not, that’s a nice chest.

      We are on the same wavelength!

      Posted by Andr3a (Hawaii 5-0 FUCUP Blogazine) | May 28, 2012, 11:00 am
    • I watched the fight scene with Coraline a little more closely this time around, and there was a point when they were right on the edge of falling into really hot sex – more lips than teeth, clothes were starting to come off – etc. Wait, what was I saying? Oh yeah – there seems to be a fine line between fighting and fking with these two. Very hot, so very hot.

      Posted by annieoakley | May 29, 2012, 8:22 am
    • “Moobies or not, that’s a nice chest.” – No argument there. ACA
      “Fcking chin dimple” – I feel the need for another dimple theme post
      “Maybe I’ve just got one of those faces.:” – oh Mick (Alex), your face is unique. So. Unique. FLR.
      “Do we know why the dead chicks are wrapped in pink?” – I wondered about that this time too. I didn’t hear of any explanation of it. Anyone else??

      I took the garlic on pizza comment being about the other person eating pizza and repelling a date. Not him eating it. Maybe I didn’t put enough thought into it. **OH look…chin dimple!!**

      Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | May 30, 2012, 6:31 am
  6. Oh. Almost forgot.

    Line of the ep:
    “How do I know you’re not the killer?” – Beth
    “Cuz I’m not killing you.” – Mick
    Mick FTW!

    Sniff count: (This will come in handy for the drinking game)
    4.5
    He didn’t do full sniff when he smelled the tiny blood vial, so I only counted it as half a sniff.

    Posted by spurschick | May 28, 2012, 9:15 am
  7. Can’t…stop…laughing…

    This is so awesome and SPOT. ON.

    Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | May 28, 2012, 9:31 am
  8. 1. Interview scene: ChinDimple! ChinDimple! EyelashP0rn! EyelashP0rn! I wrote on my notes: “Liplicking good!” I.WANNA.LICK.HIS.FACE!
    2. Freezer scene: Bellybutton. Chesthair. Chest. Naked. I.WANNA.BE.FROZEN!
    3. I used to be totally turned off by his hairstyle, but now I’ve done a 180. I love his hair so much that I’m jealous of his luscious, soft wavy beautiful hair! WHY DO SOME MEN HAVE BETTER HAIR THAN WOMEN???? NO FAIR!!!!
    I’d like to test out his “special abilities.”
    4. Red silk pajama bottoms! Yowza!
    5. His eyebrows are getting a workout already.
    6. Love the smirk and disappearing act #1 on Beth “There’s no such thing as vampires.”
    7. JOOOOOOOZIFFFFFFFF! To Mick “You look good, working out a little bit, huh?” LOL!
    8. OK, I’m naughty, but I liked how Jozif touched Mick’s lapel.
    9. Sniff, sniff. That nose!
    10. 1980’s Mick reminds me of Kevin Hiatt! I think this is the only scene that remained from the first ML pilot version.
    11. 2nd appearing/disappearing act on Beth. Love the shadowy way he pops in. “I’m not killing you.” Smiling! Mick!
    12. Sniffing again! STOP DOING THAT! You are killing me, Alex!!!!!!
    13. The way he sez: “You’re rezzzourceful.”
    14. That f’kin hair is curling around his neck……….sigh………….
    15. Beth touching Mick’s hand over the car door….awwwwwwww……
    16. “Do you think your husband killed Kelly Foster?” – totally a McG faaaace and way of saying it
    17. Moonlight on the roof w/flowing coat scene: The way he stare off into the night reminds me of Jack Flange.
    18. Jozif says “You have a soft spot for the mortal ones.” Well, I’m also interested in his hard spots, just sayin’.
    19. The MOOBIES totally answer the door when Beth visits the office. Leaning back in chair like McG in his office.
    20. OH.MY.HEAVENS!!!!!! THOSE JEANS!!!!lakghldfgkf;lgkhf;lgknfd;gksdf;lgkjdf;lgkjdf;gkdf;gkldf;gkj
    21. I love Mick’s determined driving face when he’s going rescue Beth. He needs a cargument to take the edge off.
    22. Leaping down the stairs. “WHERE IS SHE?!” Then the epic Growl & Toss. VAMP OUT!!!
    23. Anyone notice that young Beth had big brown eyes, and current Beth has blue…. It bothered me.
    24. GOOD.LORD!!!! Alex’s eyes are so hazzzzzelllllllyyyyyyyyy in this lighting! DYING………………
    25. Obsessed with the nape of his neck! Those curling locks……………………..
    26. Poor Mick, he’s so emo that he uses second person pronouns to refer to himself. Poor baby.
    27. I don’t mind the moobies any more. They used to scare me a little, but now I’d like to get to know them better, in a hands on way. I bet they like to be petted with the grain of the fur. :::giggle:::
    28. P.S. I think that NCIS: LA wardrobe stole Mick’s moobie-hugging henley style for use on LLCoolJ.

    Posted by Andr3a (Hawaii 5-0 FUCUP Blogazine) | May 28, 2012, 10:52 am
  9. Geez, look at all this already. Better go watch.

    Posted by rainycali | May 28, 2012, 12:25 pm
  10. I could just listen to Alex talk forever. Just pull up a chair, fruity drink, and swoon.

    Posted by kelley | May 28, 2012, 2:07 pm
  11. So Glad: They did not continue,
    1) The “shooting up” blood thing.
    2) Having Mick driving around with wind in his hair contemplating issues.
    3) With Mick standing on balcony’s contemplating issues
    4) The fast running speeding thing-photography
    5) With the upside down walking in the hallway photography
    So Sad:
    1) The case was really one of the worst of the series
    So Good:
    1) Mick’s amused face every time he interacts with Beth:
    A) Their introduction
    B) She hitting him over the head at the apartment
    C) She touching his hand at the car, asking for the vial
    2) Josef’s one liners and dialogue
    There are so many, but this one amuses me every time “We got the food mouthing off about the farmer” (So inappropriate, so Josef!)
    I Wonder:
    1) What happened to Beth’s mom?
    2) Did he kill both the professor and the assistant?
    3) Did they (him carrying Beth) just walk away from the scene, without talking to the police about what happened?

    Posted by FOYeur | May 28, 2012, 2:45 pm
    • I completely agree about the #5. What was that? Made me dizzy.

      Question #2 — wow, what a good point! I don’t think he killed the professor seeing as the professor wasn’t the murderer. And probably everyone but his devotees thought he was a loon anyway so if he starts saying “I met a real vampire” I don’t think he’d get much traction with that. But yes, good question, did he kill the grad student? In “real life” getting your spine thrown into a light pole like that would most likely result in death. So maybe it just looks like he lost control of his car (in a flat, well lit parking lot) crashed and was thrown somehow not through the windshield but onto the outside of it? Yeah, the whole wrap up is problematic. Thank goodness that hug is so good! 😉

      Posted by stephaniejane2 (The Junk Kicker) | May 28, 2012, 10:18 pm
  12. Randoms:
    – just a few seconds in, and already there’s backlit eyelash p0rn. GREAT BEGINNING.
    – less than 2 minutes in, and there’s shirtless man-fur. GREATER BEGINNING.
    – the make-believe interview was a good technique for setting the rules of the mythology right up at the start. But there are some vampire myths that shouldn’t be messed with, and daylight is one of them. I get why they did it, and I forgave Show for it, but I’ll never be happy about it.
    – when Mick meets Beth by the fountain, his hair is NOT GOOD. It gets better.
    – Josef. Oh Josef. 30 seconds of screen times and I loved you. Plus I want your egg chairs. But I don’t have 15 grand.
    – when Josef tells Mick that he can’t live on morgue blood alone, we get the first (and only?) example of avoidance eyesexing!!! just as asdfghjklkjhgd as regular eyesexing!!
    – bite marks on the victim’s neck? ah, no. that would be the biggest mouth ever. no one’s teeth are that far apart.
    – I won’t speak of the bad driving green screen.
    – um, Beth? When I break & enter, I use gloves. #justsayin
    – next time I want to appear younger, I will braid my hair and wear a baseball hat.
    – the coat flapping in the breeze. *sigh*
    – “nonfat soy vegan blood” best. ever.
    – I ADORE the repartee between Mick and Josef. LOVELOVELOVE. It just works, those boys have awesome timing together.
    – it has always bugged me that Beth left her purse in the boiler room. I know, she was running for her life, I would have left my purse too, but does she get it back? Replacing i.d. is a bitch.
    – “It’s all right, you’re with me” *sigh* wait, let me say that again… “It’s all right, you’re with me” *SIGH*
    THE HUG! OMG, that mutherfricken hug!

    Posted by heymomo | May 28, 2012, 7:27 pm
    • OMG! Egg chairs! Green Screen! Coat Flapping! These are such important things!!! I’m not being jokey here, totally serious. The crystal fire falls into this category for me, too, very melodramatic, cheesy or ridiculous things about this show THAT MAKE ME LOVE IT!

      Also, I think you have an obligation to tell us about all the breaking & entering you have done!!

      Posted by stephaniejane2 (The Junk Kicker) | May 29, 2012, 9:39 am
    • – bite marks on the victim’s neck? ah, no. that would be the biggest mouth ever. no one’s teeth are that far apart.

      I said the exact same thing to the screen!

      Posted by spurschick | May 29, 2012, 9:55 am
    • “avoidance eyesexing!!! just as asdfghjklkjhgd as regular eyesexing!!” – Note to self: rewatch this scene. NO eyes.xing should go un-noticed.

      Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | May 30, 2012, 6:51 am
    • Momo
      Apparently the daylight mythology is a “new” one and older stories had them moving around in the day time.
      From IMDB:
      Each fictional vampire universe has its own rules about vampires and sunlight. In the Moonlight universe, Mick St John is a vampire who is able to tolerate sunlight for short periods of time but may be harmed if exposed to strong sunlight for lengthy periods, as in episode 1.4 Fever, in which Mick is forced to make his way through the burning desert sun. Packing his body in ice will slow the decomposition, but it requires blood for total healing.

      Burning up in the sun is actually a relatively new characteristic in fictional vampire lore. It was first seen in the 1922 movie Nosferatu, when Count Orlok disintegrated in the rising sun. In Bram Stoker’s novel Dracula (1897), however, the count was seen walking around London on a sunny afternoon wearing a straw hat to shield his face from the direct sun. In Sheridan Le Fanu’s short story Carmilla (1872), the vampire was only slightly enervated in the sunlight and used a parasol to shade her delicate skin.

      In traditional vampire legend and mythology, vampires could be out and about at any time of day. In many places, in fact, vampires were thought to be normal people during the day who simply happened to engage in vampiric behaviors at night, sometimes because they were witches or heretics and sometimes because they were individuals who had returned from the dead and reassumed the lifestyle of the living.

      So, the writers of Moonlight have obviously decided to revert to vampire lore that was existent prior to Nosferatu.

      Posted by FOYeur | June 3, 2012, 2:45 pm
      • Foyeur! Epic McNerding!
        Love it. I just learned something 🙂 And perhaps I should add some vampire classics to my reading list.

        Posted by heymomo | June 3, 2012, 3:43 pm
        • Further to the above I believe the addition of vampires having to ask permission before they enter a house (see Buffy, Angel and Vampire Diaries) was also only a recent addition to vampire lore.

          Posted by Infant_Sardonic | June 20, 2012, 2:51 am
          • which I think is a good add, because with making vampires super strong as well, they need some limits…. otherwise it would not be as interesting dramatically, if they could just stomp all over the place. I still remember Buffy episodes where she had to invite Angel in to her house…

            Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | June 20, 2012, 9:55 am
  13. I swore I wasn’t going to take notes ….   UGH !    btw, I haven’t read any comments here yet.

    1. Sigh … I love his voice. His American is low and s.xy. Like a late night DJ.. You know, talk radio, I wouldn’t care what he was talking about…. I’d tune in.
    Wait …. Listening closer, is ‘Beth’ interviewing  him ? 

    2. He has special abilities ….  And oh … Those lashes ! Oh and his tongue! And lips …  I liked the opens shirt and jacket. 

    3. Right off the bat, I liked Beth.
    …. Voice overs …. Yummy.  Eyebrows doing their own ‘thing’. 

    4. Josef. I wasn’t sure if I liked him, while he was talking on the phone, with the attitude.
       ’82 was a good year .. And a smirk…. Yeah, never-mind, I like him.

    5. Snifffff. At the morgue !   Squeeeeee !   

    6. Mick (while driving) looks at the road LESS than McG does….  Hahahahahaha.

    7.  Oh yeah …the whoooooooshhhhhhh.  Gotharama ….  Hahaha
       Wait, have I mentioned his voice ?   I love the voice overs.  NighttimeDJvoice. 

    8   At the cemetery, Beth places her hand on his, when he’s in the car.  Wasn’t his hand cold ? Weird …

    9. Mick, long coat flowing in the breeze, top of building, collar flipped up – campy but YUM.

    10. Mick, don’t touch Christians ‘piece’.   Ohhhhh, he sniffs the mask …  Squeeee !! 

    11. Josef: Nonfat soy vegan blood ?   Hahaha, Josef has better lines than Danno and I think Danno gets all the best lines…. But, hey, that’s just me !

    12.  Josef:  … some poser-wanna-be drinking blood outta a SnoopDogChallis is behind this ….  I love this VampDude

    13. I love that Beth makes fun of the professor at the friggin 11:00pm study hour … Really ? :eyeroll: 

    14.  Wait. Does Micks car have special speed powers too ?  

    15. Whooooooosh. Down the stairs. Hahahahahaha!  Speed hovering and his crazy frozen face as he whoooooshes along… Wait   Was he being dragged on some scooter thing on a track ??  Where is the screen cap of that…..  Hahaha. 

    16. OH !  Vamp Eyes and fangs. Wheeeeeeeee !!! Sniffing !!     Oh and the jerky head bobbing thing too.  I adore the campiness of.it.ALL !!  hold on, replay.  Wait, replay… Once more. 

    17.  Geezzz, I never realized how brutal Mick and Coraline’s fought !    Ewww, bad nasty hair in that scene. 

    18. Beth:  You saved me !  When I was little ….  Awwww.

    19. Why do I love it, when this man (aol) says …. Ok ?    Gawwwwwkk !  I think every character he plays, he says  ‘okai’.  Right ??  

    20  Oh, I forgot about that hug ! Wow, just wow.    ‘You just can’t bear the thought of seeing yourself as a monster in someone else’s eyes !!’  Awwww Mick is a tortured soul. Wait, do Vamps have a soul ? 

    21. Shazam tells me the haunting music is called My Immortal by Evanescence.  

    Lastly .. Actually it was my first thought as I removed Disc 1 from the package.  I didn’t mind his hair AT ALL on the DVD package, you know .. With a bit of scruff, curls at the neck, Chin dimple  Moon up above.  Thoughts ?  

    Oh my … Did Ido this right ? I made notes !   Nooooooooo, I made lots of notes and I really didn’t  mind !!   Ugghhhhhh !   No promises I’m going to do this for every episode. 

    Posted by lb | May 28, 2012, 9:53 pm
    • “17. Geezzz, I never realized how brutal Mick and Coraline’s fought ! Ewww, bad nasty hair in that scene. ”

      Yeah, it’s pretty intense. Not something a child should witness. I wrote on my notes, “Mick has S & M fight w/Coraline.” Those vamps fight and f— with violent passion. Yikes! They scare me. And yes, Mick was having a v v bad hair moment in that scene. I imagine that his hair caused the stylists much “trouble” throughout the series. Very high maintenance. LOL!

      Posted by Andr3a (Hawaii 5-0 FUCUP Blogazine) | May 29, 2012, 9:14 am
      • With the amount of product that must have been in his hair, it’s a miracle the kerosene didn’t ignite it from fifty paces, let alone how close he was holding the lamp to his face.

        Also I think that if characters in this show had “souls” then yes Mick & all the vamps have one. I know they call themselves “undead” but…. they breathe, they bleed, they consume food (human blood), they sleep… it’s just a different sort of life. So I’m not sure why that sort of life would preclude an eternal soul (if souls are real) unless having to murder people over and over again in order to live makes you feel like you are soulless (like how in Harry Potter universe, murder rips a part of your soul away).

        Posted by stephaniejane2 (The Junk Kicker) | May 29, 2012, 10:04 am
      • Andr3a, I wonder if Beth’s choice in profession had anything to do with her kidnapping and witnessing those two?

        Posted by FOYeur | June 3, 2012, 3:05 pm
    • “I swore I wasn’t going to take notes …. ” -heh…peer pressure 🙂
      6. its because Mick, in the convertible, has 180 degrees of scenery to eyes.x
      19. “Why do I love it, when this man (aol) says …. Ok ?” – YES YES YES!!!
      21. The song. Watching “So You Think You Can DAnce” last week, that song was used by no less than 2 dancers. I may or may not have thought more about Mick and the hug than I paid attention to their dancing.

      Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | May 30, 2012, 6:58 am
    • 21. Shazam tells me the haunting music is called My Immortal by Evanescence
      Freaken haunting song!! They actually picked some really great music for the shows…….and now these songs will forever be Mooney songs.

      Posted by LaHagela (The Tinkler) | May 30, 2012, 3:54 pm
  14. And another thing .. How many different pairs of sunglasses did he wear in the episode ? Not that it matter ?.. Justthinking. The Vamp likes to Accessorize …

    Posted by lb | May 28, 2012, 10:29 pm
  15. So do we have any Moonlight virgins watching with us?

    Posted by heymomo | May 29, 2012, 4:35 pm
  16. Mick’s pretty hurts….

    Posted by LaHagela (The Tinkler) | May 30, 2012, 3:52 pm
  17. So this is only my second watching, and still no on the hair, no on the vamp eyes and fine with the moobs – and that tan shirt? No 4 Evah! That faaace, the long coat, the voiceovers, that faaace…..where was I?
    Ess your screen caps – woohoo!
    What is with the long drive to Josef’s house for such a short visit? Didn’t even stay for a drink (lol)
    Foyeur – things you wonder…..yes…wondering too. Like causing a huge accident and walking away from it?? Or a little breaking and entering – why is that okay for reporters go snoop like that? I see emos and think of Infant, is that wrong?
    Beth’s baseball cap – Gryffindor colors!
    “food mouthing off about the farmers ” that was such a great line! And yes – he also says ‘then kill them all’ – the writers love him right from the start. They go back and forth so well.
    Did Mick just run out of the diner leaving a dead body behind and again not call police? And yes – the purse and everything in it dumped and left…replacing I.D., getting your phone back, keys etc…hope she got it back.
    No, I don’t think the pink dresses were ever even mentioned. The assistant gives Beth a shot in the neck and she immediately goes limp…what the heck was in that shot? The way Mick goes so hard into saving Beth, it would be so awesome to have someone want to save you that much!
    By the time we get to the end of this show, and he has pulled her from the car and is walking away, I’m hooked again. And of course, that hug at the end.F.L.R.

    Posted by cvc | May 30, 2012, 7:52 pm
    • Beth is totally a Gryffindor! And Josef is a Slytherin and Mick is… Emo. 😆 Oh I know this is heresy but sometimes I’m a little glad this show didn’t go on too long & we have the season where Beth gets magical powers that get a little out of control before she learns how to use them and it puts a strain on her relationship with Mick as she hangs out with her cool witch & warlock friends who look down on vampires as freaks (this is of course in the 3rd season because the 2nd season was all about Beth’s love triangle with Mick vs. a guy who is also a werewolf…) You know how it is! 😆 We are left *wanting more* of this show & not sad about how it ruined itself. Not that I’m positive that would have happened – but it’s always a possibility. Plus then Alex would have stayed big & hairy & I wouldn’t know any of YOU ALL and that is just unacceptable!!

      Posted by stephaniejane2 (The Junk Kicker) | May 30, 2012, 8:24 pm
      • I will take big and hairy Alex anyday.
        But think of it this way…the way the show ended……it ended with hope for Mick and Beth, and not some dramatic cliffhanger with one of their lives weighing in the balance. Never to know the outcome. Im just happy to have that, i will try to always think of these 16 episodes as a story with a beginning, middle, and end. Beth and Mick are sleeping in a freezer somewhere cuddled together. The end. Ouch she just bashed him in the head!

        Posted by LaHagela (The Tinkler) | May 31, 2012, 5:19 pm
      • Mick is a Hufflepuff. There’s just no getting around it.

        Yes, ACA and also with what Justine said about no cliffhanger. Was this how the season was supposed to end, I’m sure I’ve read that there were episodes written that were never filmed, or filmed but never shown. Or something. Was one of them supposed to be the finale?

        Posted by Alicia | June 1, 2012, 1:58 am
      • WTF is a Gryffindor and a Slytherin?!

        Posted by spurschick | June 1, 2012, 6:29 am
        • Think of the different sorority or fraternity houses in college and in Hogwarts where Harry Potter went to school there were 4 houses and all students were ‘sorted’ into one of them depending on their characteristics and desires. Harry and his buddies were Gryffindor, the ‘bad guys’ were Slytherin, none of the main characters were a Huffle Puff or Ravensclaw but the struggle of good and evil was usually between Gryffindor and Slytherin. (mcnerd on Harry Potter) http://harrypotter.wikia.com/wiki/Hogwarts_Houses

          Posted by cvc | June 1, 2012, 9:30 am
      • “Mick is… Emo. ”
        YAY! Mick and I are in the same house. 😀

        Psst, I totes was a Prefect and Captain of my House in real life.

        Posted by Infant_Sardonic | June 20, 2012, 2:56 am
  18. Why does celebate Mick sleep in sexy red silk pajamas??
    And why does Micks accent sound more non-descrip american than Steves bastardized new yawk accent?

    Posted by LaHagela (The Tinkler) | May 31, 2012, 5:12 pm
  19. When Mick is disrturbed during his online musings of case and he goes to answer the door in the shirt that shall not be named, it cracks me up (so much that i watched it over and over) because he bob’s his head and says “yea yea” to himself, slays me.

    Posted by LaHagela (The Tinkler) | May 31, 2012, 5:45 pm
  20. Oh i totes forgot about this! When little aussie boy stabs the big aussie man, sorry i mean this pissed off vampire, you can see the prop knife if you slooooow mooooooo it.

    Posted by LaHagela (The Tinkler) | May 31, 2012, 6:03 pm
  21. Wahhhh…the final voiceover of the show slays me as much as the hug with those big beautiful hands. The words!!!
    ok…..so he staked Coraline thru the heart to the floor. We will see that stabbing a vamp thru the heart immobilzes them. So how the hell did that toothy skank get up and bum rush the window? And why didnt she break the window/wood like cardboard? Why would he think he killed her if really the last time he saw her she was alive/dead/awake/moving?

    Posted by LaHagela (The Tinkler) | May 31, 2012, 6:12 pm
    • This is why I think it was his imagination – he did love her once and their relationship was still so complicated, and he just killed her in really quite a horrible way – staked her and left her (alive) to burn. You know how Mick likes to torture himself. Coat of Pain, etc.

      Posted by Alicia | June 1, 2012, 2:02 am
    • Like he said in the opening – a flame thrower will kill a vamp, so my/his assumption in that scene is even if she got up, she did not survive the fire. Maybe being staked weakened her so she could not break the window. Plus – for the sake of drama – it really drives home the point (see what I did there) that she is a goner.

      On a darker note, imagine how seeing that would scar a child. A big nasty s.x/fight that ends in staking someone to the floor and leaving them to burn alive. Really – Beth – I’m surprised you don’t have lingering issues about fire or wedding gowns…maybe that is why she is not married. She is afraid if she puts one on she’ll fly around a room in a murderous rage and then die in a fire.

      Posted by cvc | June 1, 2012, 9:40 am
    • Tink, I wrote my new theory earlier as well…..that the wooden stake burned to ash and no longer incapacitated Coraline. So she could get up…….
      And he did not really see he moving, I think……because it is suppose to be Beth’s dream and not what he saw, that we are seeing…..if that makes any sense…..:)
      It has always bugged me……but this makes the most sense to me…….

      Posted by FOYeur | June 3, 2012, 3:29 pm
  22. 132 comments? Holy smokes guys!

    Posted by Infant_Sardonic | June 20, 2012, 2:26 am
  23. 1. Josef’s house is amazing. To think someone lives there in real life. It must be nice to be so rich.
    2. Cr@ppy ID photo Mick St John. Wonder if Alex has a bad passport photo. Doesn’t everyone?
    3. Beth, honey, emo’s don’t wear all black. That’s goths. If you’re going to be mean about me and my emo friends, get it right. 😛
    4. Oi! Why is the Aussie the bad guy? What is up with that eh???
    5. Mick can’t turn into a bat but he can jump down staircases. Some times this show made me roll my eyes…..
    6. But then we’d get a scene like the one at the very end of this episode and I fall back in love and need to watch the next ep.

    Posted by Infant_Sardonic | June 20, 2012, 3:06 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Almost a Fantasy (Sonata) « Junk Kicker's #H50 Junk Drawer - September 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 303 other followers

