ยง
you're reading...
H50

The Adventures of Stick!Steve McGarrett (In Halawa Prison)

Stick!Steve McGarrett came by for a visit, finally ready to talk about that long and terrible week he spent in Halawa Prison last summer. (Perhaps he was inspired by the H50 Season 2 deleted scenes that just leaked but who can really say?) Stick!Steve in his orange prison jumpsuit were first featured in my tribute to Infant’s Hawaiian Adventures and… well, I’m very gratified by the positive response he received — so thank you all.

A late night (for me) twitter conversation with Infant on “what exactly did Mcg do while in prison?” led to her listing off the most wonderful ideas — and here is the result. As you might expect from a SJ2/Infant co-production, it’s full of bromance, emo and words (because we talk a lot). See the end for more notes & thanks for reading!












Author’s Notes:
*McG says “innocent” in Mandarin (the characters on his book are Chinese for the word “alphabet.”)

*DD stands for “Dishonorable Discharge.” Which, if convicted of murder, McG would have been DDed from the Navy. In real life, all the breaking & entering & resisting arrest & pointing guns at people would likely have gotten him kicked out anyway, either “Other than Honorable Discharge” or “Bad Conduct Discharge.”

*Danno’s rant, re: the location of McG’s Mercury Marquis was taken practically verbatim from a series of DMs Infant sent me as we pondered the fate of the poor Marquis. Our assumption being, McG drove it from Kamekona’s to… where ever it was that he changed into his Ninja outfit before he broke into the Governor’s mansion the 2nd time. Our MAIN CONCERN is that we don’t recall seeing the Marquis at all during H50 Season 2. But it has to be back safe in McG’s garage, right? So we had to come up with a fix for that! A fix that didn’t involve tweetspamming atplenkov, anyway. So if you have a theory or further thought regarding the fate or whereabouts of McG’s Mercury Marquis, please chime in!

*Please let me know which panels are your favorite! Thank you for reading & commenting.

About SJ2

I am good with: Details, Bad Ideas, Hilarity, Sarcasm and Overthinking! I kid because I care!

Discussion

72 thoughts on “The Adventures of Stick!Steve McGarrett (In Halawa Prison)

  1. I am just wondering…….why is Danno naked?
    Is that maybe a fantacy of the artist?

    Posted by FOYeur | June 27, 2012, 1:52 pm
  2. Oh, and my favorite panel is
    ….so I thought about my favorite things….
    A few reasons for it…..Steve’s posture on that bed!….very inviting ๐Ÿ˜‰
    His FACE……priceless!!
    Danno’s Face…equally priceless

    Posted by FOYeur | June 27, 2012, 1:57 pm
  3. I’m reading this at the tail end of my lunch…I had to go hide in the bathroom because I was laughing so hard I was CRYING. Can’t…breathe…

    I giggled at Danny’s feet not touching the floor and snorted pop out of my nose at what reading Steve caught up on…but by the time I got to the end I was laughing out loud at my desk.

    Bravo to both of you!

    Posted by jrenee65 | June 27, 2012, 1:59 pm
  4. Stick!Mick!! Yay! With Stick!Stubble!! Double yay!

    Favourite panel HAS to be the escape plan. I love the escape plan, especially that he’s thinking about it while doing push-ups, and has only got as far as ‘not while I’m this orange’.

    Very close joint second – ‘Sheila’ and the licence plates.

    Honorable mention – the last panel, because it just fits so perfectly with the actual scene in the show.

    I have no clue what happened to the Marquis. To my shame, I had not actually noticed its absence. Oops.

    ADORE!!!!

    Posted by Alicia | June 27, 2012, 1:59 pm
    • Stick!Stubble has to be the greatest unintentional comedy stick art discovery of … this month. When I asked Infant “what did McG do in prison” and she said… didn’t shave… ๐Ÿ˜† So yeah, the stubble is my new favorite thing.

      Also yeah McG’s escape plan… gotta love that one step at a time SEAL mentality. ๐Ÿ˜‰ “Step 2: ? No problem!”

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | June 27, 2012, 3:16 pm
      • “and she saidโ€ฆ didnโ€™t shaveโ€ฆ”
        Sugar high = lots of ideas. To think it all started with, didn’t shave.

        I swear I did no work after we had this conversation.

        Posted by Infant_Sardonic | June 28, 2012, 12:44 am
        • Infant do you often go on these sugar rampages when your boss is out of the office? If so, please just start tweeting me your random sugar induced thoughts, because I love them.

          Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | June 28, 2012, 9:23 pm
          • Well actually, now that you mention it. He was my acting manager. My real manager comes back from maternity leave next Thursday, but she only works two days a week and one of those days from home. Aka I am without a manager 4 days a week. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ll stock up on the sugar and we shall wait and see. ๐Ÿ˜‰

            Posted by Infant_Sardonic | June 29, 2012, 4:14 am
  5. FEEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLIIIIIIIIIINGS! So much love for this. SO MUCH LOVE! The Lee Jay Spalding story… the brilliance of this is beyond anything I could possibly say. The little stubble marks on his face. The making of the license plates!

    One question… why are they guys in the idea bubble headless? You’re going to give me the obvious answer and I will feel stupid, which I’m completely okay with because my brain is truly not worthy of being in the same universe.

    Posted by spurschick | June 27, 2012, 2:01 pm
    • Ah, I should have put heads on them — it’s like Alicia says, McG thinking about changing from his orange jumpsuit to a more ninja-like black version so escape becomes a little more plausible.

      And I still have all the feelings for little McG. So emo with those license plates!!

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | June 27, 2012, 3:26 pm
  6. I have been waiting for this since, what was it my Monday? It did not let me down. I am crying with laughter. Danny quoted me, it’s all kinds of funny. I love that he doesn’t reach the floor and that on Steve’s navy ID it says blah blah blah. It’s the little things. The addition of the Lee Jay book, Steph mate, epic. I mean that just made the comic strip. My idea to Steph was something along the lines of Chin would send Steve a book by a guy who spent time in jail for a crime he didn’t commit. The Lee Jay thing was all her.

    And yes, we’ve been waiting for days now, what happened to the car?!

    Posted by Infant_Sardonic | June 27, 2012, 2:18 pm
    • Oh mate the Lee Jay thing. Sometimes the stars just align like that & it’s all golden. It’s how I think I know I’m on the right track with what I’m doing… I love it when a plan comes together!!

      OK, so the car. I watched just a few minutes of the S1 finale (believe me it was hard to shut it down but I did) and it’s so fast paced it really just goes like this:

      1)McG visits Kamekona & gets the guns
      2)Kamekona calls Danny
      3)You see McG driving away down the street in the Merc (hi/bye Merc!)
      4)You see Danny trying to call McG & getting voicemail
      5)You see McG running by the bushes in front of the gov’s mansion

      So either McG parked the Merc somewhere safe (I think we have to believe he couldn’t go home at this point) and walked goodness knows how far to the governor’s house, I think our theory that he just parked around the corner is probably a pretty good one. Especially Considering how hopeless HPD & the governor’s security teams are!

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | June 27, 2012, 4:35 pm
      • Maybe the Merc is hiding out with Kamekona’s secret weapons truck!!

        Have to say again, Steph & Grace, this is brilliant. Laugh harder everytime I read it. Love the detail drawings of the phones — speaker and ear holes, coiled cords.

        Is Danno upset because one of McG’s favorite things is Danno’s Camaro?

        Posted by karin@notmcnerd | June 27, 2012, 7:17 pm
      • In real life the Governors Mansion (Washington Place) is practically around the corner from H50 Headquarters. So maybe in a moment of insanity he parked it there?

        Posted by Infant_Sardonic | June 28, 2012, 12:45 am
  7. So. Much. Love!

    Love the stubble and orange on StickSteve ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by rainycali | June 27, 2012, 2:23 pm
  8. I can’t pick a favourite I.just.can’t. This is Soooo amazing. I love the scruff, Danny’s little legs, the rainbow outside the window, poor poor Kono.
    And SHEILA. Because we all know that’s a FUCUP shoutout.

    Posted by westy | June 27, 2012, 3:12 pm
  9. How much fun did you have doing this? It’s wonderful.

    My favorite is the license plates. Don’t know why.
    “Thanks for the magazine” I really expected it to be Woman’s Day. (But then, Danny might not know about that.)
    #2 in the Escape strip — the ? made me think of “classified details” — he has a plan, just can’t share it!

    Posted by karin@notmcnerd | June 27, 2012, 4:08 pm
  10. Omg!!! I don’t know how you think this stuff up!!! Its all epic! Love the stuble and danno’s feet not touching the ground!!! Another awesome job!!!

    Posted by LaHagela (The Tinkler) | June 27, 2012, 4:31 pm
  11. Glad I didn’t read this until I got home because I was laughing the whole time and that would’ve gotten me some strange looks at work. Props to you for the shout out to Lee Jay Spaulding and for making a stick figure lounging on his jail house bed look kinda sexy. And one more thing….Stick Scruffffff!!! OMG!

    Posted by JDD | June 27, 2012, 4:57 pm
  12. STEPH! INFANT!!! So this is what you talk about when i’m not around ๐Ÿ˜‰ I should go more often! haha!! Too hilarious!!

    My fave has to be the stick!pushups. Hands down favorite. LMAO!! But then I see Danny’s little legs dangling in the chair and I have to say that even beats Stick!Steve in his prison jumper. Bless Danny’s little legs….

    โค โค โค

    Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | June 27, 2012, 5:43 pm
  13. Oh ha ha ha ha ha, I just noticed Danny’s feet dangling and not reaching the ground ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by rainycali | June 27, 2012, 5:46 pm
  14. STEPH! IT’S AN ALLCAPS MOMENT! AMAZEBALLS WITH A SIDE OF AWESOMESAUCE!
    Stick!Steve’s stubble!
    Naked Stick!Danno!
    Swiss army knife!
    SHEILA!!!
    Brushing up on Mandarin!
    OMG LEE JAY SPALDING FTW!
    Stick!Steve’s oogly green eyes!
    Rainbow outside the cell!
    OMG STICK!STEVE DREAMS OF CARGO PANTS!
    Stick!Danno saved the Merc! *hearts*
    Escape ninja suit!
    Pushup Face!

    LMAO! *wipes tears* *catches breath* LOVE!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by heymomo | June 27, 2012, 7:54 pm
    • Swear to god my life is not complete until you comment on my art posts.

      NOT COMPLETE!!

      Thank you for pointing out your favorite details… I drew that rainbow and put the prison bars over it and literally did this spontaneous combustion of tears& laughter that I’m sure was very awkward to observe in real life. This has all been worth it — it’s always worth it, every time!! you all are the best.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | June 27, 2012, 8:51 pm
    • Glad you liked it Momo. I sure had fun running through these ideas with Steph.

      Posted by Infant_Sardonic | June 28, 2012, 12:52 am
  15. Love love LOVE this!!! Especially the Lee Jay Spaulding detail. Re the magazine, it had to be Guns and Ammo, because the Women’s Day thing hasn’t happened yet (that’s in 2.02).
    How come Cath isn’t in his “favorite things” bubble? Go Team Cath!
    He drove the Merc back to his house to change into the ninja outfit (before Danno came over with beer). Maybe I’m imagining things, but didn’t Steve drive his sexy black pickup truck to the governor’s mansion? I thought we see it parked around the corner, just before he goes over the wall. OK, now I have to go home and watch the S1 finale again…

    Posted by AnnieOakley | June 28, 2012, 11:51 am
  16. Dittos on all! Stubble – eye color – leg length – push ups – fav things – Lee Jay – Kono -and I too wondered what was up with the headless bodies so thanks for explaining. Kudos to you both –

    Posted by cvc | June 29, 2012, 12:41 pm
  17. I too love that Danny’s feet don’t reach the ground. I particularly like the frame where Danny says that visiting time is nearly over ‘cos he looks sad and calls him ‘babe’. I also like Steve thinking about his favourite things and the last frame ‘cos they’re both smiling and now Danny is kicking his legs!
    Love you Steph and Infant!

    Posted by Mary Jane | June 30, 2012, 4:00 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: It’s The Little Things (Part Three) « Junk Kicker's #H50 Junk Drawer - February 6, 2013

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 302 other followers

