§
you're reading...
Moonlight

The Flame of the Candle (B.C.)

“I wonder if I’ve been changed in the night. Let me think. Was I the same when I got up this morning? I almost think I can remember feeling a little different. But if I’m not the same, the next question is ‘Who in the world am I?’ Ah, that’s the great puzzle!”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

So the audience isn’t kept waiting: Mick & Beth in the shower.
Because dessert gets served first here at the Junk Drawer.

Now on to our regularly scheduled vaguely worded recap!

Mick gets a rude awakening ~ Beth watches in shock as the young model convulses ~ Josh asks Beth to drop the case

While Beth is on assignment covering a fashion shoot, a young model named Renee falls ill and suddenly dies – just as Josef goes to Mick for help in tracking down Lola, an ancient vampire who has made off with a bit of Josef’s money. Mick quickly learns that Lola has recently purchased a large warehouse and is using it to store a metric ton of silver, a poison to vampires. He resolves to examine the matter closely.

Beth braces herself for microchipping.

“Alice had got so much into the way of expecting nothing but out-of-the-way things to happen, that it seemed quite dull and stupid for life to go on in the common way.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Meanwhile, investigating Renee’s death, Beth attempts to gain entrance into the VIP room of a new dance club. When she is unsuccessful, she visits the morgue, where she learns the girl overdosed on pure silver. She meets Mick and discloses what she has learned about the silver, which interests him. With Mick’s help, Beth is able to access the VIP room of the club where she observes the patrons taking a drug called “Black Crystal.” Mick joins her, but not before she has attracted the unwanted attention of Lola. Before the investigation can proceed however, the police, led by Josh, raid the club – and they all go their separate ways.

Mick prepares to sneak into the club ~ Mick discusses Lola’s plans with Josef ~ Mick reacts to Black Crystal Beth’s advances

“If you drink much from a bottle marked ‘poison’ it is certain to disagree with you sooner or later.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Beth returns home with a vial of the Black Crystal drug hidden away in her purse. Home alone, she tries the drug. The effects are immediate and intense.

Mick lets Black Crystal Beth in to his apartment.

Then this happened.

“She tried to fancy what the flame of a candle is like after the candle is blown out, for she could not remember ever having seen such a thing.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

The next day, Beth learns from Josh that the police will raid the warehouse where Lola runs her drug operation. Beth tips Mick off, and after taking Lola head on, he burns the warehouse to the ground to prevent information about vampires from becoming public.

Mick fights with Lola ~ Mick watches the explosion ~ Josh talks with Beth about the sudden end to the case

Afterwards, Mick and Josef commiserate over the loss of Lola, while Beth attempts to go back to life as usual with Josh.

Mick ponders Lola’s long life ~ Josef gives Lola’s memory a little tongue action ~ Beth gets introspective

“I can’t go back to yesterday because I was a different person then. ”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

This is one of those episodes where NONE of the things we’re going to talk about are the plot points I just outlined above. Instead, we’re going to talk about these things:

Why hello these things!
Grandpa Mick is cranky in the mornings.

A) Can you imagine sleeping naked in a freezer?

B) Dancing on the cheekbones… No. Just No. Sorry, but Holly’s not my type…. I have no particular admiration or envy of her cheekbones.

C) Mick’s great lines in this ep: Digitial photography what a boon for the tribe, eh? / Perpetual Coolness Is The Vampire’s Curse / Oh there’s space! There’s space. 😆 Plus some others I’ll mention below, plus probably some more that I won’t. This ep was a great one for Mick.

D) Building a Pirate Army! Back in the day you could do that kind of thing! 17th Century Lola was a hoot.

E) Alex’s face through this whole episode is working overtime, it’s really incredible. Mick is pretty giddy that Josef is in such a tight spot over a woman. Then he’s all concerned about Lola killing vamps. Then disgusted by the vamp killed by silver. Then Beth’s got him all twisted in knots. And on and on and on. It’s the emotional gamut that is just… pretty impressive. Hence my inability to exercise moderation in my screencapping of this episode.

F) I need this microchip inserted in my hand / Well of course you do! But then Mick has this big honkin needle (yeah yeah yeah) and she doesn’t even feel it! Also, the kiss? An accident. Oh! Good to know!

That kiss was tooooooootally a mistake, yeah right you betcha.

G) I did not understand Lola’s motivation — to make money getting humans high? I mean… with a silver-based drug in their systems, it’s not like the vamps could feed on the high humans, right? So what’s the point? and if she can just …wheedle a million dollars out of Josef once every few years, what’s the point of such an elaborate business venture?

H) However Mick has totally seen Beth naked now, so Lola who’s plans are what now, no one cares, hmm?

I) Beth & Josh’s apologies to each other — what really great scene. To me, that was believable & sincere and showed what good hearts these two had, and you could see how the two of them really “worked” together.

J) So Lola had to hire human scientists to work with her silver-based drug. Mick didn’t seem too fussed about outing his vamp-ness to them which got me thinking about being a female vamp — and having male freshies (if one were so inclined, NOH8) — instead of female ones? Would have loved to have seen some of that.

K) Lola you Velveeta Queen. (that is all)

L) Love, love, love Mick refilling & leaving the drink for Josef once he’s done with it.

“How puzzling all these changes are! I’m never sure what I’m going to be, from one minute to another.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Some parting shots:

Mick contemplates Lola’s Pirate Army ~ Lola Herself ~ Mick is concerned about the case Beth is investigating

Mick watches Beth approach the club ~ Perpetual Coolness is the Vampire’s Curse ~ Beth laughs

Mick ensures Beth has recovered ~ OTP: Mick & Red Meat ~ Beth has a date with some facial scrub in her near future

`But then,’ thought Alice, `shall I never get any older than I am now? That’ll be a comfort, one way–never to be an old woman– but then–always to have lessons to learn! Oh, I shouldn’t like that!’
― Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Mick wishes never to forget his humanity ~ Mick the BAMF ~ Lola’s Derp Face

And finally, you know how I always say “still pictures are Moonlight’s worst enemy?”

The look in his eyes makes me wanna change my mind.

…and you girls know a set-up when you read one. Go to!

About SJ2

I am good with: Details, Bad Ideas, Hilarity, Sarcasm and Overthinking! I kid because I care!

Discussion

64 thoughts on “The Flame of the Candle (B.C.)

  1. Oh the ep where I affectionately rename him Saint Mick because only our favourite vamp would act like a true gentlemen and not take advantage of Beth in her drugged out state. (Though if he had, well that’s just a whole other can of worms and would probably only happen on that other vampire show on HBO).

    The whole sleeping in the freezer naked thing. I know they are guys but surely that crosses some sort of boundary? Hey creepy friend, how long you been standing there?

    c) “Perpetual Coolness Is The Vampire’s Curse ”
    Is one of my fav lines of the entire show.

    “E) Alex’s face through this whole episode is working overtime, it’s really incredible.”
    *le sigh* I stare at his face. Well what else do you want me to do on my 4th viewing? LOL so now I get to appreciate all the facial expressions he pulls. And then I fall into that black hole where I lose sense of time and space and I only know what’s going on because I remember the storyline.

    “L) Love, love, love Mick refilling & leaving the drink for Josef once he’s done with it. ”
    Because while vamps don’t eat they do get wasted. 😛 It’s the same in Vampire Diaries.

    Ok so does anyone else think Alex with long hair makes him look older? Some times I think he looks younger now then he does in ML.

    Also Beth’s dress at the nightclub when she mets up with Mick? WOWSERS. How on Earth can I complete with that/women who dress like that? 😛 I mean wow. that dress….and her girls…and yeah. No fair.

    Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 2, 2012, 4:14 am
    • Also. First! Steph thanks for releasing this at an Infant friendly time meaning that I get to be the winner for once. 😛

      Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 2, 2012, 4:17 am
    • I think he looks older as McG. Yet when he’s just Alex, I think he looks younger. It’s all the frowning McG does, I think.

      Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 2, 2012, 6:30 am
    • “I know they are guys but surely that crosses some sort of boundary?”
      What? Do guys usually hang out nekkid together? Is that a thing I didn’t know about?
      😯

      Posted by heymomo | July 2, 2012, 8:53 am
      • Uhhh in locker rooms I am sure they do.

        Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 3, 2012, 6:29 am
        • But no more than girls see each other naked in locker rooms. I think the point of it all is that Josef is 40 zillion years old, there’s nothing he hasn’t seen, obviously a little nudity isn’t going to get him fussed. Also then the point that we viewers DO get to get fussed about Mick’s nudity… as all these comments prove. 😉

          Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 5, 2012, 9:08 am
          • We had uniforms at school and when we did sport we had to change into our sport gear (and then back out once PE was over). Nothing creates teenage girl angst like having to get changed in front of each other.

            Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 6, 2012, 4:20 am
    • – “The whole sleeping in the freezer naked thing. I know they are guys but surely that crosses some sort of boundary? Hey creepy friend, how long you been standing there?”
      I really think, clothes will get wet and damp in a freezer……just saying
      Most of as sleeping anywhere alone in a locked house, don’t really expect someone to come lurking over us.But then again, Mick should know his friends by now…….

      – “I lose sense of time and space and I only know what’s going on because I remember the storyline.”
      Infant I am so with you on this one

      Posted by FOYeur | July 4, 2012, 11:20 pm
      • “Most of as sleeping anywhere alone in a locked house, don’t really expect someone to come lurking over us”

        For some reason I thought you were going to say, most of us sleeping anywhere alone in a locked house do so naked.

        I was like holy jeez man I am never going over to someones house unannoucned EVER.

        *has left the tired station and is rapidly heading towards delirious station*

        Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 5, 2012, 6:11 am
  2. “H) However Mick has totally seen Beth naked now, so Lola who’s plans are what now, no one cares, hmm?”

    I laughed real tears at this. You are so right!

    Question: when Josef woke Mick up did Mick say “Tell me it’s not twilight?” because if he did, then much as I like the perpetual coolness line, I like this one more. (They were going to call it Twilight, weren’t they?)

    I thought the scene at the club was really sweet – Mick was actually seeing the funny, cool side of being a vampire. I’m guessing that hasn’t happened for a few decades, by which I mean ever. Beth’s a good influence. On the other hand, when Beth pinched the microchip from the morgue, I actually thought – swear to God – “she’s been hanging out with McG too long” and ended up a bit confused about what was reality and what was made up.

    OK, notes:

    1. The bathroom scene. So much love for this, not just for nekkid reasons.

    2. This whole scene talking about Lola is weird. It would have been more funny if she’d been played by anyone else.

    3. Beth’s girls look fabulous, but need sunscreen. Either that or she needs to match the neckline of her dresses to her bikini.

    4. Josef sniffing!

    5. Mick’s books are:

    Empire Falls – Richard Russo
    Stonehenge – Bernard Cornwell
    Spring Moon – Bette Bao Lord
    The Afghan – Frederick Forsyth
    Couldn’t make out the last one.

    (I was bored after the episode finished. Sue me.)

    6. Surely if the drug is lethal it doesn’t matter that it’s not illegal? I mean, bleach isn’t illegal but you’re still not allowed to kill people with it.

    7. Mick looks TERRIFIED of real Beth. And I love the way she says ‘Can you feel me?’ just before she touches up the gecko. No, Beth, that’s you feeling him, you lucky beeyatch. But I love EVEN MORE the way that the next day she is NOT IN THE SLIGHEST BIT EMBARRASSED. Find a way to bottle that and sell it, Beth, you’ll be minted for LIFE.

    8. Holly looks like she’s having far.too.much.fun with this fight scene. What do you think he’d done to deserve it? I’m thinking ‘not done the washing up four days in a row’. Also, I love your ‘Lola’s derp face’ screencap. She just wasn’t menacing at all, was she? Bless her.

    9. Oh, except she’s not having so much fun now though. Bubble. Bubble.

    I liked this episode, it was lots of fun. Infant – I think the hair makes him look older. Yet one more reason to hate the hair.

    Posted by Alicia | July 2, 2012, 5:31 am
    • 8. When I was screencapping this episode, I realized that outfit Holly/Lola was wearing was not complimentary to her at all. At. All.

      RE Mick seeing Beth naked, I had been thinking that all along but this time I realized that Beth wasn’t passed out or anything. She was just inebriated. He could easily (and most likely) just tossed her the shirt after the shower scene (unnnfff) and left the room while she changed.

      Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 2, 2012, 6:34 am
      • I’m going to stick to the Mick has seen Beth naked story. I like it better 😉

        Posted by heymomo | July 2, 2012, 8:54 am
      • Damnit!

        But then… with his vamp superhearing he would have heard the dress hit the floor… so the moment she was naked he would have known… and if Beth was that out of it, it would have taken her a while to get the shirt on… so that’s possibly whole minutes of Mick knowing that she’s starkers on the other side of the door and not being able to go in there because she’s off her head… and wondering whether at any moment she might actually come out of the bathroom with nothing on because she’s gone strumpet again… cue lots of emo angsty goodness…

        You know, I’m happy either way.

        Posted by Alicia | July 2, 2012, 9:45 am
      • The Holly/Lola outfit is an amalgam of everything they thought a cliche lady vampire would wear. I think they could have done better, but she’s really not in that many scenes, physically, it just feels like she’s in the whole episode because Josef & Mick don’t talk about anything else!

        Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 2, 2012, 9:56 am
      • I’m gonna stick with Mick’s seen Beth nekkid. It fits in better with my pointy-headed fantasies.

        Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | July 2, 2012, 10:10 am
    • “3. Beth’s girls look fabulous, but need sunscreen. Either that or she needs to match the neckline of her dresses to her bikini.”

      I am convinced ML Wardrobe hated Sophia, especially in the last four eps. Some of the clothes they put her in, my grandma wouldn’t have worn, and really? They couldn’t have blended in her tan line?

      Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | July 2, 2012, 12:02 pm
  3. “Question: when Josef woke Mick up did Mick say “Tell me it’s not twilight?” because if he did, then much as I like the perpetual coolness line, I like this one more. (They were going to call it Twilight, weren’t they?)”

    He did and yes I had read they were going to call it Twilight until some other thing came out with the same name. You know I actually used to like that movie? Well I think I still do like the first one, the rest not so much.

    “3. Beth’s girls look fabulous, but need sunscreen. Either that or she needs to match the neckline of her dresses to her bikini.”
    LOL I did not notice this. I was too busy being intimidated by Sophia. 😉

    “5. Mick’s books are:”
    Thanks! I love knowing stuff like this! #willnotsueyou

    Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 2, 2012, 6:00 am
    • I quite liked the first one. I go to see them with a friend who’s a film studies teacher. She’s always terrified one of her students will see her there. 😉

      Yay that you like the books too! I wonder whether they’re supposed to be books Mick would actually read or whether they just got a random lot of books, shoved them on the shelves and assumed no-one would be tragic enough to pause the playback so that she could read the spines and then look up the bits she couldn’t make out on amazon. Ahem.

      Posted by Alicia | July 2, 2012, 9:52 am
    • Sophia is so pretty. SO PRETTY. When she’s walking up to the club and the camera starts with her shoes & pans up I get stuck on her ankles. She has great ankles.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 2, 2012, 10:14 am
    • You can actually see the pilot when it was “Twilight” on youtube.

      Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DwlNTKdXUiQ
      Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0qBBPPF1sY

      I downloaded it and put it on DVD a long time ago to add to my Moonlight collection. If you haven’t seen it, I’ll warn you, it’s nothing like Moonlight, and when they vamp out it gets a little ugly.

      Posted by Lorraine Pearl | July 5, 2012, 8:44 am
      • Thanks Lorraine, I’ve heard about the original pilot, but never seen it. I’ll have to watch it when I’m feeling brave!

        Posted by Alicia | July 5, 2012, 1:02 pm
        • You’re welcome, Alicia.

          Ooh, I just noticed your “free the gecko” avitar. Love it. I assume I’m not the only one around who wants to lick that lizard. Oh, that could be taken so many ways.

          And while we’re exploring the tattoos, I want to see where that new back tat ends when it wraps around and dips down in the front. Who’s with me?

          Posted by Lorraine Pearl | July 5, 2012, 1:27 pm
  4. I love this episode. Like, real love.

    1. I love Beth’s attitude shooting the models. *fist bump*

    2. Josef pounding on Mick’s coff…I mean Freezer. why is that creepy that Mick sleeps in the freezer nude? Why does Josef have that creepy look on his face?

    3. Mick “You need my help”? Josef ” don’t make me say it again” – Mick 1 Josef 0

    4. Mick “that’s what you get for dating older women” Josef ” better than dating a human”…OUCH! Mick 1 Josef 1

    5. Mick “did you give her your password or something?” Josef – “it’s embarrassing!” Mick – “I don’t even want to know.” <<<your faaaace, Mick! Your face! lol

    6. The first time we really see some humility from Josef. I like!

    7. Mick "Vampires can't really be trusted with pets." LMAO!! Poor Fido.

    8. Wow, Mick. What a big……..needle you have there. *cough*

    9. Mick looks really pretty in this episode…and Mick in that silver/grey dress shirt. Unnnfff

    10. OUCH!! Mick said, "she" when he was looking for someone at the club and Beth copped an attitude. yikes!

    11. Beth "just being human is so lame!" Mick "I know…but you wear it well." UGH.. FLR.

    12. Lola – "I know you've looked at him and wondered….what does it feeeeel like?" (Beth?? probably not…ME? I wonder all the time)

    13. WHAT TF was up with roughing Mick up at the club? Just uncalled for. Bad Josh. Bad copper. He never did anything to you.

    14. Hey Josef, remember when you told Mick that he really screwed up and he needed to fix it? Yeah, um…this is your time, bub.

    15. Beth – "do you feel like this all the time?" Mick – "I dunno… I doubt it." <<<BEST DELIVERY EVER!!

    16. The shower scene. So s/xy….

    17. Now he's face touching. I hate him.

    18. Mick – "they say it gets easier the longer you live. I hope that's not true." Beth – "I'd think you would want the opposite." Mick – "to forget what it's like to be human? No way, never." <<<It was here. At this very moment I was a goner forever. Stick a fork in me, I'm done. No one will ever make me emo like Mick.

    19. Beth – "I was wearing that? That's not me at all…." Um, Beth. Who's dress was it then? did you steal it?

    20. Beth – "I have some apologies to make…" – yeah start with Mick, babe! You s/xually frustrate him and then you leave!

    21. Alex does this thing…this very subtle thing with his hands where he rubs his fingers together as he's thinking. So subtle but so powerful. He does it as McG and as Mick.

    22. Josh, I really don't even want to see your face right now. Goodbye.

    23. Beth, do you remember the way they treated Mick at the club? WHY TF are you kissing Josh? I’m kinda mad at you right now. Very mad.

    24. Mick and Josef at the end. Total. Perfection. Fell in total love with Mick here and the humility of Josef here really struck a chord.

    Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 2, 2012, 6:10 am
    • 13. Perhaps he’s acting out on some repressed anger towards Mick for being around all the time and being Beth’s new besty? I always felt bad for Josh. It never looked to me that he did anything to deserve Beth falling for another guy.

      Posted by spurschick | July 2, 2012, 6:20 am
      • I felt bad for Josh for most of the series but times like this I didn’t like him one bit. Mick was nothing but a gentleman to Beth and never did anything to deserve being roughed up in the club by Josh’s copper goon. There is no excusing that, it was misplaced anger and pure ugliness on Josh’s part. For crying out loud, Mick has even helped the stupid copper and Josh in epi 4 when Josh’s @ss was on the line for the missing girl.

        I give no leeway to Josh on this one and none to Beth for at least not saying to him in the end, “I made a mistake, but you need to apologize to Mick before I forgive you.”

        Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 2, 2012, 6:29 am
    • “20. Beth – “I have some apologies to make…” ”

      Do not EVEN get me started. I love you, Beth, but good god, girl, you need a spanking for f/cking with our Mick here. Figured the first one she should apologize to is Mick for barging into his apartment after taking a drug she knew killed three people.

      Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | July 2, 2012, 8:26 am
      • I really feel she was not f/cking with our Mick here…..she was serious and wanted some action….it was him refusing her (because he is a gentleman of cause and was not interested to take advantage of a drugged girl)

        And she did research drugs before she took it….and then only took a little of it. Those 3 girls that died was going overboard and taking to much of it…..there were many users and not all of them died.

        Posted by FOYeur | July 4, 2012, 11:36 pm
    • Beth – “do you feel like this all the time?” Mick – “I dunno… I doubt it.” <<<BEST DELIVERY EVER!!
      I ALL CAPS AGREE. That line and how he says it and the look on his face slay me every time.

      Posted by heymomo | July 2, 2012, 8:58 am
      • I knew there would be good Mick lines I didn’t mention!!
        What was the point of that drug??
        Also, I have to second “taking a drug she knew killed three people.” What a DUMB DUMB move, Beth. I’m sure Mick & Josh both would have been pleased to find you dead at your desk from ingesting silver because it was done in the cause of researching a news story. I mean really! All because Lola got in her head and peer pressured her into it? 😦

        Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 2, 2012, 9:48 am
    • No one will ever make me emo like Mick.

      Pretty much. Kind of sums it up 100% perfectly.

      19. It kind of looked like a slip! Maybe she went out and bought it… shopping under the influence?

      24. That Mick & Josef scene really was perfect. Mick killed a 500 year old woman — yeah, he probably feels bad about that, and I totally get why. And Josef was really great about being understanding & yet still sad she’s gone — no recrimination to Mick like “couldn’t you just have staked her & dragged her out?” What happened, happened & they’re both just in awe a little bit, letting it soak in. Really good.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 2, 2012, 10:05 am
    • “13. WHAT TF was up with roughing Mick up at the club? Just uncalled for. Bad Josh. Bad copper. He never did anything to you.”

      I took it as he’s just busted his girlfriend out with the guy who she drops everything for at a moments notice. I would think he senses that something is going on and his actions in this scene are just a reflection of that.

      “19. Beth – “I was wearing that? That’s not me at all….” Um, Beth. Who’s dress was it then? did you steal it?”

      I have a top in my closet that Sheila convinced me was a good idea at the time that is so not me…I’ve never worn it…. and yet it still lives there in hope that I will one day act my age and not my shoe size. 😛

      Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 4, 2012, 1:57 am
      • 13. It’s also that he’s mad at Beth, full stop. He takes her home & doesn’t get all up in her face about Mick right away it’s “I asked you to drop that case.” So I think Mick got a little of Josh’s deflected anger & stress towards Beth. Not saying it’s right, but I think Josh was mad at Beth and Mick made a convienient target.

        Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 5, 2012, 9:56 am
  5. B.C. – my absolute favorite ML episode. The whole thing just worked for me.

    This whole series could have been about Mick and Josef and I would have been just as satisfied and captivated…although the shower scene would have been a tad awkward.

    We get all kinds of Mick here – the one that teases Josef, that’s cranky at being woken up (and for the love of God, man, tighten up your security system! It’s like a sieve!), that’s all teeangery-angst when he runs into Beth at the morgue, Mr. Peptual Coolness, that FACE in Club Valis, and the one that’s tempted by Beth on Black Crystal…Alex runs the gamut here and man, does he do it well.

    Lola – cheesy, yes…but she made it work for her.

    Back to shower – Sophia and Alex sold it. Rang it up, bagged it and left the store with it. Sooooo much smoldering tension and temptation. But…the morning after dialogue was obviously written by a 14-year boy (“your clothes were wet, but they’re dry now” – REALLY? Thank you, Captain Obvious).

    The ending? Refer back to my earlier Mick and Josef comment. Lovely, lovely, lovely.

    Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | July 2, 2012, 9:16 am
    • “Back to shower – Sophia and Alex sold it. Rang it up, bagged it and left the store with it.” – paid for it with cash!!

      “Sooooo much smoldering tension and temptation.” – this can be sooooo much better than just a s.x scene and this is one of those times IMO.

      Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 2, 2012, 9:51 am
  6. My random thoughts on episode s/x:
    – I need a towel to wipe off the gushing sarcasm Beth just threw at the screen.
    – I appreciate that TPTB allowed Mick to have a tanned bod.
    – The dialogue between Mick and Josef is sooooo good, but I am in awe and truly thankful to have that much time ti view the glorious chest fur. Wow. Just wow.
    – On the bathroom wall behind Josef, there’s some strange contraption with a red blinking light. What is that?! It’s across the room from the freezer and it doesn’t look like an on/off switch.
    – In Mick’s office, there is an hourglass behind Josef’s head that looks like there is some red sand at the mouth of the funnel that had been suspended in time.
    – OMG. Mick’s expressions in this episode. The screengrab of him watching Beth walk towards the club makes me twitchy in my nether regions.
    – I’m probably the only one who thinks that dress looks horrible on Beth. It could be the poor placement of that red belt. The blood drop necklace is a comical touch and a bit too cliche for my taste.
    – How did Lola hook up with Josef? I know he’s a powerful vamp, but she would eat his lunch.
    – Holly really wore the sh/t out of that dress at the club.
    – I know I’m in the minority, but I totally get why Josh is pissed and I don’t blame him for being a d/ck to Mick. He’s already questioned where Beth’s head is at and, from his point of view, it APPEARS that Mick is making the moves on his girlfriend. Granted, WE know that he isn’t, but Beth is being a major tease by not keeping Josh in the loop and not being honest with him. Oh, and kissing Mick on the roof.
    – I’m glad they explored getting high on vamp blood. I don’t remember what other vampire stuff was going on when ML aired, but True Blood has devoted quite a bit of time exploring vamp blood as a drug that people get addicted to. It’s an interesting theme on the show, IMO, and I almost wish we would have seen more on this on ML.
    – Josh’s office isn’t anywhere near as intimidating as the blue interrogation room and Josh is no McG.
    – The black crystal dress on Beth is sooooooo much better.
    – It’s too bad that vamps don’t feel that good all the time.
    – Still love that Beth is walking up to a bedroom that doesn’t exist. That would make an oustanding deleted scene.
    – I still don’t understand how water is going to help sober her up.
    – Love that Mick literally gave her the shirt off his back.
    – Why do the guys working on the black crystal have to be in full hazmat gear? It’s vampire blood and silver. I guess the silver has a lot of dust particles?
    – I don’t remember Mick’s coat having pink lining.
    – Why does Mick’s hair get wet when he vamps?
    – So, Lola didn’t die in the tank, she was just immobilized. Then the fire killed her. For some reason, that alluded me before.
    – The straight alcohol will forever confuse me. I’ll chalk it up to vampire show liberties.

    Sniff count: Actual sniff – 1; There was also a full smell by Mick when he finds the room with the drums of silver and there was slight sniff by Josef when he puts his nose directly into the black crystal vile.

    Line of the ep:
    “I’m looking for someone.” – Josef
    “You think they’re in here?!” – Mick

    Posted by spurschick | July 2, 2012, 10:46 am
    • All the lines mentioned here … Fantastic !

      Also for me .. Mick, slo-mo in the alley, working the long coat – makes up for the shortage of sniffs.

      Posted by Stalker! (lb) | July 2, 2012, 5:43 pm
    • “You think they’re in here?!” – ACA – great line, great delivery. I wish I was in there with you, Mick.

      Posted by annieoakley | July 4, 2012, 9:16 am
    • – Still love that Beth is walking up to a bedroom that doesn’t exist. That would make an oustanding deleted scene.
      – I still don’t understand how water is going to help sober her up.
      – Love that Mick literally gave her the shirt off his back.
      I am so with you on all of this………

      Posted by FOYeur | July 4, 2012, 11:46 pm
  7. I also don’t mind Josh in this episode. He’s got to be jealous that his girlfriend is hanging out with Mick so much. I kind of feel for him and can understand him being a bit of a jerk to Mick.

    It’s nice to see Josef squirm a little and have a little humble pie.

    One liners galore…“Perpetual coolness is the vampire’s curse”… and his face when he says it…that smirk, OMG. And when Beth says “Being human is so lame” and he says “But you wear it so well”…total panty destroyer.

    I think I’m in the minority in not loving the shower scene. Maybe it was the music they were playing, maybe it was Beth saying ‘turn me’…I don’t know, something about it just didn’t work for me. *Ducks and runs for cover.*

    Picky picky…If the dress is ‘so not Beth’, what was it doing in her closet? It’s not like she stopped at the store to pick up a new dress on her way because that would just delay her from getting to Mick’s and that would just be stupid.

    When Mick said he didn’t want to forget what it’s like to be human I felt so bad for him. He’s such an emo vamp.

    Aside from a little bit of eyeliner under her eyes Beth looks great even after being in the shower. She’s so damn pretty. Seriously, she looks airbrushed.

    Steph, Please NEVER exercise moderation when screencapping an episode….EVAH!

    Posted by JDD | July 2, 2012, 5:44 pm
  8. Alex’s comments on B.C. episode 6.

    Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 3, 2012, 8:42 am
  9. First, ESS, I also loved the silver/grey shirt! Wow! High fives to the wardrobe dept. for that. Absolutely perfect color for a “winter”.

    Love how Josef sort of peeks at the goods before turning around to get the towel.

    Favorite line: “turns out the high is — us”. Although “coolness” is a close second and the smile he gives her after he says it, yikes

    Mick biting his lower lip as Beth leaves after telling him she’ll meet him at the club. And the way he watches her leave — MELT! (and not due to our 97 degree heat!)

    Black Crystal Beth sliding her hand across his chest and almost inside his shirt. Think my DVD is getting a bit worn in that spot.

    Micks comforting touch of Josef’s shoulder as he passes — and Josef’s shimmering eyes. Squeezes my heart.

    Definitely one of my fave episodes.

    Posted by karin@notmcnerd | July 4, 2012, 12:15 am
  10. Don’t know if you all know but Holly also auditioned for the role of Beth….and thankfully did not get it.

    Alex was not aware that Holly auditioned for the role of Lola, until she got cast

    Beth was actually wearing one of Mick’s shirts the morning after…..he was wearing it earlier, when Josef came around

    I don’t not really like this episode as much as the others

    Maybe Josh was showing his true colours….maybe he was too good to be true?….just saying

    I know I am one of only two of us on this, but I haven’t changed my mind on it yet. The shower scene was the worst show of chemistry between Beth and Mick in the whole series….for me the “acting” was too forced……they could have done it so much better….and I have given my ideas on that on Sardonic as follows:
    I would have liked them to face each other, Beth trying to undress him. Mick pulling her hands away and putting it behind her back, and by doing so pulling her closer. She then tries to kiss him, whispering to him “turn, me turn me”. Exposing her neck to his mouth and him actually contemplating the idea and then with the impressive self-control that you mentioned, turning his head away ….to me that would have given them a better chance at proper acting for the scene…something like that would have DONE IT steamier to me!

    I am sure Mick has seen Beth naked before……he has been “watching” over her for 22 years, and vampires can jump high and reach places others can’t get too….. 😉

    I think Lola has never really been a good person in her 500yrs…..a pirate army….really? Maybe her demise has been long overdue?

    The one (well actually many) thing that saves this episode for me big time……Mick’s FACES!!

    Posted by FOYeur | July 4, 2012, 11:07 pm
    • Have to ACA about the shower scene, FOYeur. Your scenario is so much more credible — and erotic. The downstairs scene was pretty steamy, but the shower thing never did it for me.

      Posted by karin@notmcnerd | July 4, 2012, 11:59 pm
    • FOYeur, Now that would’ve been a shower scene.

      Posted by JDD | July 5, 2012, 3:29 am
    • “I would have liked them to face each other, Beth trying to undress him. Mick pulling her hands away and putting it behind her back, and by doing so pulling her closer. She then tries to kiss him, whispering to him “turn, me turn me”. Exposing her neck to his mouth and him actually contemplating the idea and then with the impressive self-control that you mentioned, turning his head away ….to me that would have given them a better chance at proper acting for the scene…something like that would have DONE IT steamier to me!”

      You know what, I always loved this scene, but the way you rewrote it… If only they’d done it that way. It would have been amazing. Thanks for the visual! I’ll be grinning all day now.

      Posted by Lorraine Pearl | July 5, 2012, 8:56 am
    • *fans self* is it hot in here? Or is it just Mick?

      Posted by Alicia | July 5, 2012, 12:46 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Moonlight Monday – B.C. #alexoloughlin « H50BAMF Tumblr - July 2, 2012

  2. Pingback: Almost a Fantasy (Sonata) « Junk Kicker's #H50 Junk Drawer - September 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 303 other followers

