§
you're reading...
Moonlight

Let the Proof Remain (The Ringer)

1950s Coraline

You, who like a dagger ploughed
Into my heart with deadly thrill:
You who, stronger than a crowd
Of demons, mad, and dressed to kill,

Of my dejected soul have made
Your bed, your lodging, and domain:
To whom I’m linked (Unseemly jade!)
As is a convict to his chain…

~Charles Baudelaire, “The Vampire”

1950s Mick

This week’s episode gives us a look at a human Mick St. John, meeting Coraline for the first time, as well as provides some insights into their early and tempestuous relationship, which we already know resulted in marriage, and Mick being turned into a vampire on their wedding night. And so the episode begins…

A devastating fire in a downtown Los Angeles hotel draws Mick to the scene, ready to assist in any way he can. Already there are Beth, reporting on the story, and Morgan, a crime photographer who’s new in town. However, to Mick’s intense shock and dismay, Morgan eerily resembles Coraline – Mick’s vampire ex-wife, who he killed back in 1985 after she had kidnapped Beth.

In his distress, Mick reaches out to Josef who attempts to calm Mick and counsels that if Morgan didn’t give off the vampire scent, she must not be a vampire and therefore not Coraline. Even so, the similarities are so uncanny that Mick is highly troubled.

Morgan’s apartment is robbed and Beth recommends Mick track down the thief. Mick’s torment and obvious fixation on Morgan eventually make Beth suspicious. However, Mick is hesitant to trigger Beth’s repressed memories of her childhood kidnapping by discussing Coraline in depth.

In spite of all the evidence, Mick can not shake the idea that Morgan is indeed Coraline and begins to suspect that this series of crimes has been staged as a trap for him. Although Josef is worried about his friend’s state of mind, he follows the trail of clues with Mick and continues to provide support, counsel and a little bit of “tough love” in the form of his best no-holds-barred advice.

However, Josef’s words fall on deaf ears. A violent showdown at the cemetery leaves Mick in doubt of his original conclusions about Morgan and later that evening, he makes a shocking revelation to Beth.

Not that I bid you spare her the pain!
Let death be felt and the proof remain;
Brand, burn up, bite into its grace–
He is sure to remember her dying face!

~Robert Browning, “The Laboratory”

Well! What an episode. A lot of “setting the stage” for the continuation of the story of Mick and Coraline’s relationship, and a long look at a side of Mick’s intense and passionate personality we hadn’t seen prior to now. This episode also touched on his feelings for Beth and his guilt over Coraline’s death – All the while, in a series of three or four conversations between Mick and Josef, cuts right to the heart of Mick’s wishes to be human again and wish for a “cure” for his Vampire state. Lots going on, and here are four of my favorite moments:

1. Mick: What do you remember from when you were four? Josef: Well, it was 1603, Mick, it’s reasonable it’d be a little hazy. So! I infer Josef was born in 1599 — the same year as Oliver frickin Cromwell!! This fact may be meaningful only to English history buffs and/or fans of this film or maybe just me.
2. Morgan: I’ve got this ’50s thing I’m trying to shake. Laying it on a little thick there, eh Morgan? Which of Morgan’s head games with Mick did you find most despicable? The staging of the murder, the tattoo, the book, the music, etc.?
3. Josef is the snarky star of this episode, being petulant, sarcastic and plain-spoken all in turn. Which of his smartass lines were your favorite?
4. Mick: I work for an insurance company, I get it. Mick! Hi! I also work in insurance! Not P&C, but… Oh wait, you don’t really work in insurance. Nobody as cool as you works in insurance…

And I leave you with this parting shot… arguably the sexiest cap in the episode (I say that, but I won’t argue too hard, promise):

Oh yeah.

About SJ2

I am good with: Details, Bad Ideas, Hilarity, Sarcasm and Overthinking! I kid because I care!

Discussion

92 thoughts on “Let the Proof Remain (The Ringer)

  1. Love this, really loved it.

    Posted by Wanda | July 9, 2012, 5:04 am
  2. My comments on Ringer:

    1. LMAO at Mick just walking up and pulling the handle down on the fire hydrant.
    2. Hey, Beth got a new cameraman…I liked the old one better
    3. Baby faced Mick….somehow that deep, sexy voice looks so wrong coming out of that baby face! So Wrong!
    4. Riiiight. Cuz the “murderer” would know that YOU, Cora…Morgan, had caught him on camera comitting murder. This was a stupid plot thinking the murderer was after Morgan. How would he have spotted her?
    5. Beth putting her hand on Mick’s at Buzzwire….A w k w a r d
    6. Yes, Mick. Beth IS jealous. Because everyone in this show is fkd in the head and don’t know which way is up, who they’re in love with and who to be jealous of. 🙂
    7. Beth, I caught you checking out Mick’s ass as he walked away. You were not smoothe AT.All.COM
    8. Mick – “thats one of my favorite songs…how could you know that?” = because she’s playing you like a fiddle, Mick. Expertly.
    9. 1950’s Mick, why are you always putting your hands in your pocket when Coraline is around? **naughty boy**
    10. Mick “I could use another set of eyes…..and teeth.” – HOT (when he does that subtle biting thing I get all flustered)
    11. Josef “Why don’t you just let me in the door?” – LMAOOO!! I love you Josef. That is all. Oh….now I see. You’re really bad at that vampire jumpy thing. Ugh.
    12. Boy, they are BOTH really bad at that vampire jumpy thing.
    13. Josef “one of these days you’re going to have to stop hating what you are.” STFU JOSEF!! Nooooo!!! That’s what we love about Mick!!
    14. ….and now we know Morgan is really Coraline. Expertly showing how Moonlight gave us just the right amount of knowledge at the right times. **looking at you H50**

    Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 9, 2012, 5:51 am
    • 1. Yes! – and at the bat moves at the beginning.

      4. I didn’t notice this, but you are so right! Also, that photo was even more badly faked than the one in the spelunking episode.

      8. I could play you like a fiddle, Mick. Expertly. #justsayin

      11. I think this might have been the episode where I fell in love with Josef. I think I can pin it down to the exact moment when he tested the springs on the bed (although I don’t know WHY he was doing this). But yes, agree with you on the jumpy thing. I don’t think the angle they filmed it from helped much.

      This is my least favourite episode, because Mick behaved like such a jerk in present day AND 1950s that I found myself not liking him very much at all. Really, judging on what we saw in the flashbacks, is it any wonder that Coraline thought he’d be pleased to be turned?

      But still, moving on – episode 8! Sooooo looking forward to next Monday!

      Posted by Alicia | July 9, 2012, 6:41 am
      • Agreed Mick was a jerk. Well, I think he was a jerk in 1950’s but I kinda get why he was so flipped out and acted out of character in present day. WEll, ok….considering my rant against Josh last week,I’ll say it’s understandable but not excusable. (Will some of you judge Mick harsher than you judged Josh last week? curious…)

        I’m actually glad they showed this side of Mick. By this point he’s really close to be sainted. It’s time that they prove Mick’s statement that he wasn’t always so nice and that he had done some bad things in his past. This story was needed for the growth of his character.

        PS..when I wrote “done some bad things in his past”, I totally channeled Vincent from CM episode. FML.
        Life Ruiner.

        Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 9, 2012, 6:52 am
        • I think if it hadn’t been for the bit in the cemetery, the present day bit would have been OK (I recall ranting about this on Sardonic the last time I saw it. I think I probably won’t watch this episode again, which is a shame because Josef is stellar in it). I don’t think Mick or Josh behaved well the last couple of episodes, but I do agree that they had to give them flaws. Whatever the male equivalent of a Mary Sue is, they were both heading that way a bit.

          Vincent *weep* FLR

          Posted by Alicia | July 9, 2012, 7:15 am
          • I’m not even sure what a female Mary Sue is. 😉

            I don’t think roughing women up was Mick’s thing in the past or present. In the past, he threw a chair through the window…but in the end he was a lover not a fighter. (though you can probably imagine it wasn’t ‘sweet, sweet’ love that went down that night. I’m thinking it was probably more like S.X bootcamp style…)

            But the present day thing in the cemetary, just **moments** before, he was being attacked and nearly KILLED by a fellow vamp. He was probably still high on the adrenaline. Not an excuse…but a bit more understandable when put in context, I think. Especially when you have super vamp strength.

            You know, I barely noticed Josef in this episode. Too wound up over Coraline/Morgan, I think.

            Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 9, 2012, 7:32 am
    • 6. Yes, Mick. Beth IS jealous. Because everyone in this show is fkd in the head and don’t know which way is up, who they’re in love with and who to be jealous of. 🙂 – So, so true.

      10. Mick “I could use another set of eyes…..and teeth.” – HOT (when he does that subtle biting thing I get all flustered) – << This x a million

      Posted by spurschick | July 9, 2012, 7:10 am
    • “10. Mick “I could use another set of eyes…..and teeth.” – HOT (when he does that subtle biting thing I get all flustered)”

      YES. THIS.

      Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | July 9, 2012, 9:27 am
    • 8. Mick – “thats one of my favorite songs…how could you know that?” = because she’s playing you like a fiddle, Mick. Expertly. <– ACA. Coraline manipulated Mick throughout this entire episode. At the point that he went off the rails in the cemetery and she still didn’t reveal herself…well after that there is no redeeming her character for me. It was just cruel. I never really got what he saw in Coraline, even in the flashbacks. The only time I ever felt like I could understand the passion and why he so wrapped up in her was when he was describing the relationship to Beth at the end of the episode and said it was like a Fever. Oddly enough it was Mick talking about the relationship, without Coraline even being in the scene. Maybe I just never connected with the actress who played Coraline. Didn’t get that whole relationship….AT ALL.

      10. Mick “I could use another set of eyes…..and teeth.” – HOT (when he does that subtle biting thing I get all flustered) <–Glad I’m not the only one who thinks that’s kind of hot. I was beginning to think I was weird.

      14. ….and now we know Morgan is really Coraline. Expertly showing how Moonlight gave us just the right amount of knowledge at the right times. **looking at you H50** <–YES…all through this episode we didn’t know for sure if it really was Coraline or if Mick was nuts. Well played Moonlight, well played.

      Posted by JDD | July 9, 2012, 2:56 pm
      • “10. Mick “I could use another set of eyes…..and teeth.” – HOT ”
        Oh no I laughed HYSTERICALLY when that happened. And then when Josef showed his fangs I really was dying of laughter. Ugh if I saw that as a clip just by itself I would never watch ML. #yeahIwentthere

        Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 10, 2012, 4:10 am
    • 9. 1950′s Mick, why are you always putting your hands in your pocket when Coraline is around? **naughty boy**

      To me it is kind of a Alex thing……he does that a lot in real life!!….**naughty boy**?!

      14. ….and now we know Morgan is really Coraline. Expertly showing how Moonlight gave us just the right amount of knowledge at the right times. **looking at you H50**

      So true. They were really good and building the story….giving us building blocks each week, and only just enough at a time. Kind of why the story is so well loved in the end….whereas H5-0 succeeds in spite of messing it up big time.

      Posted by FOYeur | July 10, 2012, 3:09 am
  3. The worst head game Morgan played with Mick was the music IMO. It was just so out of no where and stupid. Ugh, I really wish I had liked the actress who played Coraline better. This story arc was so important and so well done….on Alex’s part. I just never connected with her as an actress. The character was great, the actress not so much and that took me out of the storyline a bit. Sad, but true.

    Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 9, 2012, 5:54 am
    • Morgan/Coraline strikes me as a completely challenging role for an actress to play. Not making excuses, but I can see how starting out… she might not have known what character notes to hit… we know, going forward, that the show kind of yanks around Coraline’s personal history, so maybe she didn’t really know exactly what to do with the role besides “act mysterious.” I am kind of neutral on Shannon as an actress. I haven’t seen her in anything else, to my knowledge.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 9, 2012, 9:54 am
    • I know I’m very much in the minority here, but I always liked the chemistry between Mick and Coraline better than that between Mick & Beth. There I said it!

      Posted by karin@notmcnerd | July 9, 2012, 11:16 am
      • To me mick/coraline and mick/beth is like apples & oranges! Hard for me to compare when each relationship is so different! But it’s totally legit to say “I prefer apples!”

        Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 9, 2012, 1:47 pm
      • ^^^YES. I’m with you.

        Posted by spurschick | July 9, 2012, 2:40 pm
      • It’s not just plain chemistry between Mick and Coraline – it’s incendiary. Pure flame, raw s*xual attraction. The connection with Beth is deeper somehow. Maybe because he saved her as a child? But that makes it sound yucky somehow, and it’s SO not – I dunno, I’m so confused.

        “10. Mick “I could use another set of eyes…..and teeth.” – HOT (when he does that subtle biting thing I get all flustered) <–Glad I’m not the only one who thinks that’s kind of hot. I was beginning to think I was weird."
        Oh no, you're not weird, not weird at all.

        Posted by AnnieOakley | July 9, 2012, 3:22 pm
  4. My random thoughts on episode Se7en (which happens to be one of my fave movies):
    – Hanging sit-ups with a shirt on? Shame on you, Show. Shame on you.
    – Beth does go through cameramen
    – I have real H8 for Mick’s 1950s look. I’m sooooo sad that he brought those sideburns with him throughout the years.
    – Morgan with straight hair and little makeup > Coraline with curly hair and too much makeup
    – The way that Mick looks at Morgan… asdfkljoasdkglh. Seriously.
    – Josef’s office is awesome.
    – The 30+ year marriage between Mick and Coraline. The possibilities are endless. FU CBS.
    – I get the whole “repressed” thing, but she always had a feeling that she knew Mick, so I would think that she would feel even stronger towards Morgan.
    – I love Beth’s outfit at Buzzwire.
    – Wasn’t that 50s party at Coraline’s house? Why was she always alone walking around? Not a very good hostess.
    – Mick’s expressions throughout this episode are unlike any other that I remember during the series.
    – I heart Josef. The entire B&E in the house is priceless.
    – The bite down… sigh.
    – Mick says that Coraline can’t stand to see him happy (with reference to Beth). Stop right there. How happy can he be when Beth still has a bfriend?
    – Mick didn’t smell the vamp in the cemetery?
    – Morgan is freaked out about his eyes, but not the blood dripping from his mouth?

    One of my all time favorite episodes of ML. I was far more intrigued by the dynamic between Mick and Coraline than Mick and Beth.

    Sniff count: 2
    Blow count: 1 – when Mick is taking fingerprints from Morgan’s loft

    Line of the ep: “You wanna get wet?”

    Posted by spurschick | July 9, 2012, 7:26 am
    • “Hanging sit-ups with a shirt on? Shame on you, Show. Shame on you.” – <<<THIS

      "The way that Mick looks at Morgan… asdfkljoasdkglh. Seriously." <<THIS!! I. Want. This.

      "The 30+ year marriage between Mick and Coraline. The possibilities are endless. FU CBS." <<So much left untold!! Like, how long did they date before they even got married? Was it impulsive and immediate? Or was there a time span? Coraline treated Mick like he was just the next schmoopy guy to come into her life to use and throw away on the pile of other men she's used. But instead she marries him and loves him SO MUCH that she turns him into a vamp so he can live forever! How did we get….there? FU CBS!!

      Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 9, 2012, 7:46 am
      • Schmoopy? Schmoopy! Please tell me you’re making reference to the classic Seinfeld episode.
        Mick: “You’re schmoopy.”
        Coraline: “No, YOU’RE schmoopy.”

        Posted by spurschick | July 9, 2012, 10:20 am
      • Yeah, the show usually put a “year” on the flashbacks, like when Beth is kidnapped & the Mick/Coraline wedding but there’s no such clarify provided on this party. I would think that the relationship was pretty whirlwind. After Mick passed Coraline’s test (and I do think she was pushing him to see how far he would go) of busting the window & then he probably met a few bedroom qualifications as well (oh geez) so yeah I’m voting for “it moved fast.” Coraline seems like kind of a control freak so being able to have Mick forever under her spell was probably a huge temptation to her.

        Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 9, 2012, 10:36 am
    • Wasn’t there a Josef sniff in there, too? Surely, if drinking’s involved, you can’t overlook anything! Or do only Mick’s sniffs get counted?

      Also H8 the 50s look. But present day Mick — oh yes!

      Loved Josef trying to make Mick listen to reason — to no avail.

      Actually, other than Mick being lovely to look at and the Josef scenes, didn’t particularly care for this epi. Probably one of my least faves.

      Posted by karin@notmcnerd | July 9, 2012, 11:08 am
    • – Wasn’t that 50s party at Coraline’s house? Why was she always alone walking around? Not a very good hostess.
      I think she was very alone, even at her own party (must have been giving them just for show)….it was not as if those people were her “kind”. Not like Josef’s party’s that were about vamps and freshies…..
      – Mick didn’t smell the vamp in the cemetery?
      I would suggest one of two things….he is a resently turned vamp, with little decay. Or there is such a smell of death and decay around the cemetery that it is hard to smell another vamp.
      – Blow count: 1 – when Mick is taking fingerprints from Morgan’s loft
      I love that you mention this….it also intrigued me…..

      For me the sniff count was at least 2 and a half…..he sniffed Coraline twice in the cemetery, at the end and the other one of cause, when he sniffed to recover the dead womens body…..to me a very unigue and beautiful sniff, photographed from below (beautiful screencap)

      Posted by FOYeur | July 10, 2012, 3:34 am
  5. I loved the Ringer. Loved Morgan/Coraline. Loved 50’s Mick (I’m a whore for flashbacks). Loved how jealous Beth was. Loved. Josef. Just so much love for this episode.

    I adore how easily Mick’s cage can be rattled, and even though I like Beth, I kinda dig how she’s really on the outside looking in with this episode. The whole episode could be titled “The Deconstruction of Mick St. John”, because that’s exacty what happens through the whole thing. Mick is slowly broken down from someone who’s reasonably happy to a man who’s obsessed with the ghosts of his past. And while Coraline/Morgan’s a fascinating character, I hate that she can do this to Mick.

    Mick is especially beautiful in The Ringer. #sigh

    Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | July 9, 2012, 9:25 am
    • Jen! You are the Birthday Girl so you get your way today… I agree with you that I loved Josef in this episode!! 😀 I mean I really loved him.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 9, 2012, 10:41 am
      • I LOVE getting my way!! 🙂

        *ahem*

        Some of the best Mick/Josef interactions are in this ep, and THANK. YOU. from the bottom of my heart for a) that screencap of shocked Mick and b) Josef and his fangs. Josef is FABULOUS when he gets to stretch his vampire muscles, and we didn’t get to see NEARLY enough of that.

        Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | July 9, 2012, 11:08 am
        • b) Josef & his fangs – I will admit I was trying to get Mick’s “teeth” comment screencapped (for the reasons everyone has mentioned above) when I happened to pause instead on Josef’s reaction. 😀 So, so happy I did! I agree with you, we didn’t get nearly enough of actually-a-vampire-Josef in these 16 episodes!!!

          2nd time watch through, my Josef apprecition is off the charts, which is saying something because I did NOT get him at all 1st time through, until near the end of the series.

          Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 9, 2012, 1:38 pm
          • #totalJosefagreement

            I liked that Josef was ruthless and sort of the anti-Mick, but the more they dug into his complexities, the more I liked him. His comfortable-ness with being a vampire was such a great counterpoint to Mick’s self-loathing, and made for such great interactions.

            Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | July 9, 2012, 2:33 pm
          • “we didn’t get nearly enough of actually-a-vampire-Josef in these 16 episodes”- I don’t think Josef wanted to be a vamp in that way which is why we didn’t get to see it. He often let Mick do the dirty work while he brushed the lint of his designer suit. I think Josef had evolved far enough along that he felt vamping out and getting involved in ‘that way’ was a bit beneath him. We really only saw him vamp out when Mick needed him as back up…or other things.

            Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 10, 2012, 6:11 am
      • Hmmm. Ah shit. Now i feel like i must rewatch becuase really, I don’t remember much about Josef in this epi other than to think he should have had a little more faith in his BFF’s instincts.

        Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 9, 2012, 12:47 pm
  6. You ladies have covered a ton already!!
    My randoms:
    -Much like Coraline, I have a 50’s thing, I’m just not trying to shake it. Which is why 50’s Mick and the whole scene at the party isn’t my favourite, because it isn’t quite right. Especially Coraline’s 50’s hair. Not quite right. Mick in the Hawaiian shirt though… well, I wouldn’t kick him out of bed for eating crackers.
    -In Steph’s 4 fave moments in pictures, in Morgan’s apartment, why is Morgan drinking champagne when she’s telling Mick and Beth about the man who stole her cameras? “Come over, check out my crime scene, I’ll just open the champagne”???
    -Photos of the murder in the fire = worst. photoshop. ever.
    -“Do you want to get wet?” is one hell of a pick up line.
    -Josef gets the BEST lines in this episode. (REWATCH for Josef, Ess, totes worth it!)
    -Mick biting… yes, the “another set of teeth” bite is hot. But there’s a second hot biting moment, in Mick’s office with Josef and Morgan, after Mick says “a match on her molars” he makes this biting motion. EEK!
    -Mick admits that Beth makes him happy. 😯
    -Event though the flashback wasn’t perfect, I generally love the set designer for this show. He/she always picked amazing pieces. I want the Wassily chairs in Beth’s glass house. Actually, who am I kidding, I want the glass house.
    -the vamp Mick fights at the cemetery is newly turned and therefore not very strong, ERGO, Mick should have had an easier time kicking his ass.

    Posted by heymomo | July 9, 2012, 6:35 pm
    • – after Mick says “a match on her molars” he makes this biting motion. EEK!
      I also loved this one even more than the first one……

      Posted by FOYeur | July 10, 2012, 3:46 am
    • -Mick & Josef were all over the teeth action in this ep, LOVED it!!!! ACA. I also click my teeth sometimes but I don’t think it quite has the same effect.

      -I also generally love the set designer for this show (shakes fist at prop crystal fire) except one time I paused on the scene where Mick & Josef are talking in Mick’s library area & that square-shaded lamp he has on the side of his arm chair is just… ugly.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 10, 2012, 3:31 pm
  7. My random thoughts:

    – Coraline is a sadist. She tormented Mick from the beginning of their relationship, who knows what she did while they were married, I imagine it’s wasn’t great given her track record. Then to come back into this life and screw with his head and heart like this. Sadist.
    – Morgan wears her USB stick on a chain around her neck? Must have missed that edition of Vogue (and every one before and after said issue :P)
    – Vampires have breath? (as seen by Mick when dusting for prints) Really? Interesting twist on the mythology/lack of understand of the mythology. 😛
    – 1950’s Mick is a love sick puppy who is creepy and stalkerish and I have no great love for this Mick. Throwing chairs through windows? Jeez. Grow a pair.

    Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 10, 2012, 4:23 am
  8. – Vampires have breath? (as seen by Mick when dusting for prints) Really? Interesting twist on the mythology/lack of understand of the mythology. 😛
    There is a question for me here….they do have breath and apparently in most mythology’s they do breath….to keep up appearances…but I think they don’t have to breath.
    Otherwise, how can they sleep in an airtight freezer….if they need air/oxygen?

    Posted by FOYeur | July 10, 2012, 5:39 am
    • It just seems conflicting to me. If they can’t consume food one assumes it’s because their bodies are unable to digest food. So if he can still breathe why do his lungs work and not his stomach?

      Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 10, 2012, 5:58 am
      • if he can still breathe why do his lungs work and not his stomach?

        He breathes, but his longs doesn’t work – from there my point that they don’t need oxygen. They just immitate the action of breathing.

        Posted by FOYeur | July 10, 2012, 6:11 am
        • But he doesn’t imitate it. At least not in this scene as you see the fog from his breathing on the window. So that’s actual oxygen. Lol what an interesting debate. 🙂

          Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 10, 2012, 6:15 am
          • He breathes in air and breathes out cold air, but there is no exchange of O2 to CO2……that is imitating

            Posted by FOYeur | July 10, 2012, 6:19 am
            • Gonna have to agree to disagree on this one. I don’t see how you can imitate breathing and then cause fog when your lungs dont take in air. The act of breathing involves your lungs. You can’t take on air without them. So either the body works or it dont. To me it’s inconsistent like show is with vamps consuming alcohol but I have seen both these things happen in other shows too.

              Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 10, 2012, 6:26 am
              • I am actally debating it because I am doing a “thing” on ML mythology and I want to work these things out…..so please don’t see it as argueing about it….I just want to get a clearer picture of it, and that is why I am throwing around the ideas with anybody willing.
                I see where we differ….I say cold air, you say fog…..fog will definitely be a result of Oxygen being exchanged for Carbon dioxide.
                You can actually take air into your lungs and breathe it out without the exchange happening,because it is not the exchange that cause action of breathing in and out but the mechanisms outside the lungs that cause it to happen…..from there my theory that they imitate the breathing by taking air in and out….without the actual prosesses happening inside the lungs.
                Fact remain, they don’t need Oxygen, otherwise they all will die in their freezer.
                So maybe if somebody can shed some light on, if he was breathing hot or cold air onto the door we will find an answer. 😀

                Posted by FOYeur | July 10, 2012, 8:51 am
                • WARNING FOR DISCUSSION OF DIGESTIVE PROCESSES. Ok I see where you are going with this… he is using his lungs like a bellows, just moving air in & out of them. Not actually breathing/converting Oxygen to CO2. I guess the corollary would be, if he swallowed a marshmallow, it would eventually just move through the body & come out the other end still intact & this is why vampires don’t eat solid food, not because they physically don’t have a mouth that connects to an esophagus that connects to a stomach but because who wants to sh/t out fried chicken or salsa fresca or even a milkshake? No one. Especially if you can’t taste the food either. Otherwise if Mick missed his prime rib so much he could take it, hold it in his mouth & then spit it out, right? If it were really rare, he might even get to take some nutrients from it, since we can assume Moonlight Vamps can eat animals (since they can’t be trusted with pets).
                  That being said, that is A LOT of extrapolation & I have to agree with Infant that the show sure made it look like he took in a breath and breathed out some super cold air (this would match up with the Twilight Sparkly Vamp Universe) in order to reveal the prints.

                  Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 10, 2012, 2:58 pm
  9. Such I lot has been covered already…but here goes on some of my thoughts:
    – One thing we must remember….Coraline is most probably not a very nice person.
    She committed arson and with it burned down a building that she knew Mick had some fond memories about and most probably killed a woman or got her killed in the proses….all just to get Mick’s attention. It was so elaborate that Josef thought it can’t be true….well most people would, but Mick knew her well. (Mick maybe also wanted it to be her…..because if she is still alive, it kind of would let him of the hook for killing her….a guilt he has been carrying for a long time (22yrs))
    If you think about it, she “murdered” Mick and made him into something without asking his permission. Maybe she was scared to ask him…because she knew what his answer would be and was scared to loose him….and then she lost him in any case….truly sad!!
    She was also prepared to ruin a child and that child’s mother’s lives, just to try and get Mick back.
    Therefor I think Shannon fit into the roll very nicely…..we didn’t like her and we were not supposed to……

    – Apparently the general Vamp appeal can kind of hypnotise people. Ad with that playing hard to get and you have a winning formula to catch the guy. And also for Mick to act out of character and kind of likr a lovesick a*shole. I have been thinking that this is also a reason why Mick is reluctant in his relationship with Beth….he wants it to be real and not just her going after the vamp (and his appeal…….)
    But I think somewhere along the line things turned on Coraline…..she fell just as hard for Mick and wanted to spend “forever” with him. It can’t be an easy discussion (think maybe his goodness, innocence and maybe the passion (or the FOY :wink:) caught her)……like we hear a lot in the series….forever is a long time and vamps don’t easily turn people just to have a companion.
    – The suggestion that he attended church with his parents every Sunday, might also be an indication on the moral compass that he carries and also the guilt that is haunting him about the things he had done and also the killing of Coraline. ( It is a burden his religious background placed apon him)
    – I just want to know, what did he mean in his last voiceover….did he surprise himself by not actually being disappointed that it was not Coraline?
    Or did his own insane behaviour of actually thinking it could be her surprise him?

    Posted by FOYeur | July 10, 2012, 8:30 am
    • re: Mick’s “disappintment.” I’m not sure, it could be either. He did say he didn’t that he would ever feel “that way” again, so upon reflection, it was a surprise, but I think Beth’s question had him thinking was he disapointed/not that Coraline was dead.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 11, 2012, 11:01 am
  10. Alex’s comments on The Ringer

    Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | July 10, 2012, 5:48 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Almost a Fantasy (Sonata) « Junk Kicker's #H50 Junk Drawer - September 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 302 other followers

