§
you're reading...
Moonlight

Take Your Last Embrace (Sleeping Beauty)

She was my wife.

Mick and Beth visit an unconscious Coraline in the hospital and discuss Mick’s feelings for his ex-wife and his hopes for the possibility of becoming human again. Beth expresses regret for striking out at Coraline.

I can’t believe I almost killed her.

Meanwhile, in New York City, a mysterious old man works with an assassin – their target: Josef. Back in L.A., relaxing with some friends over a poker game, the assassin strikes out at Josef – with lethal force.

“These violent delights have violent ends
And in their triumph die, like fire and powder…”
― William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet

Tonight was most assuredly not Josef’s night.

In the burnt remains of Josef’s office, an overwhelmed Mick begins his investigation, while over at Buzzwire, Maureen assigns the story of Josef’s murder to Beth, pleased with the personal angle Beth can bring.

Oh my god, that’s Josef…

A reluctant Beth arrives at the scene and Mick assumes she is there as a friend until he sees her cameraman. They argue and part ways.

I don’t really want to talk to you right now.

Mick receives a call from the hospital – Coraline is awake. He visits her and they discuss Josef’s death and the vampire cure. Coraline confesses her love for Mick but is reluctant to discuss the details of the cure, thinking Mick only wants it so he can be with Beth. Eventually, Coraline falls asleep and Mick takes a sample of her human blood before he leaves.

Coraline remembers introducing Josef & Mick back in the 1950s.

Returning home, Mick meets Beth who is waiting at his door. She apologizes for arriving at Josef’s office on assignment and he apologies for his reaction. Mick is highly emotional over the almost incomprehensible loss of Josef and Beth offers her support as they step inside Mick’s office…

You gonna help me find out who killed me?

Mick, Beth and Josef discuss the case thus far and when Beth and Mick head to Buzzwire to investigate a lead, a stir-crazy Josef is ordered to stay put.

Beth listens to Mick and Josef discuss why anyone would want to kill him.

Mick returns home to find Josef has invited a few freshies to his apartment for the evening. Mick sends them home and expresses his frustration with Josef’s lack of consideration for his own safety or for Mick’s wishes.

Mick wonders aloud if Josef has a death wish.

Meanwhile, back at the hospital, Coraline’s medical team is puzzled by her current condition and we soon learn why her vital signs are not reacting as expected…

Down girl!!

Josef, having left Mick’s apartment after Mick retired for the night, has made his way back to his office where he is approached by the assassin. Arriving unexpectedly, Mick subdues the attacker and Josef uses the commotion as an opportunity to make a quiet getaway. Mick turns the culprit over to the police.

Mick never had a partner to tell him he shouldn’t hang guys off of roofs.

Beth arrives at the scene with information that leads the investigation to New York and they make plans to travel immediately. Once in New York, they visit the aging and ailing Mr. Whitley, the man who put the hit out on Josef. Whitley informs them that 50 years prior, Josef, who he knew as Charles Fitzgerald, killed his daughter, Sarah. He gives Mick and Beth Sarah’s journal as proof of his claims.

Whitley talks about the “monster,” Fitzgerald.

Tracking Josef to a house in New York, Mick and Beth are presented with a shocking scene. Sarah is in a coma — and has been since 1955 — since Josef’s attempt to turn her into a vampire ended in failure. He has cared for her ever since, having fallen deeply in love with her over fifty years ago.

Sarah, Josef’s love.

“O serpent heart, hid with a flowering face!
Did ever dragon keep so fair a cave?
Beautiful tyrant! fiend angelical!
Dove-feather’d raven! wolvish-ravening lamb!
Despised substance of divinest show!
Just opposite to what thou justly seem’st,
A damned saint, an honourable villain!
― William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet

As Josef tells the story, the assassin, who escaped from the police back in L.A., strikes yet again. He stakes Josef, and finally, Mick kills him. In the aftermath, Mick tends to Josef’s wounds and they discuss the parallels between Josef and Sarah’s relationship with Mick and Beth’s. Josef wishes Mick better fortune with his human love than he had. Leaving the house, Beth gives Sarah’s journal to Josef.

Josef is staked.

Finally free to take advantage of their time together, Mick invites Beth out for a night on the town in New York. She reluctantly declines, having left L.A. on poor terms with Josh.

Beth needs to get home to make things right with Josh.

And Coraline finally awakens, Mick’s name on her lips, as her doctors rush to her bedside…

Mick!

So. This episode. Sleeping Beauty. So many thoughts & feelings. We learn so much about Josef and get further insights into Mick’s relationship with him and with Coraline. Josh even makes a short but crucial appearance. We see Mick be the closest to tears we’ve ever seen him and the happiest too — at least for a minute he is, anyway. Here are some of my parting shots:

He’s worried about Coraline. I’m worried I’m addicted to his face.

Mick the BAMF.

Grandpa Mick disapproves of your tattoo sleeves, Sam.

Whoopsie-doodle forgot I had a boyfriend!

He really loves her!

#TeamPolly All those years of working for Josef – vampire charm doesn’t work on her!

Can’t hide from Mick when he wants to find you. (Why on earth would you want to?)

I appear to have misplaced my ability to appropriately caption pictures.

Smitten Josef in 1955.

“O, here
Will I set up my everlasting rest,
And shake the yoke of inauspicious stars
From this world-wearied flesh. Eyes, look your last!
Arms, take your last embrace! and, lips, O you
The doors of breath, seal with a righteous kiss
A dateless bargain to engrossing death!”
― William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet

The question the episode asks is, how far would you go to be with the one you loved? Josef, as a vampire, from human perspective, is dead. To become a vampire you need to die and be brought back in a different way than you lived before. Would you die, risk death, risk eternal unconsciouness / purgatory / whatever to be with that person? Josef tried and failed and has been warning Mick off the same path. Call it hypocrisy call it protectiveness, Josef was looking out for Mick’s heart and Beth’s life. Though I don’t think either of them are at that point of trying yet, Mick’s certainly not willing to take that risk and Beth’s not in a place where she can. But the risks aren’t theoretical anymore, Sarah, lying there, makes them all crystal clear. Beth isn’t a vampire. And try as he might, Mick doesn’t even get the chance to pretend to be human, not even for one night.

No can do, captioning ability still gone.

About SJ2

I am good with: Details, Bad Ideas, Hilarity, Sarcasm and Overthinking! I kid because I care!

Discussion

47 thoughts on “Take Your Last Embrace (Sleeping Beauty)


  1. Bromance at it’s best?!

    Posted by FOYeur | July 30, 2012, 4:27 am
  2. RIP Steph’s captioning ability, cruelly cut down in the prime of its life by shirtless Josef and Mick’s faaaaaaaaace.

    I’d forgotten how good this episode was, it was one of those that just really WORKED. Notes now, will be back with feeeeeeelings later.

    Notes:

    1. Coraline doesn’t understand Mick at all does she? In all those years, she didn’t get that he never wanted to be – or came to terms with – what she’d turned him into.

    2. “You. Stay. Do not leave this apartment.” I probably don’t need to explain that one.

    3. The bad guy is Special Forces, which begs the question: who would win in a fight between Mick and McG, and how many FUCUPs would be capable of coherent speech by the end of it? Discuss.

    4. I love Josef. <— I have no idea what this comment was referring to, but it's still valid.

    5. The scene where Mick tells Josef off just cracks me up, especially the way he says "I'm going to bed" and also the fact that he says "I'm going to bed", given that where he's actually going is…. a freezer.

    6. Judging by how this guy is getting his a*s handed to him, I guess Mick would win #3. Love BAMF Mick!

    7. Hanging someone off a building to get them to talk. Good times. Good times.

    8. Useless Coppers are going to DIIIIIIE.

    9. "The only reason I became a vampire was so that I could live long enough to meet her." Can I coin the term 'grilled cheese' for lines like this, because it should have been the cheesiest cheese in the history of cheese, but it made me totally melt.

    10.Shirtless Josef asldkjsaldjskal. Stop it with your arms. #donteverstop

    11. I thought this was a good ep for the Mick/Beth/Josh triangle. They're still both trying to do the right thing. Most of the time, anyway. Not always successfully. Your 'oops, forgot I had a boyfriend' screencap made me laugh, lots.

    Posted by Alicia | July 30, 2012, 4:44 am
    • Our points are very similar lol it just took me that long to write mine other wise I would have ACA with our double ups.

      Also Steph, how do you know what quotes you want to use? I liked the ones you used today because like a lot of people, I have read Romeo and Juliet so actually got them this time. 🙂

      Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 30, 2012, 5:08 am
      • heh… to be honest it basically consists of zoning out staring at my bookshelf, thinking about the plot of the episodes and trying to figure out what it reminds me of. Then I spend a lot of time googling stuff. 😆 Then If I find an idea that gives me “Moonlight Feelings” in relation to what I’m writing I figure I’m on the right track & run with it.

        Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 30, 2012, 11:05 pm
    • – which begs the question: who would win in a fight between Mick and McG

      If Mick weren’t a vampire, McG would kick his a** in a heartbeat. Since Mick is a vampire, he would bite McG’s neck and the fight would be over. Hmmmmm…… McG as a vampire. Discuss.

      Posted by spurschick | July 30, 2012, 6:41 am
  3. I’m writing this on a borrowed iPad device. This is going to be interesting…

    1. Mick says to Beth, “she was my wife,” as though that explains everything. In Mick’s eyes this is a good enough reason. The guy is loyal to a fault.

    2. Only Josef would gamble with blood.

    3. “tracking says women 18-34 find you a little harsh,” as opposed to tracking finds women between 18-100 are jealous of you.

    4. Mick is dressed all in black and channels Johnny Cash.

    5. The scene when Mick returns home and finds Beth waiting for him and he tells her how he feels about losing Josef. I know from previous discussions some of you don’t like this scene but I do. I think Alex did a great job here.

    6. Josef and his sunnies channels Neo.

    7. Ess and I discussed this the other day, when Josef leaves Mick senses a disturbance in the force and wakes up.

    8. Mick gets beaten up by a human, but this is because the guy has had special forces training. Bet McG could take him down. Josef stands by and watches then disappears entirely. You go Josef.

    9. Dude owned half the upper east side? Is that even possible.

    10. It would have been interesting to learn why this turning went so bad. Hey CBS. FK U.

    11. Poor Josef.

    12. I love Alex’s longer hair. I love hair that covers your eyes a bit, which mine does. It’s how the emos roll. 😉

    Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 30, 2012, 5:06 am
    • 9. Dude owned half the upper east side? Is that even possible.

      Back in the dizzay, I think that kind of thing was pretty normal. There was nothing but land – swamp land, actually – and it was probably deemed as fairly useless, so developers would buy it up by the truckloads, build on it and become millionaires.

      10. It would have been interesting to learn why this turning went so bad. Hey CBS. FK U.

      ^^^^ This x a million gazillion to the nth power. And you can throw a pi in there.

      Posted by spurschick | July 30, 2012, 6:44 am
    • #7 – that makes me LOL. It was one of those funky camera angles, like the camera is UNDER the coffee table or something and so Mick comes halfway down the stairs & then ducks down to look around — like no one in real life would ever do, you’d just keep coming down like 4 more stairs so you could look around like a normal person.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 30, 2012, 10:19 am
      • I guess that Mick is anything but normal. Did he expect to see Josef and just turn around and go back up the stairs? Those last few steps equate to a lot of effort….. 😉

        Posted by Infant_Sardonic | July 31, 2012, 12:59 am
        • Well we know he was nekkid in the freezer (not that we saw anything below his chin) then he comes down the stairs in like this FULL LENGTH TERRY CLOTH ROBE — which kind of defeats the purpose, right? I don’t wear a bathrobe for *modesty* really, it’s because when I get out of bed I’m cold & want to stay warm. Mick *should* have the opposite problem… right? Is it an ice-lined robe? Geez.

          Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | August 1, 2012, 12:41 pm
    • 5. The scene when Mick returns home and finds Beth waiting for him and he tells her how he feels about losing Josef. I know from previous discussions some of you don’t like this scene but I do. I think Alex did a great job here.

      This might be my favorite scene in the whole series – when Mick says “I don’t think I know how to mourn…” wow, just wow.

      Posted by AnnieOakley | July 30, 2012, 12:24 pm
      • I also like that scene Annie, I felt it was very believable – lke Mick had been “maintaining” through all the crazyness of the Coraline stuff and then Josef dying on top of that…. he finally had a moment of quiet and it all came rushing out.

        Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 30, 2012, 3:17 pm
  4. My random thoughts on Episode X:

    – The look Mick gives Beth, and the tone that he uses, when he says “she was my wife” (as brilliantly captured above) – once again I will tread into the unpopular territory that is TeamCoraline and say that this very moment tells me that there was much more to that relationship than psycho bad crap. If she was all bad, he wouldn’t have confirmed that he still cared for her.

    – Ooooowee! That’s some good hair in the hospital!

    – What is the value of a vile of blood? Is AB- like a $50 chip, O+ a measly $20?

    – This is what I call Beth’s doghouse episode. Mick’s a little miffed at her (sort of) for staking Coraline and jeopardizing him finding out how she became human, he’s definitely miffed at her later for getting her buzzwire on at Josef’s place and then Josh is calling her on the mat for her play dates with Mick.

    – For some reason, I felt that AOL’s expressions were more mature(?) in this episode. I’m not sure if that’s the right word for it. It’s like he came into his own and there was real meat behind his expressions. Am I making any sense?

    – I heart Josef. Big, fluffy hearts.

    – Beth’s hair was up in the hallway outside of Mick’s apartment, then it’s down inside just moments later. Just something I noticed.

    – How ARE you still alive, Josef? We never did find out how you survived that explosion.

    – I love Sam’s hair! The purple streaks are very cool. This and mention of her tattoo sleeve begs the question… what kind of father would Mick have been? Having been born in the 20s, would he have been super conservative, or would his many years made him more open?

    – Did we ever know how old Josef was when he was turned? I’m assuming he’s younger than Mick.

    – So, where was Josef supposed to sleep? Does Mick have a guest freezer? Was he seriously just going to leave Josef to sleep on the couch and get all energy drained?

    – Aw man! Freezer shot with no gratuitous chest hair?! Why, CBS, why?!

    – Josef looks quite impressed with Mick’s ninja fighting skillz.

    – Beth is a bad girlfriend. There. I said it.

    – I heart Josef more. And more.

    – If old man Whitley knew that Josef could only be killed by fire, why did mercenary dude think that staking would kill him?

    – Why does Mick’s fang-on automatically mean bad hair?

    – I love how Mick just whips out a glass of blood for Josef. Like, where did that come from?! Does Polly keep the frig stocked?

    – Yay for Beth remembering that she has a boyfriend! Although, considering everything else, I’m surprised that she chose that moment to remember.

    – I felt bad for Mick though. He’s so confused, not knowing what do and his emotions got caught up in Josef’s story. He wanted to seize the moment and have some fun in NY with Beth. I am glad that show chose to acknowledge Josh.

    Sniff count: 1 (seriously?)

    Line of the ep: “Giving is different than receiving.”

    Posted by spurschick | July 30, 2012, 7:05 am
  5. Being a closet Josefite (not really – I just dig how ruthless he is), I loved this ep. Random side note: I have one of those blood vials from the poker game. It sits in my curio cabinet. My husband thinks I’m weird for displaying it.

    Interesting vamp conversation during said game. Better make damn sure you like someone before you Turn them, cuz you’re stuck with them for forever…and forever’s a mighty long time, according to Prince.

    I still would love to know how Josef survived the whole top floor of his office building getting blown to Kingdom Come and his two compatriots go up like Roman candles.

    While I enjoyed Coraline’s character, Beth should have shoved that stake in harder. And bless Mick and his gorgeous hair – Alex does a fine, fine job going from “shame on you for trying to kill my wife” at the beginning to “come on, let’s take a stroll and enjoy New York!” at the end. (I’ll get to how badly I wanted to beat Beth with a stick in a minute) Great emoting when Mick thought Josef was dead, and I laughed out loud at Josef’s inpromptu party and how disgusted Mick got with him. 400 going on 21 – just goes to prove that no matter how old men are, they never grow up.

    Note to self: Never rely on Josef in a fight. He will leave you standing there with a knife sticking out of your leg. (One of my favorite vampire Micks, BTW)

    Those shots of New York make me wish the show had been based there. I love L.A., but the grittiness of NY really appeals to me.

    Back to Beth and the stick-beating she so richly deserved. Here’s where her “Josh or Mick”? schtick started to get old for me. Bad enough she put a nice dent in Josh’s heart by leaving, then she totally shatters Mick by going back. I think I actually hated her for a minute – Mick looks so hopeful, so happy and she just sucks the wind right out of his sails. Bad Beth. Bad, bad, bad.

    Sarah has beautiful handwriting. And hair. Everyone’s having a good hair day in this ep.

    Shirtless Josef. It shouldn’t be so awesome…but it is.

    And if possible, I just fall more and more in love with Mick. He’s brokenhearted when he thinks he’s lost Josef, a little irritated when Josef’s not, a little disapproving of Beth and her tendency toward stakiness, TOTAL badass when kicking the crap out of Whitley’s assassin, a little smug when Josh leaves Beth’s apartment (cuz you know that vampire hearing caught that whole exchange between Josh and Beth) and so sweet and happy when he asks Beth to go out with him in NY.

    This ep is just a pockeful of win for me.

    Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | July 30, 2012, 9:43 am
    • I like Beth but I had some issues w/ her here too. First by leaving Josh high and dry to fly off with Mick and then leaving Mick in NY. I felt so bad for him as she got in the cab and drove away. “Whoopsie, forgot I had a boyfriend.” – indeed.

      Love that this ep had so much Josef! Would’ve liked to have seen more episodes about Josef. F U CBS.

      “I’m worried I’m addicted to his face.” – I think some addictions are perfectly healthy.

      Posted by JDD | July 30, 2012, 8:09 pm
    • This episode totally grew on me – I re-watched it & was kind of “meh” but then I re-re-watched a few key scenes & hopped around to grab screencaps to match my plot outline — and I really appreciated everything about it more than I did the first time around. I think echoing what you & others are saying — this is the ep that gets closest to being over the “soap opera-y” will she/won’t she line. If the back & forth had gone on like this, well, it would have been crap, but… this show isn’t that.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | July 30, 2012, 11:14 pm
    • Sarah also has beautiful skin and someone who does her makeup. Josef takes REALLY good care.

      Posted by heymomo | July 31, 2012, 7:36 pm
  6. #TeamPolly All those years of working for Josef – vampire charm doesn’t work on her!
    We do not really know, maybe she was also a vampire? 😀

    Otherwise it is exactly vampire charm that made her stay and do the job for so many years….not a lot of people would work for a Vampire like that for years and not spill any beans to their relatives about it, I think.

    Posted by FOYeur | July 30, 2012, 2:46 pm
  7. “Mick never had a partner to tell him he shouldn’t hang guys off of roofs.”

    I thought this same thing when I re-watched this epi. Ah, the good old days. Then I remembered back to seeing Steve doing it and thinking at the time, “Hey, he’s just like Mick.”

    Posted by Lorraine Pearl | July 31, 2012, 9:32 am
  8. Here I am! I even turned off the Olympics to watch some Mooney!! 😉

    Random notes:

    -Mick’s hair is particularly glossy in the hospital
    -I’ve said it before, but really, poker night with the guys with the fanciest vials of blood ever? What, no bags from the blood bank? Only fancy vials will do!
    -good explosions from a show that can’t do driving green screens right… maybe they got a better budget for these later episodes?
    -SO! Beth actually saved Mick’s life!! By stabbing Coraline, she made it so that Mick was at the hospital instead of at poker night! Beth FTW!
    -“incendiaries”. Say it again for me, Mick.
    -LOVE the scene with Beth waiting for Mick in the hall. Love that she waited there for him. Love the conversation they have in the hall. Love Mick getting all choked up. (I’m with you, Infant)
    -“assassin with access to military grade weaponry”. Well hello there McG. Didn’t know you’d popped in.
    -TINY SPOILER ALERT! why did they go to Sam? Mick has his own hacker… over to the parking lot.
    -Josef has learned not to have friends over when dad’s not home.
    -Mick says he’s going to bed instead of going to… freezer. (mind meld with Ess)
    -missed opportunity for shirtless freezer Mick. (mind meld with Spursy)
    -“you’ve already died once this week, isn’t that enough?” Mick gets the punchline!
    -Beth punching Mick in the arm before they get in the car… ad-lib or scripted?
    -NYC! I was just there!!!
    -why do tv diaries always have the same handwriting? Is there one person in Hollywood whose job it is to write in diaries in girly handwriting? Can I have that job?
    -love that Beth reads the text from Sam out loud, then shows the phone to Mick. Just in case he wasn’t listening.
    -I wonder if Josef has his own jar of bullets? Maybe it’s a bucket since he’s been around longer…
    -EMO ALERT! Beth turning down Mick’s suggestion to have fun in NYC is the most heartbreaking thing ever. Poor Mick!!

    Posted by heymomo | July 31, 2012, 7:35 pm
    • -SO! Beth actually saved Mick’s life!! By stabbing Coraline, she made it so that Mick was at the hospital instead of at poker night! Beth FTW!

      I. Never. Thought. Of. THAT! Way to turn that negative into a positive!

      Posted by spurschick | August 1, 2012, 7:50 am
      • ACA to it all and I guess her showing the phone was a ‘subway’ ‘cloud drive’ moment …maybe some type of product placement since it was so obvious. So many great points such as the girly writing, the universe disturbance that woke Mick when Josef left, fancy vials (how did you get one?), how much does #teampolly really know, and lastly mutual dislike of Beth at this time. She really is not doing any justice at all to Josh, and why not stay a while in NYC? It is a frickin’ cross country trip hours and hours long. It’s not like she ran down to the morgue again and is due back for dinner. What’s a few more hours? who goes all that way and then goes right back again without spending one night, she had luggage with her for crying out loud. Now, as devils advocate what would we be saying if she went off with Mick gallivanting around town. Would we be chastising Beth for leaving Josh at home and being out partying? Probably, but this is more fun.
        P.s. that faaaace
        P.s.s. incendiaries

        Posted by cvc | August 16, 2012, 9:32 pm
        • 😆 this comment makes me crack up. You are so SO right, Beth was in a no-win scenario. She’s a bad girlfriend to Josh. She’s got Mick’s heart on a string and does just enough jerking to keep him interested. But she’s probably not doing it on purpose. She goes back to LA to make things right with Josh. But then poor Mick! And around & around we go.

          Incendiaries!!!!! FTW!!!

          Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | August 17, 2012, 12:09 pm
  9. STEPH!! YOUR SHAKESPEARE CONNECTION DESERVES AN ALLCAPS OVATION!

    Posted by heymomo | July 31, 2012, 7:40 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Moonlight Monday – Sleeping Beauty #alexoloughlin #jasondoerhing « H50BAMF Tumblr - July 30, 2012

  2. Pingback: Almost a Fantasy (Sonata) « Junk Kicker's #H50 Junk Drawer - September 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 303 other followers

