§
you're reading...
Moonlight

Your Immortal Life (What’s Left Behind)

A young boy, Jacob Fordham, is kidnapped from his bedroom late one night – and Ben Talbot invites Beth to join the investigation, eventually offering her a job as a civilian investigator attached to the District Attorney’s office. Meanwhile, Josef and Mick return from a late night furniture shopping expedition and catch the kidnapping story on the morning news – and the location of the crime prompts Mick to make an appearance on the scene.

“Chance and chance alone has a message for us. Everything that occurs out of necessity, everything expected, repeated day in and day out, is mute. Only chance can speak to us.”
― Milan Kundera, The Unbearable Lightness Of Being

Overwhelmed by the memories brought back by the house in which the little boy was abducted, Mick insinuates himself into the investigation and rules out vampire involvement. They are unaware the kidnapper is just outside the home, watching their every move.

“When the heart speaks, the mind finds it indecent to object.”
― Milan Kundera, The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Later that night, Mick reveals the story of his connection with the Fordham family to Beth: his friendship and military service with Ray Fordham, his affair with Fordham’s widow Lilah, and Ray’s unexpected return. Mick suspects that Robert Fordham may be his son and Jacob his grandson. At his admissions, Beth is moved to tears.

“There is no perfection – only life.”
― Milan Kundera, The Unbearable Lightness Of Being

Searching the Fordham’s home, Mick and Beth discover an obscured entrance into the house, created while the home underwent renovation. The police are called in, and an investigation into the myriad construction workers who worked on the house project begins. Mick takes this opportunity to surreptitiously obtain a hair sample from Robert Fordham – he intends to determine if the man is indeed his son, using DNA testing.

“There is nothing heavier than compassion. Not even one’s own pain weighs so heavy
as the pain one feels for someone, with someone, a pain intensified by the imagination
and prolonged by a hundred echoes.”
― Milan Kundera, The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Mick is going through some of the contents of his army kit to provide a sample of his own human DNA when Josef drops by unexpectedly. Mick expects his cynical friend to laugh at his situation but to his surprise, Josef admits that the inability to have children is a drawback to vampire life. Mick and Beth take the DNA samples to the lab and put a rush order on the testing.

“It´s a good thing when a man is different from your image of him. Is shows he isn’t a type.
If he were, it would be the end of him as a man. But if you can´t place him in a category,
it means that at least a part of him is what a human being ought to be.”
― Boris Pasternak, Doctor Zhivago

Afterwards, Mick drops Beth off at the hall of records to search for the names of possible suspects while he returns to the Fordham house to further discuss the case with Robert. As the men talk, Mick comes close to admitting his suspicion that he is Robert’s father, but ultimately he says nothing. They finally narrow the list of names down until they zero in on their suspect – metal worker Ken Verdolino – who at that moment calls Mick to taunt him by threatening Beth. Mick rushes to Beth’s side.

“Love is the longing for the half of ourselves we have lost.”
― Milan Kundera, The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Now that the kidnapper has been identified, Beth and Mick call the police, but arrive at Verdolino’s home before they do. Mick follows Verdolino into an underground cellar, where he corners the kidnapper. Shockingly, instead of revealing Jacob’s whereabouts, Verdolino shoots himself. Mick then locates the young boy and brings him above ground to safety.

“True human goodness, in all its purity and freedom,
can come to the fore only when its recipient has no power.”
― Milan Kundera, The Unbearable Lightness of Being

The next morning, Beth brings the DNA results to Mick, who opens them in the car outside the Fordham’s home. As they drive away, Robert emerges from the house, holding a World War II era photo of his father… and Mick St. John.

“And why is it…that my fate is to see everything and take it all so much to heart?”
― Boris Pasternak, Doctor Zhivago

“You in others – this is your soul. This is what you are. This is what your consciousness has breathed and lived on and enjoyed throughout your life – your soul, your immortality, your life in others. And what now? You have always been in others and you will remain in others.
And what does it matter to you if later on that is called your memory?
This will be you – the you that enters the future and becomes a part of it.”
― Boris Pasternak, Doctor Zhivago

For Reasons having nothing to do with emo.

For me, this episode boils down to three statements from the principal cast.

Beth: “It wasn’t wrong if it was love. Was it love?”

“Only the most naive of questions are truly serious.”
― Milan Kundera, The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Josef: “It’s one of my only regrets. And I don’t believe in regrets.”

“I don’t think I could love you so much if you had nothing to complain of and nothing to regret.”
― Boris Pasternak, Doctor Zhivago

Mick: “No. This is the way it’s supposed to be.”

“How wonderful to be alive, he thought. But why does it always hurt?”
― Boris Pasternak, Dr. Zhivago

About SJ2

I am good with: Details, Bad Ideas, Hilarity, Sarcasm and Overthinking! I kid because I care!

Discussion

49 thoughts on “Your Immortal Life (What’s Left Behind)

  1. How are you zeroing in on these quotes?! You’re killin’ me! I am sooooo sad that there’s just one more episode. I can’t even begin to anticipate what you’re going to do with THAT little nugget.

    Random thoughts on the next to last episode…. sigh.

    – I had to have the door cracked open a little when I slept. And I had to have my woobie blanket somewhat swaddling my neck so that Dracula, who lived in my closet at night, couldn’t bite me. True story. Now that I’m older and wiser, my neck is wiiiiiide open for Mick. Bring it on!

    – Guess the parents couldn’t hear the racket in the attic?

    – They really plained Beth down for this episode. What… now that she’s unemployed, she has no concern for her appearance?

    – “I’m not a profiler.” That’s okay, Beth. Neither was Lori. (Yeah, I’ve made that comment before, but I had to throw it in again. I can’t help it. I’m evil like that.)

    – Bromance! I want deleted scenes of that shopping trip.

    – Hmmmm… Josef looks handsome in that blue shirt.

    – 1950s Mick… yeah, not so much. Uniform McG kicks Uniform Mick’s *ss any day of the week.

    – Fangs + contacts = bad. Fangs + sunglasses = good. Very, very, very good.

    – Did we ever establish that Mick and Lilah were doing it on the front porch or the back porch?

    – I just noticed that Jacob had framed bugs, including NASTY looking spiders, in his bedroom. Mayhaps not such a good idea?

    – Josef sired plenty of vamps in his day. F U CBS.

    – Damn his face!

    – Alex killed that last scene. Killed it dead, ran over it, spit on it and called it a “b/tch.”

    Sniff count: 2
    Bionic hearing: 1

    Line of the ep: “You wanna have my baby?” <<<<< —— Which is STILL my text message ringtone and makes me giggle A LOT!

    Posted by spurschick | September 3, 2012, 5:54 am
  2. Happy as I was to do my homework this week, I was also sad because there’s only ONE episode left!!!
    Random thoughts…
    -Beth’s hair is not good! We’re in the extensions episodes, aren’t we.
    -I’m still not sure about this ADA – is he flirting with Beth? Guess I’ll never find out. FUCBS.
    -“jazz, cigars, fresh from the vein sangria” (and he says sangria funny)
    -ah, miliary Mick. Man in uniform. Still, McG in uniform wins. 🙂
    -Mick’s war hair is not good. There is a lot of bad hair in this ep.
    -“because they could be my family” …dun dun dun!
    -I have a few things around the house that need fixing. Someone send Mick over.
    -Love Lilah’s sundress.
    -I really hope all this smooching is happening on the BACK porch.
    -Mick gets almost as upset about crimes with kids as McG does.
    -shoe size 10-1/2. Think that’s right?
    -love the “should I be jealous” exchange between Beth and Mick.
    -“civilian investigator” – does that job really exist?
    -Mick’s blue shirt is nippletastic.
    -Josef’s “Hi Beth/ Beth’s here” I still laugh out loud at that. Every. Time.
    -Beth warning Mick that she’ll mace him if he sneaks up on her: “it’s only a matter of time” LOL!
    -“family’s not only about DNA” <- you are so right Beth! Got my Ohana RIGHT HERE!!

    Posted by heymomo | September 3, 2012, 7:10 am
  3. What I like about this episode is that at the end I’m still not sure if Robert is Mick’s child or not. When they were talking about how he was a ‘miracle baby’ I was convinced Mick was Robert’s dad. But the DNA results supposedly prove he’s not the father.

    When Mick says ‘Good for you Ray’ I wonder if he says it to hide his disappointment at NOT being the father or if he’s saying it because he IS the father and is trying to convince himself it’s best for Robert and his family to let it go. There’s so much material there and it would’ve been great to see this revisited in a future episode, so I’ll go ahead and say it…F U CBS!

    Posted by JDD | September 3, 2012, 7:16 am
  4. I love this ep. Love it hard. This whole ep could have been Mick in that uniform and Mick and Lilah, and I would have been completely happy. Any look back into Mick’s past makes me very, very happy.

    Except for the ending. This ending made me want to throw things at the screen, because I thought it was a cop-out. I hear tell Jill Blotevogel had a different ending written and TPTB’s made her change it. My turn – F U CBS.

    Too little vampire in this ep – one thing I hated about the Final Four.

    I don’t think they killed that animal they used for Beth’s wig all the way. I think I saw it move a couple of times.

    Mick and Josef – a boatload of awesome. Mick and Beth and Mick flashing back to Lilah – heartbreaking. Mick carries so much guilt over the bad things he’s done in his life, but I don’t think falling in love with Lilah was one of them. They both thought Mick was dead and had a shared sorrow between them – it would have been perfectly natural for them to fall for each other. That Mick lost her just broke my heart. And I’d bet Lilah spent every day of her life after Robert was born wondering.

    I wanna live in that house. Without the creepy guy in the attic.

    “You wanna have my baby?” Yes, Mick. Right now. After lots and lots of practice making it. #Ijustcanteven

    The fifth screen cap down. Those eyelashes. #yesplease

    Fabulous screen cap, babe…and I LOVE the Dr. Z quotes. #happy I loved the way you boiled it down – love is never wrong. Even the immortal have regrets. And sometimes things work out the way they should, even when hearts are broken.

    Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | September 3, 2012, 7:55 am
    • “I don’t think they killed that animal they used for Beth’s wig all the way. I think I saw it move a couple of times.” – WINNING COMMENT!!!

      It had a different ending?? ARRGHGHHH!!! FU CBS! F/CK YOU and the horse you rode in on!!

      This episode was very creepy. I had to FF past the kidnapping in the beginning and several elements had a great creepy feel. Not overly done but just right.

      Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | September 3, 2012, 11:29 am
      • They cut out the ending scene. I had to go pull my script of WLB to make sure (Yes, I have copies of several ML scripts. Yes, I can easily put my hands on them. #dontjudgeme). WLB was supposed to end with Mick and Beth driving away and Mick has one last flashback. He’s happily heading to Lilah’s with flowers, talking about falling in love with her. He comes up to the house and sees the Army bringing back Ray. Mick decides he can’t take Lilah away from Ray and turns around and leaves and never sees them again.

        And now I’m sniffling and cursing CBS all over again. F U CBS.

        Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | September 3, 2012, 12:39 pm
  5. Steph!! I LOVE it!! The quotes…made me emo all over again!! What’s funny is that our posts ended up being similar in that we both boiled the epiosde down to 3 scenes/statements and 2 were the same. 🙂

    My post is here.

    Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | September 3, 2012, 11:26 am
    • yep yep yep … 😀 Mick’s scene with Robert where he almost tells… it’s very fraught, isn’t it – I mean, you can’t just tell someone “the guy you thought was your dad wasn’t” without a heck of a lot of drama and ON TOP OF THAT you have to drop the “also I’m a vampire, and here’s what that means” ton of bricks — and nope — just isn’t happening. Mick didn’t tell because he’s too decent to drop ALL THAT on a guy whose child is gone missing, likely dead. You just don’t do that sort of thing, when you’re a decent guy like Mick.

      Which is what circles me back to Beth’s question “was it love?” Because to me — and this is why my screencap of the Mick/Robert scene gets the “love is…” quote caption — because Mick did love Ray, and Lilah, and by extension, now Robert and Jacob too. And true love isn’t the selfish sort of thing that says “look at me, I’m here now, and also, your dad!” when that information can not be helpful in the least and Mick’s only motivation for doing so would be HIS DESIRE for a family/family connection. He put Robert’s concerns and feelings first — a good person, good parent, good friend would do the same. Every. Time.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | September 3, 2012, 7:54 pm
      • Steph, you unintentionally just made a very good argument for me in the debate of why I belief Mick lied to Beth about the paternity test….:grin:
        – Ray raised Robert and good for him, he did a good job, Why try to change things now and complicate it?
        (And remember this is just friendly debate about something that does not have an answer and never will 🙂 )

        Posted by FOYeur | September 3, 2012, 9:18 pm
        • Oh it really could go either way… I mean, Mick didn’t have to lie to Beth, let’s just say the test was incorrect since Mick’s sample was 60 years old… even so, we agree Mick did the right thing by not saying anything.

          Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | September 3, 2012, 9:22 pm
          • This issue also makes me wonder…..how did Mick leave is own family (parents etc) behind when he became a vampire?
            He told Beth once he had to let them go for the sake of everybody involved……..

            Posted by FOYeur | September 3, 2012, 9:28 pm
  6. There is nothing left to say….you gus have covered everything.
    Love the screen caps and quotes, perfect as always!

    Posted by LaHagela (The Tinkler) | September 3, 2012, 4:05 pm
  7. Fantastic recap Steph and really interesting and insightful comments (aww, you guys are awesome!).

    OK, so one good thing about the time difference in Oz is that I can get up most mornings to new posts – wonderful start to the day 🙂 Downside is loads of people have commented already and all the best bits have been covered (cos, you know, you guys always have funny and intelligent things to say 🙂 ). So, as usual, I am ACAing with the other posts:

    1. Love spursy’s Lori remark. You go girl!
    2. ACA McG in uniform beats Mick in uniform hands down. Maybe it’s the uniform and the Navy SEAL deathstare that does it for me. WW2 Mick seems a little, I don’t know…..
    3. Agree with ESS and heymomo that Mick is not the dad. To me it’s in keeping with the whole vampire thing and not being able to have children, that whole sense of loss that Mick feels throughout the series. And how in the hell would he explain that he’s the father when he’s too young to be so? More vampire revealing there…
    4. Liked the WW2 ‘love story’ angle – so reminiscent of many stories like that during the war, when people didn’t know if loved ones were dead or alive. Mick thought he was ‘free’ to love Lilah and I bet that happened quite a lot immediately after the end of WW2.
    5. FOYeur’s comment about Mick’s parents: I’ve often wondered that myself. More FU CBS – we could have had an ep where Mick talks about what happened to his parents when he became a vamp.

    It’s hard watching these later eps again knowing what we know now, that the series was cancelled. FU CBS x 2. I really enjoyed the development of Mick and Beth’s relationship and would so loved to have seen where the writers took the show.

    “Alex killed that last scene. Killed it dead, ran over it, spit on it and called it a “b/tch.”” Definitely one of the best comments. Ever.

    Finally, Mick rescuing Jacob. Ahh, be still my beating heart….

    Posted by Andrea_Briz | September 4, 2012, 8:18 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Almost a Fantasy (Sonata) « Junk Kicker's #H50 Junk Drawer - September 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 302 other followers

