Β§
you're reading...
H50

Five Reactions to La O Na Makuahine (and Reactions to the Reactions)

Hello! and welcome to my first run impressions of H50 3.1. In short: this episode is a winner! Please note — I have watched this episode ONE TIME. Last night. These are my knee jerk reactions.

~SPOILER ALERT~ Please read no further if you haven’t seen H50 3.1!

1. I’m looking at you atplenkov!

Who killed Malia? I don’t mean Delano, though he ordered the killing. I mean who is the thug who pulled the trigger? Just one of those randoms McG & Danny shot down in the street gun battle? After all the delicious build-up we got around “Toothpick,” the baddie who pushed Kono to her nearly certain doom, I’m wondering why there wasn’t a similar disclosure surrounding the one completely successful criminal act of this episode (always excepting the jail break of Wo Fat, which would have happened regardless of Malia’s living or dying).

JUSTICE FOR MALIA! NAME HER KILLER!

2. Ridiculous is relative

Yes, the claw was ludicrous. And I loved it. It entertained me and made me laugh. Season Two was so full of crazy stunts and antics (let me know if you’d like to discuss. I have a list!), so it seems we’ve been building towards something big and outrageous like this for a while now.

How about this, though for contrast: the most underwhelming moment of the episode? When McG comes around the corner to look into the crawl-space of an at-that-time unknown number of dead bodies — and the look on his face is not unlike that of a slightly stoned teen on the first day of high school who’s walked into the wrong homeroom class. He then calls for “a lot of body bags.” Excellent work there writers! Way to not make Alex do a second take and show some actual surprise there, director!

It’s a pretty low moment — even for this Show’s standards. Still looking right… at… atplenkov. Executive produce that sh/t, Peter!!

3. Oh Mother, Where Art Thou?

The mom stuff played out… pretty much exactly as I expected, I guess. I was not surprised or disappointed; it was what it was and I’m cool with it. The actors involved made the most of the drama and I was beyond impressed with their performances. And while I could watch probably twice as many emotionally heart-wrenching scenes as we got last night, I feel they hit all the important high notes and I’m satisfied.

Oh, Doris. I’m sort of sad your entire life was a lie. I’m perversely relieved John McGarrett really thought you were dead, and he wasn’t adding to that lie, which was so hurtful to Mary and Steve, for all those years.

That being said, I loved the Doris/Danno cargument, again, highly entertaining, her being outrageous and bold and Danno still holding his own, while allowing Doris the final word in the end.

I also truly adored how that conversation bled into the Steve/Danny cargument surrounding the Williams’ & Edwards’ possible move to “The Ninth Island.” This is exactly why carguments should never die and how they function at their best. Steve’s perspective has changed, and that growth is reflected in the way he advises Danny. Danny also stops and considers McG’s words. It’s still a cargument, but it’s so thoughtful and well done.

WONDERFUL WONDERFUL.

4. Issues are issues and head-butting is just a pet peeve of mine.

You all know I have nothing against Cath. Cath is great! And over Season Two I personally expressed no shortage of confusion, upset and hurt over the character of Lori Weston. So this is not wishing for her return.

But somewhere out there in atplenkov’s stack of notebooks, there’s a version of this season script where the name of the character sitting with Momma McG isn’t Cath but Lori. Just sayin.

Well, that – and LaGerman needs a new agent. And maybe a new acting coach.

Onscreen chemistry may cover a multitude of ills… but ills is ills. I’ve still got my eye on you, atplenkov.

5. Kono and Adam, sitting in a tree

Well, she didn’t rescue herself. Nor did she shoot him in the kneecap. But positive spin, right? If Adam can be rehabilitated, that’s actually wonderful. That would be a first for Show, and a groundbreaking one at that (‘once a criminal always a criminal’ and ‘a man’s path is carved out by his father,’ being two of Show’s primary, fundamental themes).

If the love of a good person will drive Chin Ho to commit his darkest acts, perhaps Adam will be on the opposite curve, and if I can just forget the duct tape at gunpoint ever happened… which I think I will have to… then this could be a very interesting character arc for Adam & Kono. And I am all for that.

Interested to hear your thoughts on La O Na Makuahine! My favorite episode so far this season! πŸ˜‰

About SJ2

I am good with: Details, Bad Ideas, Hilarity, Sarcasm and Overthinking! I kid because I care!

Discussion

87 thoughts on “Five Reactions to La O Na Makuahine (and Reactions to the Reactions)

  1. SHOW I’VE MISSED YOUUUUUU! Ok, that’s out of the way. Sort of. It’s still in my system. I’m like a cat that’s gonna take a long time to forget how long you left me alone.

    2. “Too bad I wasn’t driving the helicopter. Then it would have been awesome.” Bwahahahahaha! Or at least there would have been thigh holsters involved.

    3. You know, I’m not sure any of the Doris stuff was really surprising, but it was all, every moment, great fun to watch. I even want to watch it all again πŸ™‚

    4. Disagree on #4. I mean, I disagree that it worries me at all. I think you’re probably right that Catherine is Lori in disguise. But I don’t think the concept was the problem. The execution was just horrid the first time. And awesome the second time.

    5. I hope if they redeem Adam, it’s not too easy. Kono’s way with Adam post-duct-taping is still squicking me out.

    Posted by rainycali | September 25, 2012, 8:13 pm
    • OH YES I MISSED SHOW & IT IS BACK!!!! So happy. So happy. So so so so happy.

      I will admit I am probably Overthinking ™ the Cath stuff but we’ll see how it goes. One ep at a time right? I do like Cath (& Michelle) so will be happy for happy developments but I’m jaded! πŸ˜†

      But yes TOTALLY ACA the Kono & Adam stuff is still… so-so & uncomfortable. I so wish it were different. There just must have been another way for him to ditch her than to pull a gun on her. And I wish they had found it. Just so wrong on a number of levels!!

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | September 25, 2012, 8:50 pm
  2. I will write more later tonight but I just wanted to say I loved the ep. In my world show is So Back. I also loved this recap too. SPAM to follow when I get some free time.

    Posted by Infant_Sardonic | September 25, 2012, 8:13 pm
  3. Holy crap had same thoughts about Cath/Lori. It was like the same script but cause its Cath everyone is all yay? I like them both – but last night seemed the script could have been for either of them w/out a word of dialoge changed.

    Posted by janamakena | September 25, 2012, 8:22 pm
    • Tooooootally. I’m glad you commented Jana. When Cath said “mommy issues” my brain went, *sproing!* like in cartoons you know? And it BUGGED ME because I couldn’t figure out why! I didn’t like the line, period. I wouldn’t have liked it if McG had said it about himself, it’s just not my style of joke. Anyway.
      But I eventually figured it out. Yeah, and the “that came out wrong” was like… So, so Lori to me. Lazy scriptwriters! πŸ˜›

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | September 25, 2012, 11:12 pm
      • Yeah, I found it a flippant at that time, might have been ok later. Also Danny’s reaction at the airport was off.

        Posted by Mary Jane | September 26, 2012, 4:16 am
        • Truly, maybe I just have way nice friends… but if my long lost parent returned miraculously from out of nowhere I don’t think they first thing they’d say to me would be to tease me about my mental & emotional problems that resulted from said parent’s disapperance. At least I would hope not! But then again no one is making a tv show about my life.

          Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | September 26, 2012, 9:29 am
          • Oh, it depends. Not that I had a missing parentm but rather – one that was so obviously an “issue”, my friends joke with me all the time about the dysfunction. I think that it comes from a place of comfort and trust – as in, my good friends, who know the issues, can joke about it. Casual or new acquaintances cannot.

            So, for me, the parallel with H50 is that Cath knows the sitch, Steve has a comfort level with her and they can joke about it (I thought this morning about how she has had the longest relationship of all of them with Steve). Danny is a trusted confidante too. LoHo? In the first month of knowing Steve? Not so much of a history/comfort level/trust established – which is why to me is was baaaad.

            Posted by KimmerNY | September 26, 2012, 10:15 am
            • I totally agree with Kimmer – Cath and McG have a relationship that was not present with LoHo (i.e., she’s spent a considerable time naked in his bed). There’s more leeway for joking about emotional baggage with your long-time f/ckbuddy than with a co-worker you’ve just met (and that you were forced to hire). That being said, however – the parallels in item 4 above are kinda ironic. Damn, I love irony….

              Posted by AnnieOakley | September 26, 2012, 2:09 pm
            • I agree with Kimmer on this one too. A good friend of mine also had a very big “issue” of a parent and we definitely joke with him about it. If we weren’t such good friends, that would never happen. So I think it shows Steve + Cath’s relationship comfort level.

              Posted by heymomo | September 26, 2012, 4:04 pm
            • ACA with Kimmer. Banter is cool amongst friends with an established relationship. I actually hadn’t clicked that Cath is Steve’s oldest friend in show….guess we can’t count Joe anymore…

              Posted by Infant_Sardonic | September 27, 2012, 3:50 am
          • “But then again no one is making a tv show about my life.”

            i would totally watch that show. #justsayin

            Posted by Alicia | September 27, 2012, 4:00 am
  4. Also, Doris is a bit of a dick, no?
    Loved the epi. Please sir, may I have some more?

    Posted by janamakena | September 25, 2012, 8:23 pm
  5. 1) poor Malia. It never dawned on me to care who actually killed her.. I was just lamenting the fact that as soon as she married Chin, she should have stopped buying green bananas.

    2) LOL about Steve flying the helo. Point taken. Yes one of the constants of SHOW has been its love of overkill. Love of SHOW requires suspension of disbelief. But..but… this was soooo far over thr mfckng TOP, it just seemed like atPLenkov thought…” what big huge stunt can we do this season” I was sort of hoping that it was the CIA springing WoFat, because I could ‘almost ‘ reconcile that

    3) the mom thing had me worried, big time. But I really like the storyline, and how Christine is playing her, and how they’ve got the other characters responding to her. I buy into this.

    4) you know that I am 1000 percent in agreement with you – convinced that LoHo was supposed to be in some integral storyline instead of Cath. I fear for what is in store for Cath+Steve4probablynotEvah. But Cath was an established character that fit into the Steve bio we were given for a whole season. The intro of LoHo forced us to question all that we had come to admire/love/lust over in Steven’s character.I will buy into whatever TPTB successfully sell me. But I would like to trust that they won’t pull a bait and switch on me, which is what they tried to do. I actually wonder if Cath was supposed to be LoHo in season 2, but Michelle had committed to Combat Hospital so they had to throw in a new lady friend.

    Cath works. LoHo didn’t.at.all

    5) yeah, dammit. I’m gonna have to like Kono/Adam. Dammit.

    Posted by KimmerNY | September 25, 2012, 8:48 pm
    • Crap – I havent given two thinks to who pulled the Malia trigger. She’s been dead to me since Chin proposed.

      Posted by janamakena | September 25, 2012, 9:02 pm
      • “She’s been dead to me since Chin proposed.”

        I don’t know why but this made me think of this quote from Zoolander:
        “You’re dead to me, son. You’re even more dead to me than your dead mother.”

        Posted by Infant_Sardonic | September 26, 2012, 7:01 am
    • ‘Stopped buying green bananas’, FTW, crying here, Kimmer!

      Posted by Mary Jane | September 26, 2012, 4:17 am
    • “convinced that LoHo was supposed to be in some integral storyline instead of Cath”

      I have long suspected a lot of stuff that was meant to go to LoHo in s2 got passed on to others or removed entirely and I also think it’s why the Joe/Shelburne/Steve storyline had a lot of time spent on it with no new knowledge gained as time went by. It became a way to fill in some storylines gaps that happened when Lori wasn’t accepted by the fandom as much as was hoped and her stuff disappeared into nothingness. 😦

      Posted by Infant_Sardonic | September 26, 2012, 6:58 am
    • 1) Ahhhaahhahahahahahaha oh poor Malia. Hope she had returned all those library books, too. Aww, that’s actually sad. Poor Chin! Maybe he likes bananas. I’m sure he’ll eat them.

      2) THANK YOU, I updated the pic to have Steve say “flying” the helicopter (I had “driving” before, WTF!) because in stick figure art accuracy is super important! (Also thank you for getting my point).

      4) *fist bump* I’m looking forward to a low-stress season of Cath’s easy, fun presence. I hope that’s what we get. That it doesn’t turn sour (just what you say above). I like the idea of Lori being the Cath-for-a-season replacement idea that just didn’t pan out — also explains why Michelle gets to be in the main credits, if they really wanted her full time all along. I can dig that idea.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | September 26, 2012, 9:24 am
      • 4) My “It was supposed to be Cath all along” theory was born while I was typing that comment. The seed has now planted itself in my head and is growing at a rapid pace. Because that is the only way I can fckng reconcile in my head what in the hell they were thinking last year.

        In the credits!!! Yay. At least she’s got time before she dies. Or turns into a shrew that we come to hate. (Please do not be that predictable, SHOW, pleeeaaasse???)

        Posted by KimmerNY | September 26, 2012, 10:20 am
      • I’m looking forward to a low-stress season of Cath’s easy, fun presence. I hope that’s what we get.
        ^^^ACA THIS^^^
        Of course it’s no secret that I am pro-Cath (what? Momo is pro-Cath? never would have guessed!)
        but I’m all over this comment. Cath is the right fit, she has the longest history with Steve, and she’s cool.
        SOOO happy she’s in the opening credits. I waited anxiously to see her there when Show started!!

        Posted by heymomo | September 26, 2012, 4:10 pm
  6. This is great, Steph. I love that you are Team Claw. It was so ridiculous it was funny. And like you say, it had been a long time coming and not unexpected. Totes channelling Fast and Furious openers there. Almost expected Vin to bust out and drive off in some hot car or other.

    I like that the Mom storyline has some meat to it and I will be interested to see how it all plays out. Alex was fantastic in the opening scene – that was really all I was looking for, to see him in that first confrontation with MomMcG. I’d seen the Momgument vid but still snorted when I watched it again. Danny in the back seat of his own car – priceless. Also loved the “I hate the desert and the beach” discussion with McG. My only criticism of the Momgument is that it seemed a bit soon – not sure if I am totally on board with her being that familiar that soon. That aside, loved the humour of it. (Also not loving Mom and think it will be interesting to see Danny going into bat for his mate as things play out, and clashing with Mom.)

    I missed your earlier discussion of Lori but suffice to say I can see your point about the ‘crossover’ with Cath. Guess the writers are dead keen for another key female hey as they tried it with Lori and it didn’t work so now they have Regular Cath instead of Only Sometimes Cath. Chemistry does count for a whole lot and as long as Cath does not take away from the Fab Four, I think most people will be OK with it. Whether or not you like LG or the Lori character, it was poorly written IMHO so I wanted her gone. So far I don’t want Cath gone πŸ™‚

    Posted by Andrea_Briz | September 25, 2012, 8:51 pm
    • “Totes channelling Fast and Furious openers there.”
      That’s exactly it! All Fast and Furious’ fault. I have seen all those movies. Talk about out there! They’re making a 6th one. I’ll be there, with bells on.

      ” I’d seen the Momgument vid but still snorted when I watched it again. ”
      I laughed too. And I’ll laugh all over again when I rewatch it when it airs here.

      Posted by Infant_Sardonic | September 26, 2012, 7:03 am
      • Oh, Gracie, we are such sisters when it comes to taste in TV and movies! Definitely blame F&F for The Claw. I LOVE those movies, though (a bit partial to Paul Walker’s blue eyes, I’ll have to admit). We’ve seen all of them and have all on DVD (but remember I have a teenage boy in my house and Vin in his idol next to Alex!). Can’t wait for Fast 6 either. Bells on here, too.

        Posted by Andrea_Briz | September 26, 2012, 4:04 pm
  7. Don’t know where to start! Firstly, FABULOUS helicopter! And Claw! Poor LoHo with her little sad face and bad hair.

    1. In common with most other people, I had not given this a second thought. Poor Malia. You weren’t even offed by an interesting bad guy and now your oven is full of lovely pathogens because no-one thought to take the chickens out and they were in there all warm and festering all night. Ewww. Not that you probably care about that too much right now.

    2. I loved the Claw! Partly because you just KNOW there came a moment when everyone realised it looked totally unrealistic but they’d spent too much money on it not to use it. Mostly because it was just hysterically funny. Your underwhelming moment cracks me up as well, because Chin said “come look over here” (or whatever) in a this-is-really-serious-and-awful sort of way, and then we just saw McG’s face and a load of rusty old coathangers, and his expression was EXACTLY that of a man who’s just been summoned – during the middle of a very important life-or-death situation – to look at a pile of coathangers and isn’t quite sure why.

    3. I hate Mom. I don’t love to hate her. I just hate her. I had a violently negative reaction to this storyline from the moment I first read speculation that Shelburne might be her. BUT it’s being done so well (with the exception of the Momgument which I agree was great and entertaining but too soon) that I’m not hating it overall. It’s the complete opposite of the Lori storyline, which had the potential to be really good, but was so badly done that it was awful. I spent most of last season thinking ‘why didn’t you do this’ or ‘why have you done that’ but with this one I’m happy to go with the flow. A bad story told well is better than a good story told badly, and they’re telling this one very well.

    I loved the Vegas cargument. When the general all-round awesomeness of Michelle Borth results in her getting another series of her own and they marry Cath to McG so they can kill her off, Danny is SO taking McG to Vegas for his bachelor party. H50 does The Hangover. I cannot WAIT!!!

    4. Yes, yes and yes. I would also not be surprised if somewhere in Atplenkov’s notebooks there is a suggestion of recasting Lori with Michelle Borth playing her. Star Trek used to do this all the time (having the same guest actors come back in different roles) and it drove me to distraction.

    5. Yup. Although I can still think of a few more creative places to put that duct tape.

    So I loved this episode even though I need to watch it about a billion more times to find out what was actually going on (I have NO IDEA. It involved drugs and Delano is dead, that’s pretty much all I got). It’s my favorite episode so far this season as well! (<— YOU KILL ME)

    Posted by Alicia | September 26, 2012, 2:33 am
    • “I would also not be surprised if somewhere in Atplenkov’s notebooks there is a suggestion of recasting Lori with Michelle Borth playing her. Star Trek used to do this all the time (having the same guest actors come back in different roles) and it drove me to distraction.”

      What about in JAG? They had one female lead in s1 only to be replaced by Catherine Bell in s2 who had previously played a murdered navy ex girlfriend of Harms. She stuck around until the show ended so I guess in JAGs case it worked.

      Posted by Infant_Sardonic | September 26, 2012, 7:07 am
  8. I must have missed something. When did it come out that Dad thought Mom was dead? I thought he knew she was hiding.

    Posted by Mary Jane | September 26, 2012, 4:20 am
  9. 2. I love that Stick!Danno is always shorter then Stick!Steve.

    Crazy stunts….can we include Kono being a great sniper to the list of crazy/unrealistic stuff that happens on show that we just got to run with? πŸ˜‰

    3. “I feel they hit all the important high notes and I’m satisfied.”

    I agree. Show also had to walk a pretty fine line. If we had Steve being really emo, and Chin being really emo, well Steve and his mother inadvertedly lead to a lot of comic relief that needed to happen to break up all the heavy. No one wants to come away from a season opener going, well that was depressing. I went through a whole box of tissues and moved to emo land permanently with Infant. πŸ˜‰ Though I won’t ever object to the company.

    “I’m perversely relieved John McGarrett really thought you were dead, and he wasn’t adding to that lie, which was so hurtful to Mary and Steve, for all those years.”

    ACA. I think that would have just been too much for Steve to handle. I don’t know how he handles his entire life to begin with, let alone then have this dumped on him. Good call on this show.

    4. Hmmm, may have to disagree here. I think the way Catherine has been introduced to us, as her own person as opposed to the female McG or “you’re a lot like Steve,” has meant we are more easily able to accept her. Also, she had the advantage of not being seen to be replacing anybody, as was the impression Lori gave (through no fault of her or Lauren’s fault, it was entirely a storyline thing). And Michelle Borth, well I follow this lady on Twitter and i have nothing but happy fan girl feelings for her so I’m happy she gets to stick around.

    5. Trying my hardest to be ok with Kono and Adam.

    Posted by Infant_Sardonic | September 26, 2012, 6:54 am
  10. 1. Who killed Malia? *crickets chirping* yeah. Who cares? We knew she was a goner though or a second I believed she might make it.
    2. Helicopter flown by Steve Mcgarrett = BAMF

    Helicopter w claw flown by Steve Mcgarrett = total embarrassment

    Maybe if they has flashed “CLaNG!” “BanG” across the screen I’d like it. (like the old campy batman) but they tried to pull It off as a serious stunt. So no.

    4. I think Kim hit the answer. Lori was a replacement for Cath because Michelle got hired for Combat Hospital. Cath was first!! She was the extra woman to bring into the mix. That’s why they shipped Cath off in the episode immediately after they intro’d Lori because they thought thats how they might have to go yet they left it open for Michelle to return should CH not make it. If Lori was anything other than an experiment then she would have been a regular and not a contract. Michelle has warmth and isnt awkward in physical scenes. That’s why Cath works and Lori didn’t.

    Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | September 26, 2012, 9:18 am
    • Ess! 1) I care! I was thinking of tweeting atplenkov about it actually, making him aware of my REAL CASH MONEY offer! In my dreams Scott & Alex sit down and write a short story about the scene at Chin’s house where the baddie breaks in & sets up the skype & then shoots Malia & runs off (but maybe not before he eats the side dishes she was preparing to go with those chickens!!) anway, then they read their story on camera & CBS uploads it & my brain explodes from happiness but not before I donate a few hundred bucks to atplenkov’s favorite charity BECAUSE I WOULD DO IT.

      2) agree to disagree! we’re gonna have to. Wo Fat was gonna break out of prison one way or another — That was just as much a given as Malia’s ultimate demise — so the inevitable may as well have been interesting to watch. Which. It was interesting. Literally in that it caught & held the attention. It was the shallow end of the pool of this episodes depth though. No two ways about it. But how great that this Show can do both so very well.

      4) if Kim’s theory is right — and it’s likely she is right — I’ll just say it — LaGerman’s a total nut but I feel bad for her now. The whole deal was a crappy situation that couldn’t have been made easier by all the hating on her (justifiably or not). I’m just so glad it’s over & we’re past it.

      So, uh, Ed Asner’s back next week, that’s looking interesting….

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | September 26, 2012, 9:48 am
  11. I love you so much right now. #hearts

    I chuckled at the flying claw, but I laughed out loud @ Cath vs. Lori. So. F/cking. Awesome.

    While I loved, loved, loved this ep, there was just a couple of things that made my ‘WTF?’ face come out. Steve and Mom? Awesome. Alex acted the hell out of that, and Chistine Lahti is FANTASTIC. Steve’s doing a 180 so fast re: bringing Mom home that I got whiplash? Not so much awesome.

    While I knew Malia was going to kick it, I’m still VERY unhappy with atplenkov. F U Peter. Just…F U. Although…it gave us brokenhearted, dark Chin. I cheered when he put a whole lotta bullets in Delano and I cried like my dog died at the end when he opened the oven. DDK did a fabulous job, and I blame him for sniffling my way to the bus stop Tuesday morning.

    I love Cath, but more than that I adore the hell out of Michelle Borth. She has an easy grace and charm LaGerman simply didn’t have, and she could have stood there and picked her nose in every scene she was in and I would STILL have preferred her. Plus, our girl kicks ass. #win

    Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | September 26, 2012, 10:42 am
    • I bet se can run without knocking herself out too. Though I sometimes miss those scenes….for comical reasons.

      Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | September 26, 2012, 11:29 am
    • “Steve’s doing a 180 so fast re: bringing Mom home that I got whiplash? Not so much awesome. ” I think he was just keeping her in his clutches until he got more answers. Didn’t sound emotional or accepting to me, more like ordering her around. He was still pissed. And he was gonna drag her home and have it out some more.

      Posted by rainycali | September 26, 2012, 1:42 pm
      • @Ess – giggling now. Can’t help it.

        Totally agreeing with you, rainy – it just kinda spun my head around how fast Steve got from “WTF happened to you??” to “You’re coming back to Oahu with me”. Of course, I watched @ 5:00 am Tuesday. That could have a lot to do with it. #notawake

        Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | September 26, 2012, 3:36 pm
  12. Since I was very foggy headed when I watched I will rewatch and see if the military helicopter and claws of life have the same effect on me, which was “WTF were they smoking?”. So how does Delano get his hands on equipment like that with a pilot/claw operator on such short notice? He had what a day to plan it?
    I love Cath, I really do, and when she head butted that guy it made me seal clap!!!
    BUT, she is/was naval intelligence, how much hand to hand training do those peeps get?
    My bro was actually an officer in the Navy and had dreams of being a Seal until a med eval showed he still had a hairline fracture in his skull where he fell as a kid (I may or may not have pushed him off those monkey bars, I will never tell), but that put an end to his dream, as he was not a candidate to go on a submarine with that fracture, so instead he was assigned to naval intelligence (because he’s a freak and took 4 years of mandarin in college), but I talked to him today and asked him that question (of course I didn’t tell him why I was asking) but anyway, he said he got no training at all other than what was learned in boot camp. Soooooo where did Cath learn to fight like that? I’m hoping the answer is “in the bedroom with McG”.

    BTW – Steph I luv you!! XOXO

    Posted by LaHagela (The Tinkler) | September 26, 2012, 3:59 pm
  13. My first round of squee goes to STEPH’S AWESOME STICK!PEEPS!
    STICK!HELICOPTER! STICK!SHORTEY!DANNO!
    And of course, as always, STICK!THIGH!HOLSTERS!
    LOVE that Stick!Cath! has whoo hoo arms / and Stick!LoHo! has wtf arms v0v
    LOVE Stick!Kono’s lovestruck eyes! And the roll of duct tape!
    Steph, my affection for your drawings knows no bounds!!

    On to the reactions:
    1. Minions. Minions killed Malia.
    2. OK, OK!! I ROLLED MY EYES AT THE CLAW! πŸ™„ However, I’m coming around. Go big or go home, right? There’s this little bit of physics class in my head that knows how IMPOSSIBLE that maneouver would be, and I start to overthink how that could actually be done IRL. Then I remember that this is SHOW. Over the top it is, then! HOORAY FOR THE CLAW! The stick!helicopter! helped.
    3. I loved the way they played McMom. Do I like her? Nope, not yet. Do I like the push and pull with the other characters? You bet. Do I trust her? No way. But her straighforwardness, direct questions, emotional self defense, all rocked it IMO. And she put little Stevie in camo footie pyjamas. I love her for that alone.
    4. Steve+Cath4Evah!!! I never want to see that alternate script of atplenkov’s. In fact, I will sneak ninja-like into his office, find it, and ceremonially burn it.
    5. Adam and Kono at the end. Yeah, I kind of liked that. Like that she’s his reason to be good.

    ALSO:
    Cath has hair extensions. TPTB didn’t like the shorter hair?
    ALSO:
    Kono’s hair was really good this ep!!

    Posted by heymomo | September 26, 2012, 4:39 pm
    • Heybooboo, I ACA to your comments. Number 3 – exactly how I feel about Mom. I am Ok with not liking her, in fact I kind of expected not to. Just hope TBTB fill in the blanks over the season about Mom’s past. I’m a little confused, I must admit. But then plot that makes sense=scooter πŸ™‚

      Posted by Andrea_Briz | September 26, 2012, 4:46 pm
    • “And she put little Stevie in camo footie pyjamas. I love her for that alone.”

      Little Stevie so wanted to be like his dad and grandpa. (Becaues yes dad was in the Navy too).

      Posted by Infant_Sardonic | September 27, 2012, 4:29 am
    • Thanks Momo! I’m glad you always enjoy the art so enthusiastically…. makes it all worth it! πŸ˜‰

      re: the hair situation Kono did look fantastic in this episode! Nearly drowning agrees with her. Not quite as catchy as BTTF but same principle I think.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | September 27, 2012, 2:06 pm
  14. Steph – just wanted to tell you that, 3 days and about 1000 visits later, the Cath vs. LoHo comparison STILL makes me laugh. When you open your !Stick!Store!, I want a framed copy of that one.

    Posted by KimmerNY | September 27, 2012, 6:48 am
    • ha! thank you. I think “I was headbutted….” is my favorite line. πŸ˜‰ And even if Cath goes civilian on us on Show, in stick form, she’ll always be in navy grey…. bunned & bluetoothed…. that’s StickCath. And poor StickLori with her 2.2 hair. πŸ˜† First impressions mean a lot to me, apparently….

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | September 27, 2012, 12:59 pm
  15. Sigh. I’m going to be so much happier watching the ep with everyone else next week and not, what feels like, a million years later. 😦

    Love the stick figures and all of the comments! I didn’t really care who shot Malia since I wrote her off as dead after the proposal. I’d be willing to bet that McG has the helo-with-claw guy on speed dial. I totally agree that Lori was written to fill the Cath hole when Borth got her own show and the writers screwed the pooch on LoHo’s character. And I’m afraid that I have forgiven Show for the duct tape incident with the hopes that they never cross that line again. Kono and Adam have mad chemistry and I heart them hard.

    Posted by spurschick | September 27, 2012, 5:24 pm
    • I am glad there are some happy pro Adam & Kono people…. because no decision Show makes should be 100% hated by everyone. They are hot together. Just wish there was a little less baggage!

      And yes, Monday will be better because you will watch with the rest of us! or well, before me, but with everybody else!! πŸ˜€ No promises I’ll do a reaction post though unless I’m feeling REACTIONARY. πŸ˜›

      The premier was just such a crazy mess of many of the best things Show has to offer I had to get it out. and by best I mean most entertaining and awesome but not necessarily *sane.*

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | September 28, 2012, 9:44 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 303 other followers

