§
you're reading...
Chicago Fire, H50, Real Life

No Word Means “Least Favorite” but Some Terms are Neck & Neck (Happy Birthday Kimmer)

Did you ever have a friend who made you see the world a little differently? Whose perspective on an issue was so utterly different from yours it made you stop and think, “Whoa… I was so sure I was right – but maybe I’m not?”

I’ll say it in no uncertain terms: Stephanie SenGupta is one of my least favorite H50 writers. If not my least favorite. OK, so that was a little less than uncertain but in my defense, she is credited as the writer of 2.22 “Ua Hopu” – a great episode about which I have negligible complaints… as opposed to her other episodes, about which I have numerous complaints. Surprisingly enough, the point of this post isn’t to point out why SenGupta’s other credited episodes (2.5, 2.13, 3.4 and 3.8) will never be at the top of my favorites list but to point out that they may be at the top of Kim’s.

There are always a few nits to pick with any episode of television. Perhaps a character acts contrary to your expectations, takes an action, or says a thing you wish they hadn’t. Sometimes the plot lines make no sense. Things that seem obvious to the audience are overlooked by the characters’ selective obliviousness. Maybe a favorite character didn’t get as much screen time as they normally do, or a highly touted guest star failed to deliver a memorable performance. Sometimes the special effects or action stunts are Just Too Much. Not sure why these things hurt – but they do; and we’ve all been there.

Nevertheless, what doesn’t work for you (or me) is working for someone else. Trust. I can’t contemplate McGarrett’s behavior in some of those above-mentioned SenGupta episodes without my blood running cold and/or a serious harshing of my H50 Aloha. I’m never going to enjoy them. Because of my past, who I am and how I feel – it’s never going to happen.

However, I talked about my feelings with Kim. And Kim calmly, kindly, respectfully and clearly stated why those episodes were enjoyable for her, what she liked about them and why she likes how Steve McGarrett is in them. And I am okay with that. Because I am more than okay with Kim.

There has been enough division, and too many hasty, hurtful words lately, too many passive aggressive (and outright aggressive) tweets from people mad about this or that, and the people who aren’t mad aren’t being sympathetic to the people who are (because… again… We’ve All Been There) and it’s just – it’s enough – it’s enough to make me see why being in fandom can potentially ruin the enjoyment of a beloved Show. When everyone’s trying so hard to make it all about themselves, or prove themselves right, it becomes something that, ultimately, no one enjoys. Who knows, maybe I’m wrong about this, too.

So, in times like this, it’s people like Kim who make it worthwhile. Someone I disagree with on a point or two and still manage to adore. It’s possible! And, Kim, I know you. And what you like is a rage-monster, let’s say heated McG and a certain part of his anatomy (I’m talking about the one between his shoulders and his ears, dirty girl). So this is all for you.

20121217-214725.jpg

Screncaps from bookemdanno.net <– CLICK HERE, DO IT…. DO IT…….

And because I can't leave this post without a little bit of humor, let's remember what the internet is actually for: Not discussing television shows, but looking at pictures of cats. May I present the fluffy alley cats of Chicago Fire – I think I promised this to Kimmer & Jana before Thanksgiving! Ooh, looking lovely in sepia tones! Meow!

20121217-215155.jpg

HAPPY BIRTHDAY KIMMER!

About SJ2

I am good with: Details, Bad Ideas, Hilarity, Sarcasm and Overthinking! I kid because I care!

Discussion

46 thoughts on “No Word Means “Least Favorite” but Some Terms are Neck & Neck (Happy Birthday Kimmer)

  1. Very well said Steph!! About the show, the fandom and about Kimmer. 🙂
    Happy Birthday Kim!

    Posted by FOYeur | December 18, 2012, 12:04 pm
  2. I smiled ALL the way through reading that. ALL.THE.WAY.

    Thank you so much for your wonderful, wonderful words. I can say with equal clarity that you have opened my eyes to some things that I had either allowed myself to overlook or get too p.ssy about – and in the same vein as what you said above, I could open myself up to different perspectives because I trust and admire you.

    Whenever I read that someone has FEELS that are in stark contrast to mine, my default position is that I have missed something and that I am in the wrong. Call it whatever – my need to peacekeep – I generally avoid the discussion. You make me (make? maybe not the right word…. compel. Thats better) me to debate and issue – and I love that we come to common ground. As opposed to what seems to happen a lot elsewhere. So, lets debate on, sister!!! (And, for the record – while I love rage-y McG, I also equally love funny, snarky, smart, and thoughful McG too – the more we learn about him the less I need rage-y. Capable, strong McG yes)

    SO – thanks for the absolutely lovely comments, for the pictures, and for your friendship!!! I don’t think I could love you more right now. (the whole lot of you are included in that too, BTW)

    THE CATS!!!!! The best-fed alley cats of Chicago!!! It was like a bubble machine full of cats!!! Love it. LOVE.

    Posted by Kimphin1 | December 18, 2012, 12:12 pm
    • Perfect response is Perfect!! Yes there are many aspects of McG to appreciate, I think between the lot of us we have them all covered. 😉

      There are certain things I can’t change my mind/feelings on (my terribly-named Rage Monster McG, for example) but talking about it HELPS, and then there are things that I *have* changed my mind on, through time, discussion and plain & simple open-mindedness, such as the purpose of Lori, the character of Doris, how Kono was treated at the beginning, well, and the end, of Season 2, and the death of Malia. (hmmm what do all these have in common…?) Talking with YOU about all of these things — has always helped, and never made me worse off than I started.

      Oh and yeah, the cats!! 😆 Something we can all agree on… maybe. Perhaps we just haven’t found the cat-hating part of ChiFire fandom yet.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | December 18, 2012, 1:25 pm
    • I am very much the same way as you, hearing different opinions make me rethink mine, did I miss something perhaps, how can I feel so different from her… not one for a heated debate me either 🙂

      Posted by paula | December 18, 2012, 3:16 pm
      • Me, too, Paula. An earlier episode left me sort of blah. No specific reason, just didn’t do it for me. Then I read the blogs (H50BAMF, Intense Study, JK’s) and find that everyone is raving about how much they adored it. And I question myself, so I watch it again (you know, any excuse)but I still don’t get it. Sooo — to each her own. I love Show (even so-so epis) but just can’t get my undies in a knot over it.
        But it is so much fun to read what everyone else thinks!

        Posted by karin@notmcnerd | December 18, 2012, 5:06 pm
    • **disclaimer** I usually think I’m wrong… except for the Lori thing, LOL. That one I knew I was right! Hahaha!!!

      Posted by Kimphin1 | December 18, 2012, 3:33 pm
  3. So perfectly put, Steph. I’m so grateful to have found a corner of the fandom where people understand that not everyone watches the show for the same reasons and don’t feel the need to argue with each other about aspects of an episode that didn’t hit the mark for them. This kind of fandom experience makes the show better for me (and I’m fortunate enough to never see the disagreements because I don’t wander much out of our group) because it makes me happy to know that if I didn’t like something it’s usually not because it was bad, simply that it wasn’t to my taste.

    I love this post! Warm fuzzies a-go-go! 🙂

    Happy Birthday Kimmer! This happy little group would not be the same without you ❤ ❤

    Posted by Alicia | December 18, 2012, 12:16 pm
    • ^^^Yes!^^^ That’s exactly it, fandom is *supposed* to make the enjoyment of the show better. And focusing on the positive aspect of that… you all have been very generous and kind with your time & attention to my nonsense over the last year here at the Junk Drawer… appreciated more than I can say. Warm Fuzzies Indeed!!

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | December 18, 2012, 1:53 pm
  4. Darn, I thought by your title, it was going to be all about how McG’s neck makes Kim get the {{{fingertwitch}}} 😉

    Good point on the lecture. I believe if show is brought down by anything, it won’t be due to a character or a story line or plot…it will be by the “fans” that can’t just love what they love and leave it at that.

    BUT the main thing of all this is….HAPPY FREAKING BIRTHDAY KIMMER!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | December 18, 2012, 12:19 pm
    • Each on of those pictures has neck p0rn. That fact did not escape me {{Twitch}}

      Posted by Kimphin1 | December 18, 2012, 12:33 pm
    • Hmm, yes, you are right, even with fan reactions, “Sometimes Less Is More.”

      No such thing to me as fan-in-quotation-marks. Negativity is a different problem, but if you love the show, anything about it at all, then in my mind you are a Fan full stop.

      Also yes you are right again, the title was all about the pictures. I’m too convoluted sometimes. 🙄

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | December 18, 2012, 1:28 pm
      • If someone spends more time complaining than cheering, they’ve moved beyond being a fan IMO. It’s a balance thing.

        Posted by ESS @H50BAMF | December 18, 2012, 2:00 pm
        • I agree, it’s a balance thing. Balance and perspective (mine, in this case). There are people who I thought were nothing but negative nellies until I read their full TL and saw their positive/happy tweets as well. But for various reasons I only saw certain things retweeted or replied to. I sometimes think twitter is the worst forum for fandom sometimes… at least it can be. It’s one of the best for making good friends, though. (see? balance! 😆 )

          Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | December 18, 2012, 2:08 pm
          • For the life of me I can not understand all these people that take to social media to bash the show, the actors, the writing, etc…..yet CONTINUE TO WATCH EACH WEEK!!! It’s like watching a movie over and over and expecting the ending to change. It is what it is, take t or leave it. Yeah there are things that are frustrating, but I’m never not had moments of frustration with a show. It’s impossible, because it’s someone else’s vision, not your own.

            HAPPY BIRTHDAY KIMMMMMMMMMMERRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!

            Posted by LaHagela (The Tinkler) | December 18, 2012, 4:19 pm
          • I unfollowed a whole bunch of people. Life is so much better and I can actually read my TL again.

            Posted by Infant_Sardonic | December 21, 2012, 12:26 am
  5. Happy Birthday to Kim! And applause for your words, Steph. #hugsandkisses

    Not every episode is going to work for every viewer, but the discussion about those differences is what makes watching this show so much fun.

    Posted by PNWgal (@PNWgal) | December 18, 2012, 12:20 pm
    • **HUGS** You have always been so positive & wise, I appreciate you so much!! It is very true that you can’t have a most favorite moment/episode/season without having a least favorite to correspond. It is all about balance & realizing that even if the latest episode wasn’t your cup of tea, the wheel is always turning & something enjoyable is coming your way again soon. See I’m learning! I feel so zen right now. 😆

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | December 18, 2012, 1:59 pm
    • Totally agree with all the comments. Thanks, Steph, for posting this 🙂

      This is my first foray into serious fandom and even in the short time I have been around, I have seen the good, the bad, and the ugly side of things (only the good here though, of course!). My enjoyment of Show is so much greater because of the opportunities to discuss what we all liked and didn’t like and I always look forward to reading everyone’s comments. I’ll often watch an episode and have my own views and then will read a tweet or a comment on one of the blogs and think to myself, “oh, ok, I didn’t get that but I can see where X is coming from”. So there is a new perspective then for me to consider and this only adds further to my appreciation of Show.

      I’m amazed that a so-called ‘guilty pleasure’ or ‘just another police prodecural’ can generate so much discussion and so many different perspectives. Of course, there’s the laughter, too, which only serves to brighten up a sometimes-stressful RL 🙂

      I’m so glad, as Alicia said, to have found this corner of the fandom and I for one will be sticking around 🙂

      Happy birthday Kimmer. xxx

      Posted by Andrea_Briz | December 18, 2012, 2:11 pm
  6. Happy Birthday Kimmer! What better gift in the world than excellent friends like The Junk Kicker!

    Posted by rainycali | December 18, 2012, 12:34 pm
  7. 1) Happy Birthday Kimmer!
    2) Watched my first Chicago Fire episode this weekend and was pleasantly surprised. Might have to add it to the TiVo list.

    Posted by JDD | December 18, 2012, 2:43 pm
  8. Wow, what a post!
    First, happy birthday, Kim. I must cross-format birthday wishes!!
    Second, thanks for giving us all this gift today, Steph. What you write is so well thought, well said, and well written. All of you girls do exactly this for me… I always have a first impression of each episode, but I find that by reading what everyone has to say about it, having someone point out the details or nuances that I may have missed, and hearing similar AND different opinions from my own make me appreciate Show all the more.
    And of course, having you all here to squeeee with me is amazing!
    Respect for other opinions is crucial. I appreciate that I can always find that respect here.
    Oh,,, AND A WELCOME AUDIENCE FOR MY ALLCAPS EXPLOSIONS!

    Posted by heymomo | December 18, 2012, 7:21 pm
  9. Hoping You’ve Had A Happy Happy NeckP0rn Kind of Birthday, Kimmer!

    Geeesh, my brain cells hurt from all the thinking I must do when I read what all you smartie FUCUP sisters write & commentate. I could go back to just looking at the pretty pictures, but I’d miss out on such witty snarky humor from my fave h00kers!
    Steph, I totally understand the writer love/hate episode issues–I experienced it eons ago when I watched The X-Files. Mytharc episodes vs. standalones always caused conflicted feelings when Mulder and/or Scully did or said things that I considered out-of-character or against their nature. *Headsmack* It’s just.a.show, for pretties & giggles only, I keep telling myself….

    Posted by Andr3a (Hawaii 5-0 FUCUP Blogazine) | December 19, 2012, 7:34 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 303 other followers

