§
you're reading...
H50

I’m Sorry, Okay? (I said I was Sorry)

“In civilized society, we have rules. It is the unspoken glue that separates us from jackals and hyenas: Animal Planet, whatever, ‘kay? The point is. Rule number one. If you get somebody shot, you apologize. You don’t wait for a special occasion, okay? Like birthdays. Or frickin’ Presidents Day.” ~Danny Williams, Hawaii Five-0, Season One, Episode One, “Pilot”

20130218-144302.jpg

Oh apologies! So many possible discussion topics when it comes to apologies and being sorry for things and I can’t land any of them. I had this idea for a blog post that would be fun and light-hearted (Alicia, I’m sorry, you’re too sexy for my blog; Paula, I’m sorry I keep posting pics of people other than Alex; Etc.) Anyway, it’s apparently not in the cards.

These screencaps here, they’re a time warp. The scruffy, angry Danno and clear-headed, reasonable Steve that so engaged me in this Show.

Looking back, you can almost see Alex trying on his shiny brand new ‘Steve McGarrett’ face, coltish in execution. Almost innocent. No assumptions or judgements… So different from today.

Back then I really wasn’t sorry about anything, except maybe staying up late on a Monday night. Tuesday’s patented “H50 Hangover.”

Fast forward to now, the show itself and the way in which I watch it assuredly more complicated in every respect. I’m sorry about a lot of things… and the night is young! In all seriousness, I do have strong opinions about this television show. So I am sorry if I have ever offended you, or hurt your feelings, by the manner in which I express them.

But I just love this show, this episode, this scene and these characters so much… and I can’t be sorry about that, not even a little bit.

I hope you all have a wonderful Presidents Day! Don’t hold on to those apologies!

Thanks to bookemdanno for the caps.

About SJ2

I am good with: Details, Bad Ideas, Hilarity, Sarcasm and Overthinking! I kid because I care!

Discussion

21 thoughts on “I’m Sorry, Okay? (I said I was Sorry)

  1. President’s Day – wow, what a good memory you have!

    “Looking back, you can almost see Alex trying on his shiny brand new ‘Steve McGarrett’ face, coltish in execution. Almost innocent. No assumptions or judgements… So different from today. ” — Such an interesting comparison. I was also noticing how different he looks, but I can’t put my finger on exactly why.

    Posted by rainycali | February 18, 2013, 5:19 pm
    • Yeah it’s weird isn’t it? He’s sitting up straighter as a passenger than he does when he’s driving. It cuts off the top of his head. His hair is different. He’s very clean shaven & SHINY. It’s all that plus what Alex is consciously doing with his face that’s the intangible part.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | February 18, 2013, 5:25 pm
      • Alex was very thin back then. AND he had a whole different set of teeth….very very large front veneers!. According to what I can see, he got smaller veneers before they started filming Episode 2:02.
        I saw all this when I did my research for the last story I did…..

        Posted by FOYeur | February 18, 2013, 9:04 pm
  2. I love your love of Show. SO MUCH! It makes me happy, and I hope it continues 😀
    Also, Alex WAS trying on his shiny brand new ‘Steve McGarrett’ face! You are so right!
    Also, Alicia is too sexy for most blogs.

    Posted by heymomo | February 18, 2013, 5:25 pm
    • Momo, my love of show will epically continue if this I have no doubt. 0.0000000001% doubt really because I am a terrible cynic. 😉 but not enough to be statically reliable. I just adore Steve & Danny too darn much to easily stop this train. Choo choo.

      Posted by SJ2 (Junk Kicker) | February 18, 2013, 8:28 pm
    • I’m sorry that my voice seems to have given everyone the completely wrong idea of how sexy I actually am. But thank you anyway ❤

      Shiny brand new Steve McGarrett face! This is so true! (Also a slightly disturbing visual.)

      I also have strong opinions of this show (no, really…) and I am also sorry if I've ever offended anyone. Show is like a person, there are things that we love and things we don't love and want to change, and things we don't love but don't want to change and all of that, but these aren't the same things for everyone… I suppose what I mean is that Show doesn't have to be perfect for me to love it more than any other show and we don't have to all agree on everything for me to love you all as much as I love Show… and in fact probably half my love of Show comes from discussing and giggling and *sighing* with you lovely people. #awkwardchickflickmoment

      Posted by Alicia | February 19, 2013, 12:05 am
      • For sure! Maybe more than half 🙂

        Posted by rainycali | February 19, 2013, 8:05 am
      • ACA with Alicia. I have never been this invested in a show before even though I’ve always had my favourites and shows I watch regularly. I spent S1 and S2 watching ‘on my own’ and now that I have found you all, the latest season is so much fun for me simply because of the collective “discussing and giggling and *sighing*” as Alicia said. I too have strong opinions of this Show but that’s partly because I care so much about it. I don’t expect it to be perfect either but I do have high expectations, I guess, so I am also sorry if when my expectations aren’t met, I bang on a bit about how they are not. Still and all, I love you all and love that we can take ‘just a show’ as my NotMcG is fond of saying, and turn it into something incredible – so much creativity and cleverness and laughter and love to be shared amongst us all. #winning!

        Posted by Andrea_Briz | February 19, 2013, 4:28 pm
  3. My favorite part can watch it and have a dozen time

    Posted by deniseolo | February 18, 2013, 5:40 pm
  4. I love how you’re not blind to Show’s faults, but still love it. Just like me!

    Posted by westy | February 18, 2013, 5:45 pm
  5. Why are we saying sorry? I’m lost.

    Also both Alex and Scott look a lot younger. But then so did I three years ago. 😉

    Posted by Infant_Sardonic | February 18, 2013, 11:27 pm
  6. I just watched the pilot with Not McG. Well played Steph, well played. Heh apologise on Presidents Day, 😉

    Posted by Infant_Sardonic | February 20, 2013, 2:26 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 302 other followers

